We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food & Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rack Shack BBQ

Rack Shack BBQ
Ranked #16 of 133 Restaurants in Burnsville
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Locally owned, locally sourced ingredients. 14 hours of slow smoking for southern style BBQ. This is a rare find in Minnesota. A real gem! Also, this was featured on Man vs. Food on the Travel Channel recently.
Ft Myers Beach, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food & Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

So glad to have a wonderful rib joint available for the portion of the year we spend "up north". We have yet to order anything that wasn't outstanding. Their technique for roasting ribs is exactly the way we like it: not drenched in overpowering sauce and mushy like some places. The sauces they provide are wide ranging enough for everyone to get their favorite. Even the fries are great!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wally304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great taste!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We had a group of 12 pile into this hole in the wall restaurant, they were very accommodating and the staff was friendly. They were very helpful with the menu choices. I am not a big meat/pork eater but the pulled pork Sammie was amazing! You can put your own sauce on the pork....they have at least 10 different flavors. The kids loved their food too. The only down side was that most of the group I was with wanted ribs and they had run out a few hours prior. I would highly recommend, very good food!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmcdmc
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Reminds me of a genuine down south BBQ joint. (original Rudy's in San Antonio, etc). Great brisket and turkey. Would prefer a healther side option. LOVE e multiple sauce options. Kids love the food too. Not much for eat-in, but awesome for to-go eats.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmcdmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth The Drive for Big Time Taste!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

This restaurant is located in the SW quadrant of E. Cliff Rd. and River Hills Dr. in Burnsville, MN. It may look like a hole in the wall restaurant in a tiny strip mall, but it serves up big time taste. The day we went there, the smoker had a malfunction overnight, so a rack of ribs was not available. But the pulled pork Sammie was great. You had a choice of 8 different sauces, which were in seperate squeeze bottles and you applied what you wanted on. We also got a sample of their brisket and it was fabulous!! Nice tender, juicy and all you needed was a fork to seperate it. TASTY!!! I tried two of the sauces ( the St.Paulie and GA Sticky). I dont like hot stuff nor does my system tolerate it. The GA Sticky rang my chime. If what we tried is any indication of what the ribs would taste like, we are going to go back again, even if it is at the opposite end of the metropolitan area for us. There is inside seating for about 30 people and orders are placed at the counter for both inside and take out. We got there right at 11 am and we had the place to ourselves. People started coming in around 11:30 am for the lunch rush. See their website for the menu at www.rackshackbarbeque.com and I took a couple of photos for your review before going.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigbobr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great BBQ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We are fortunate to live near the Rack Shack. It is truly a gem. The food was amazing. We went there on a Wednesday at about 4:30 and they were already out of Chicken (you know the place is good when they run out by 4:30!). I had the turkey sammie and my husband had the brisket. Both were fantastic. There are several BBQ sauces to choose from allowing you to customize your dish. The Mac & Cheese was good - was hoping it would be better. The fries were great as was the coleslaw. Will be back again and again! Love this place!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EJV32012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rack Shack BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Rack Shack BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing