We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Servers a bit OTT”
Review of The Farmhouse Cafe

The Farmhouse Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Virgil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Canadian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: The Farmhouse Cafe is located on-site at Caroline Cellars Winery, with a focus on fresh, fun and relaxed wine-country cuisine made from locally derived ingredients. All food is made on-site by Chef Carl Doede. Lunch is served daily, and there is seating inside or outside on our patio overlooking our vineyards. Open for Lunch 7 days a week, and open for Dinner on Thursday and Friday from 5 to 8 pm May through October.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just returned from lunch served.

A great little menu with enough variety for all. Portions very good and priced well.

Wine with the meal either by the bottle or glass, which is great to sample before you buy with food you like.

Following lunch complimentary tasting of up to four wines is available along with local delivery of purchased wine to your accommodation where a minimum of two bottles are purchased. This is especially helpful for those 'pedalling' their way. Even locals benefit. This encourages a repeat visit!

Where this falls down is service. It is not slow which is good, but being told 'not rushing you, enjoy your wine' and placing the check when there are only three tables filled, is still rushing.

Since the wine tasting room adjoins the restaurant service continues there, but with other, again OTT. Perhaps it's my age, but why do all young women still need to slung like they are from 90210? Just tone it down a notch and try not to outshine what is a fairly pleasant way to spend an hour or two in a not over-crowded space on a Monday between noon and 1:00 p.m.

Will likely return since the bike ride is easy; quiet roads, flat terrain and hope someone else may be serving!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NBaker910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine L, Owner at The Farmhouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback - it's appreciated and your concerns are valid. We want our guests to enjoy their visit with us and feeling rushed definitely goes against our service principles. We employ many vibrant young women - and we appreciate the energy they bring to the workplace - I'm sorry you interpreted it as over the top, but can understand how it might seem that way on a not-so-busy day.

I trust you will enjoy the wine you purchased, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Justine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 155 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Visited Caroline's Cellar Winery after seeing reviews on trip advisor. Decided to pick this place because they offered lunch. After having ordinary, overpriced food in Niagara Falls, we looked forward to trying something different. We are glad we did! The perch was delicious, as was the shrimp burger! I chose the asparagus salad as my side, it too was delicious! The other 2 in our party got the bison burgers and loved it. As their side, poutine with a mushroom gravy, cheese curds and onion crisps. They were raving about the tasty mushroom gravy. For dessert, strawberry shortcake and a sorbetto sandwich, both very fresh and awesome! The sorbetto, so creamy, was served in between 2 cookies and was just the right size. Would definitely go back if I return to NOTL!

Thank team222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine L, Owner at The Farmhouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your food, your wine, and your experience with us.

We look forward to seeing you again if you're back in NOTL!

Justine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I am a local, neighbouring farmer to the Farmhouse Cafe @ Caroline Cellars Family Estate Winery. I have enjoyed lunch either in the restaurant or on the patio several times at the Cafe which has a relaxed, easy atmosphere. The staff is friendly and courteous, they treat locals and visitors like their "old pal up the road". The foooood! Chef Matt does not know the meaning of the words "small portion". You will definitely get your money's worth of delicious fair with a full plate and a full tummy. The Farmhouse serves up many different dishes to satisfy every palet, specializing in "in season", fresh, local ingredients. Each week introduces new features such as seasonal salads, soups and everyones favourite poutine. Try the grilled brie and apple sandwich, the shrimp or bison burger and the amazing roast asparagus salad, top it off with a great glass of wine or local craft beer. No sooner will you finish this visit and you'll be planning your next :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SharlaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine L, Owner at The Farmhouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your great feedback! We really appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Justine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The restaurant is open for lunch daily which you think would be a good attraction for folks doing a bit of winery touring. If the service continues as it has for the last two times that we have been there, it won't last long.

The worst server I think I have ever encountered. We were there for Mother's Day lunch with another couple. Never got asked if we would like a glass of wine, were prompted to hurry up with reciting our order as she was busy, never asked if we would like coffee or dessert, just had the bill dropped on us.

This was a repeat performance of what my wife had experienced a couple of weeks previously when she was part of a group of 20 women.

Food was good but would never return.

By the way, the server's name was Allison.

3  Thank Colonel_Butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine L, Owner at The Farmhouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

I am so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. This is definitely not the service standard we hold ourselves too.

As you're local, of course we'd love for you to come back and give us another chance.

Justine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmhouse Cafe also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Farmhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing