We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 4 Vacation”
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Bahama Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Very nice rooms,staff, and grounds. The restaurant was very good, a little pricey. Very kid friendly lots of free activities, close to marina and inlet. Easy to accommodate our needs, willing to change reservations easily due to weather.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfollwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

We very much appreciate your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay and you kind words about the resort. We are happy to hear we could accommodate your travel changes. Please keep in mind that we do have import a great deal of our food here, so, yes, prices tend to be higher than on the mainland especially in order to serve dishes of the quality we strive for. We do hope to have you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 429 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

Anyone who has been to the Bahamas knows just how special these Islands are... But Old Bahama Bay has to be the crown jewel of this island nation. The marina facilities are excellent, amenities superb, rooms are gorgeous... but it is without a doubt the staff that sets this resort apart from any other Bahamian destination I have visited. They are so friendly and anxious to do anything to make your vacation special. cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanibel1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

We couldn’t agree more – our staff are truly the stars of our little resort. They will love reading your review and knowing their hard work is appreciated! We hope to welcome you back very very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Had the most amazing vacation, after we decided we had to come back this summer! The beach is just breathtaking and just can't get enough of it. Snorkeling, paddleboarding, kayaking and sailing on the resort's Hobie Cat is all we wanted to do. The kids were going from one activity to another. Snorkeling was just amazing right off the beach, hundreds of colorful fish, conchs, even a stingray or two. Harold at the beach just makes our vacation perfect, with his professionalism and attention to detail. Everyone considers him a friend! Shakira, braided my daughter's hair (a new tradition from now on) and was super friendly and nice! All staff was very accommodating and friendly. The room is beautiful and helps to have a kitchenette and washer/drier since we travel with young kids. Loved Teaser's restaurant, great food and awesome Bahama Mamas! Dockside had a much improved dinner menu from last year. Really enjoyed the Saturday night Beach Party with Junkanoo band and BBQ at Teaser's. Can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the water and are only steps from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesinNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

We are so delighted to hear that you came back to visit us and had such a good time on your 2nd visit. We will certainly share your kind review with Harold and the rest of the staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I recently spent one night n a room at Old Bahama Bay while the boat was tied up in the marina. The room was excellent. I stayed on one of the marina rooms but it was at the far end so we actually had the beach out the back window as well.

Let me say i was impressed with the room. It was exceptionally clean, the a/c worked well and quietly and the bathroom was just short of spectacular. For $200+tx per night, we definitely got what we paid for. The restaurant has definitely improved as well, although service is still amusingly slow (well, its so slow you have to laugh or you would get angry), the food was much better than in recent trips. Hopefully it wasn't just a lucky night.

The marina portion is still lagging behind. The electrical posts are unreliable and the marina bathrooms still need care. Some improvement has been made in that area, but there is still much room to go. In fact, that was the one thing that stands out as way below standards.

The staff hasn't changed dramatically (which is good) but they have stepped up in recent trips. The dock crew hustles as much as any in the Bahamas (and most here in the States).

I visit OBB several times a year and have rated them at least twice in the last few years. It is nice to see them addressing their weaknesses and improving.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jupitom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your noting that the restaurant has improved! As you noted, we have also made some improvements in the marina, and we agree, it is an on-going process. We have no doubt that the next time you visit Old Bahama Bay, you will see even more positive changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We've stayed at OBB twice before and had a great experience. However, this past stay (our third) was very disappointing. There was a small wedding going on and so they closed the Tiki area where we wanted to have a drink and early dinner; however, they closed it for the wedding party which probably consisted of 15-20 people. They ran out of pool towels (and it was not crowded) so we ran back to our condo to use those towels. However, we had no towels in our condo and I had to call 3 times and wait several hours for them. So, our choices were to freeze in the a/c since we were wet or get eaten alive outside by mosquitos. Also, the marina restaurant was once again a big disappointment (that is why we wanted to eat in the tiki bar). We waited 1.5 hours for food that was not good. My son's fettuccini alfredeo was actually repulsive and he could not eat it. The rest of us had fish which was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sofiadef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your return visit to Old Bahama Bay. We are sorry to hear this visit did not match the experience of your past visits. Please be assured we have discussed your review with the restaurant staff and we are determined to improve in that area. Please note that Teaser’s was not closed for the wedding, it is not normally open for dinner service, although we are rethinking that policy as well. We certainly do hope this experience will not deter you from visiting Old Bahama Bay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I visited as a part of a Management Meeting with his Company. From the minute we arrived to the sad moment our time was over, the staff, resort and scenery overwhelmed us. I cannot say enough good about the staff. Everyone is friendly, considerate and over accommodating. The rooms were especially nice. Large, clean and comfortable. The view, well I'm not certain I've seen anything as beautiful as the view from our balcony. Completely breath taking.

Because it is at the West End, it is a bit of a trek to shopping and restaurants. However, you do get to see a great deal of the island on the way and with good conversation with your driver, you're there in no time.

All of the food we experienced was fantastic. It was January so the weather was a little on the cool side, which we were completely fine with. It also, worked to our benefit because it seemed as if it may have been a slower season for them. This enabled the staff to completely dote over us and make our experience that more relaxing and enjoyable.

I would recommend this resort to anyone who just wanted to relax, enjoy great food, great service and the most beautiful scenery ever.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sis8454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

We are truly delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your visit to Old Bahama Bay and can’t wait to show your review to the staff. If you come back during our busy summer season, we promise, you will still be doted on! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I absolutely loved the room, very clean and spacious. The view from the room was breathtaking. Food was Great, service was a bit slow but like everyone says, "we are all on island time". The staff was very friendly and our driver Ronnie was fantastic and very patient with us. We plan on returning soon so we asked him lots of questions on where to go and what to do.
Overall great experience.

Room Tip: Ocean view is definitely worth it, although all the rooms looked as though they had some sort of vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinker04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

What a lovely review – thank you so much for your kind words, and, of course, for your visit to Old Bahama Bay. We are just thrilled that you are planning to return to us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
24.9 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
252 reviews
25.5 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
21.7 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,023 reviews
27.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
25.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#3 of 14 in Freeport
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Price Range: $262 - $2,136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation - set on the westernmost tip of Grand Bahama Island. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, fishing, snorkeling, eco-tours and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, tennis courts, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. West End Airport is open for private planes and charters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing