We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last stop of a 5-month cruise through the Bahamas”
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Bahama Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was our final stop on a 5-month cruise of the Bahamas. We visited islands as far south as Crooked Island, Exumas, Eleuthera and the Abacos. What a great way to end our cruise. We were late arriving at the marina but the marina manager waited for us after closing time to help with lines and welcome us to West End. This resort is well-kept and the entire staff did everything possible to make our stay a most pleasant experience. I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

We are so glad to hear that your five month journey ended on such a high note. We will pass your kind words onto the staff. We do hope we will be able to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 430 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Old Banana Bay is always on our list for lunch when we go to Freeport. This time it was a little disappointing that the restaurant is closed at lunch time. So, we ate at the beach-side bar/restaurant. The food and service was excellent. Enjoyed our relaxing time at this beautiful location. Well worth the drive out to West End from Freeport.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for joining us at Teaser’s for lunch. We will certainly pass your kind words onto the Teaser’s team. Hopefully we will be able to have you as a hotel guest on your next visit to Grand Bahama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

In my view, this rates as about the nicest property on Grand Bahama Island. The grounds are well-kept; the pool is spacious and beautiful. The restaurant serves local dishes (try the conch salad) and international favorites; and the staff makes every effort to ensure that you have a good time. Their marina is well protected, but you might find it tricky to enter through the narrow neck if the wind comes up. This place has lots of history from the Al Capone era to current Hollywood stars who own places here. We liked it so well we returned a second time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culturevulture94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you so much for saying Old Bahama Bay is the nicest property on the island (we think so too….). It is the ultimate compliment to know that you will return again to see us. We certainly hope that will be very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Superb resort with beautiful rooms and views. My fiance and I have crossed over by boat several times and have really enjoyed our stays. Clearing customs is a breeze and the resort is conveniently located within the marina. The boat slips are nice, safe and secure. Breakfast on the beach was amazing; the coconut french toast is a must! Service can be slow at times, but for Bahamian time it's ok mon. The fishing and diving is world class for just about everything if you know your spots. I'd highly recommend Old Bahama Bay for a beautiful romantic experience. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Old Bahama Bay. Thank you so much for leaving such a kind review. We will let Jessie know that she has another Coconut French Toast fan! Maybe we will be lucky enough to have you with us for your honeymoon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was an awesome vacation for me, my wife and 10 yr. old son. This is a quiet place and the beach was beautiful - and it was NOT crowded at all. There was a gentleman - that went and caught fresh lobster for us every night - we would take it to the restaurant and have them cook it up with side dishes - we did it every night. My son opted out for chicken fingers after day 3. The pool and ocean was perfect. Now this is on the quiet end of the island - it is absolutely not designed for an active night life. It's more couples and families. The room we stayed in was 1665 - I would say this room is perfect - opens right onto the beach, the view is priceless. There is a small kitchenette - so stop and get groceries on the way in from the airport. Bikes are available.

Room Tip: 1665 is perfect - great view, beachfront and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you so much for both your visit and for your kind review of Old Bahama Bay. We are so pleased that your whole family enjoyed their time at our peaceful resort. I am sure your tips will be very useful for future guests. Most of our rooms do open directly onto the beach, or have 2nd floor balconies which also offer spectacular views! We also have 2 bedroom suites if you come with more guests on your next visit, which we hope will be soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel is in fact part of a small resort consisting of a marina that power boats can reach easily from the U.S. coast in half a day or less, a small hotel with informal restaurant at night, villas (mostly 4 units per building), a pool, beachside lunch and bar spot, and plenty of sandy beach. It's a nice spot to bring kids -- without the commercialism of Atlantis. The water is turquoise and enticingly warm (and shallow a lot of the time for small tots). One can feel all the stress of busy life slipping off one's shoulders. It's a great introduction to laid-back Bahamas.

It could use more management of maintenance issues, but nothing happens fast in the Bahamas, so chill! Food is expensive in the Bahamas because almost everything is imported from the U.S., so it's important to understand the limitations that go with that. (Same goes for iffy WiFi service.) Nevertheless, the Bahamas are a great destination for people who want to unwind.

Room Tip: Most of the villas face the pool and beach so it's hard to get a room without a view. Neverthele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sippiwisett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We truly appreciate your kind review. You summarized our small resort just perfectly, and captured our more laid back, island way of life! We certainly hope you will return the next time you need the stress to slip off your shoulders!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

visited this hotel resort in march 2014 great location but has no atmosphere basic lunch on the beach which is beautiful but the place was dead if you want peace and quiet then this is the place for you

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickos1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay. You are correct that we do strive to provide more tranquil and relaxing getaways, while still offering great service and lots of activities such as paddleboarding, kayaking, snorkeling….We are sorry that we are not the right resort for you, but we do hope you will return to the Bahamas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
25 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
256 reviews
25.6 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
25.3 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
25.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#4 of 14 in Freeport
1,007 reviews
25.4 mi away
Lighthouse Pointe at Grand Lucayan Resort - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Price Range: $262 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation - set on the westernmost tip of Grand Bahama Island. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, fishing, snorkeling, eco-tours and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, tennis courts, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. West End Airport is open for private planes and charters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing