We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Islander(Freeport)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunrise Resort & Marina(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$101
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$141
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$239
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bell Channel Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$103
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
250
119
43
26
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
119
43
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno see umsminute drivepaddle boardswasher dryercracked conchbeach activitiesrented a carwest palm beachgrouperocean frontfull kitchengreat resortfitness centernice beachmarina staffburgertiki
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 450 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2009

The rooms were amazing, spacious, clean, beautifully made. The grounds were equally impressive with a 2 level pool, palm trees, foliage, etc. The service was very poor. Employees acted like we were inconveniencing them when we asked for towels or kayak equipment. Food service was very slow and food orders were incorrect several times. The reviews we read before we went said there was a lot to do, but you have to drive 45 miles to get to Lucaya where you can do the horse riding or any other activity. Ocean kayaking was the only thing we could do at the resort. The prices were high and didn't seem to offer us a good value. Also, we spent extra for an ocean front room and all we could see is palm trees and the pool. There was absolutely no night life.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alemap136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We recently visited Old Bahama Bay for July 4th weekend. Our stay was absolutely amazing. The staff was friendly, fun and on top of the service. Robert (Straw Bar) was so much fun! Harold (Bone Fish Folley's/Aqua) made our dining experience perfect! The girls at the Straw Bar were so accomodating and pleasant. Delicious beachside buffets, and steak and seafood Aqua. The marina was full of beautiful yatchs. The resort provides free snorkeling, glass botton kayaks, vollyball, poolside pool table, hammocks and so much more! The culture of the Bahamas is fully experienced outside the gates of the resort. We had fresh conch salad and Sands Beer. Be sure to try the conch fritters at the Straw Bar! Spa service was relaxing. We will definitely be back soon!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTravels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Old Bahama Bay has many good qualities, but we expected a bit more from a "boutique" type hotel resort. The rooms are comfortable and very well appointed. The kitchenette allowed us to prepare breakfast in the room and enjoy it on the veranda of our beachfront room. Also, the bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and the views unforgettable. On the other hand, the resort is located on the western tip of the island far away from all other attractions. If you want to take a tour, shopping, restautants etc., you must rent a car ($80 per day) or take a bus ($14 one-way) to Freeport, a 45 minute trip. There is absolutely NOTHING in the area immediately outside the property. The quality of food at the "Bonefish Folley" restaurant was poor, especially for the price. "Aqua" is the fine dining restaurant at the resort, but I never saw anyone dining there. Since the same kitchen serves both restaurants, I didn't want to risk being disappointed. Not to mention the prices are very high. The food quality issue was especially frustrating since there are no other dining options near the resort. It seemed as if there was no strong management enforcing standards and overseeing staff performance. The staff was friendly, but were slow to act for even simple requests (e.g. assistance with water sports equipment, taking two hours to get a bottle of wine sent to our room). If this was any other hotel, I would rate it a four. However, since Old Bahama Bay is recognized as one of the world's "Preferred Boutique Hotels", I would expect the level of attention to detail to be better.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jm_krause1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a 5 day, 4 night stay at Old Bahama Bay and I am thrilled to be home. Although the rooms are very nice, and the grounds are beautiful, we did not enjoy our stay overall.

Our room had many very small ants in it, and in fact, they were crawling all over our furniture, on the floors, and the cabinets were filled with them. Understanding that a ground level room in the Bahamas is going to have some bugs, we let that slide.

As we were preparing to go to sleep, however, a large cockroach crawled across the bench at the foot of our bed, then proceeded to run up and down the walls and all over the room. We called the front desk and it took nearly 20 minutes for a security guard to take care of it for us. He assured us that this was a rarity. The next morning, I awoke to find another half-dead roach laying on its back on the floor by our bed. Horrified, I called management and demanded a room change. Although they gave me a new room, the manager was very unfriendly, not even remotely apologetic, and acted as if she were doing me a favor by changing our room.

This attitude was reflected by many workers at Old Bahama Bay, from the waiters and waitresses at the restaurants, to the bellhops and other resort personnel. Some were friendly and helpful, but overall the majority of employees seemed quite resentful of tourists and were interested in doing the absolute minimum necessary to avoid having guests check out early. Had we not been there for the wedding of a very dear friend, we would have left after day one.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NYTravelerBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

!On the western tip of Grand Bahama Island you find Old Bahama Bay - The ultimate getaway for tranquility, relaxation and pampered service! What a perfect location, combined with uncompromised service, beautiful accommodations and all the personal touches you could wish for.........

Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the team and taken to our suite, right on the beach! We spent a terrific week enjoying snorkeling, kayaking, riding bikes, taking the hobby cats out, playing back gammon, lounging by the pool, reading in the hammocks, sampling the many fun cocktails at the Straw Bar and being thoroughly spoilt by all the staff – who at every opportunity went above and beyond to ensure our stay was perfect!

Thanks for such a fantastic vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 21c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews