We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for lunch and wine tasting”

Caroline Cellars Winery
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Virgil
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Indulge in the country charm of one of NOTL's most popular family owned and operated wineries. We have a wide selection of VQA white wines, red wines and Icewines available. We also make a small selection of fruit wines, which include our popular Cranberry Winter Harvest and Plum wines. All of our wines are available for tastings on a daily basis and many of our tastings are no-charge. Our property is open to the public and reservations are not required. We also have a Special Events Loft available for special occasion rental, including weddings. We also have an on-site Cafe - The Farmhouse Cafe - open for lunch daily. Please visit our website for detailed information regarding our wines, special events loft and events at the winery.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our hotel recommend this winery for lunch. Great choice. Very reasonable price for good local ood. We had the Swedish meatball poutin that was our frt. Poutin seems to be a popular sh in the area. For these not familiar, it consisted of Yukon good potatoes covered with cheese curds and beef and wine gravy with meatballs on top. We also smoked turkey with fennel and radicchio. Very good.

It ll went down well with a large pitcher of their sangria.

The wine tasting wax also very good and they don't Hargreaves regardless if you buy anything there. We walked away with a couple bottles of their 2010 Cab Franc and a bottle of ice wine.

Thank fnct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine L, Owner at Caroline Cellars Winery, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your tasting and lunch experience with us! Glad to hear you enjoyed Poutine - a truly Canadian specialty!

Enjoy the wine you purchased and hopefully we will see you agian!

Justine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"poutine"
in 34 reviews
"plum wine"
in 30 reviews
"farmhouse cafe"
in 15 reviews
"frittata"
in 14 reviews
"perch"
in 12 reviews
"chicken sandwich"
in 7 reviews
"crab cakes"
in 7 reviews
"wine tour"
in 38 reviews
"niagara on the lake"
in 41 reviews
"grape juice"
in 10 reviews
"free tasting"
in 11 reviews
"wonderful lunch"
in 5 reviews
"taste wines"
in 7 reviews
"tasting bar"
in 13 reviews
"great wine"
in 17 reviews
"different wines"
in 13 reviews
"walked away"
in 5 reviews
Filter

421 - 425 of 524 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I ate lunch this afternoon at Caroline Cellars as a pit stop on our way to Michigan. We started off with tastings, which were complimentary and the staff proved themselves to be very knowledgeable. We were especially impressed on all of the extra information given during the tastings, it was truly a learning experience, Afterwards, we headed over to the cafe for lunch and the server Allyson was very quick and efficient. She was extremely friendly and advised us on some other hot spots to go in the area. Furthermore, I was particularly impressed by how personable she was. It was a lovely experience and I strongly advise anyone to stop by this winery, they really know how to take care of their customers!

Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine L, Owner at Caroline Cellars Winery, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our tasting bar, and also learned something! I'm also glad to hear you enjoyed lunch at The Farmhouse Cafe.

Justine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stopped in here for lunch and wine tasting as part of a self-planned bike wine tour.
We stopped at the tasting bar first and were treated to some delicious whites (no reds- allergic). Despite being busy, Laura treated us to good times, jokes and great descriptions of the wines and the winery. When we said we were on our bikes, she pointed out that they delivered to our hotel so we didn't have to figure out how to fit it on our bikes or stop by in the car the next day. Of all the wineries we visited, they were the only to make this offer. Oh ya, and tastings are FREE!
We stopped then at the restaurant. The poor waitress was very busy but was keeping things under control. We quickly had our drinks (guwertz and a 2011 Riesling) and our meals came out shortly afterwards. The shrimp burger was amazing!! So crisp and flavourful. DH enjoyed his flatbread and we both enjoyed seconds on our wine. The price was incredibly reasonable (only $4.50 a glass of wine) and the service polite and efficient. We were both willing to end the bike tour and hang out at this winery the rest of the day (but we regretfully did not).
Of the 10 wineries that we visited in our 3 day trip, this was the one that best understands the importance of client service in this industry and displayed it in so many ways. Do not miss this winery!

1  Thank K2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine L, Owner at Caroline Cellars Winery, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time here - our customers are important to us and we work really hard to create a good experience, and it's wonderful to know when everything we do is appreciated by our customers.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and sharing your great experience with others. Hopefully we'll see you again if you're back in NOTL - and maybe next time you can spend the afternoon on the patio sipping some of our great wines!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We went to Caroline cellars first because of the high reviews on trip advisor and the mention of free tastings. When we got there the tasting bar was packed with a tour group and we were ignored for a very long time. The pours for the tasting were a good size and we got to try 4 each. My husband and I each got different wines so we could try 8 different wines, unfortunately we didn't enjoy a single one of them. The second person who helped us did give us good recommendations for other wineries to visit. Our favorites ended up being pellar and trius. Also, Go to the ice house for an ice wine slushy.

Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine L, Owner at Caroline Cellars Winery, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Although we love hearing when we are doing a good job, it's also important for us to know where we can improve. The service you experienced is definitely not up-to-par with what we strive to achieve here at Caroline Cellars and I ask you to please accept my apologies - you should never be ignored in our tasting room! That being said, we are a popular spot and sometimes it does get very busy and that brings on a unique set of challenges. I feel we do a pretty good job of doing everything we can when it's hectic - but it seems we could have done a lot better when you were here.

Again - our apologies - and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed some of our neighboring wineries while visiting Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Cheers,
Justine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Visited here on a cycle tour. Of all the places we stopped at, this was the best. Staff are professional, knowledgable and attentive. Up to four wine samples free. To sum it up - this is the only one we went back to having swopped the bikes for the car and bought some wine. It was delicious and unfortunately all gone now !

Thank Julia186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine L, Owner at Caroline Cellars Winery, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback - we appreciate it so much. We have such a gorgeous area for cycling - I hope the weather was amenable the day you were out! It's great to hear you enjoyed our wines and our staff and service.

Cheers,
Justine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroline Cellars Winery also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Caroline Cellars Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing