We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Bahama Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Regenstauf, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Accommodation 4**** - Rooms are nice and spacious. We had one with a porch. Though rooms are cleaned every day there is dust and dirt on the floor and under the bed. We told them to clean the room more thoroughly but nothing happened. Every day black feet.

Food 3*** - We found the choice of dishes very limited. No cappuccino available.

Recreation 4**** - Gym is ok. Treadmills were broken when we wanted to use them.

Location 5***** - Beautiful beach and remote setting. If you like to be away from all the beach and club noise - this is the place to be. Please bear in mind that this resort is at the end of the island and it is a long way to get to Freeport or to other beaches like f. e. Lucaya.

Overall opinion: We liked it here but the resort is too expensive for what you get. Dirty floors should not happen in such a good hotel (we told them but they did nothing). Recommendable if you like to be away from the crowds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan24f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay and for posting your comments and feedback – these are very useful for us and for future guests. Since your visit in April 2013, we have made many changes, including new restaurant management and a new Dockside Grille menu, and new oversight of the housekeeping staff. We very much you return to our peaceful resort and experience first hand the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    106
    41
    24
    10
See reviews for
108
129
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Arrived and had dinner that night it was awesome, the next night we had dinner again, found out new management had taken over the restaurant, new menu, higher prices and waited over 2 hours to get our food, but not before were advised they had run out of what we wanted an hour and a half into the wait.The wait staff was very nice, but defiantly expect the learning curve to be vertical for the new folks running the place.

The staff here are great Harold does a great job explaining activities and things to do, any issues with the rooms are dealt with promptly and super helpful to make sure that end of things are fantastic.

As I said above the restaurant where dinner is served has turned out to be a huge disappointment after things changed from the night before when we arrived.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FLYG4G5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We thank you for visiting Old Bahama Bay. We certainly hope you enjoyed your stay at the resort. You are correct; you visited during the changeover of management for the Dockside Grille. Although we do not manage the restaurant, we do work closely with the new team and they are very aware that they had some opening night jitters, like some of the new staff not coming to work! The prices, however, really have not changed for those menu items that remained the same. Hopefully you did enjoy the much larger menu and we do hope you will return now that the restaurant is fully staffed and all menu items are available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We just returned from an extra long weekend at Old Bahama Bay and were extremely pleased with the beautiful setting and wonderful accomodations. The beds were one of the most comfortable we have slept in anywhere and the room was a nice size with a wonderful ocean front view and nicely appointed with a wonderful big comfortable balcony. The staff made it though, Harold the hotel ambassador not only helped us with all our inquiries and needs but set up the most wonderful in room/balcony massage for us which made our weekend. Tanya was an excellent massage therapist and we wish we could have brought her home with us. If you like a beautiful peaceful, tranquil resort then old bahama bay is for you. If back on Grand Bahama it would definitely be our first choice.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice views but Ocean Front is right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for both your visit and for your kind review of Old Bahama Bay. We will certainly pas your compliments onto Harold and Tanya and the rest of the staff. It is their number one goal to make sure each guest has a relaxing and memorable holiday. We do hope you return to Grand Bahama and to Old Bahama Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I thought I would provide an update since my last review was somewhat scathing. We did not stay in rooms this time around, just stayed onboard our boats. I was there for 4 nights over the last two weeks, mainly for fishing, but we did use some of the amenities of the resort.

Progress has been slow, but there has definitely been some improvements on the property. The biggest improvement is the opening of the main restaurant once again. The food is mediocre and the service still as slow as you can imagine (I am used to Bahamian travel, but this is really, really slow). The bartender was extremely friendly and while somewhat slow, poured a pretty good drink and (except for the Rumrunners which were not even close to right). She made a spectacular Piña Colada with fudge and boiled sugar.

On two of the nights we chose to eat fresh caught fish so we cooked on the boat and purchased side dishes of vegetables and peas and rice. That turned out to be an excellent choice. It was not only a good value, but very well prepared.

The landscaping and premises have definitely improved from two years ago and the marina bathrooms are now a C+ instead of the F I gave them two years ago. We didn't bother checking out the gym this time around. The last experience left us not looking to chance wasting our limited time their.

One of the friendly dock office staff has been moved into the hotel office and showed great improvement in the staff in their. Perhaps we may be willing to give the rooms another chance one of these days.

It's still expensive, but they do offer travel deals. It's still limited on activities, but the location is fantastic. The pool was excellent and warm, despite cool weather which warmed up later.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jupitom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for giving Old Bahama Bay another visit and for recognizing the efforts that are being made across the resort. Please know that a new management company is taking over the Dockside Grille in March with the intention of improving both food quality and consistency as well as service. Our activities roster is expanding all the time and we now have a full time activities director, Harold, who hopefully you had the chance to meet. You are correct that we do offer special travel incentives whenever possible, so please do sign up for our newsletter if you have not already, so you can always be up to date on resort deals and events. We hope you will try the rooms again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, WI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was our first trip to the Bahamas. We were looking for clear water, nice beaches and a quiet retreat. We really liked Old Bahama Bay. My husband, our teenage daughter and I all really enjoyed our rooms, the food at the Straw Bar and the staff. My daughter got a massage. The beach is beautiful. The pool is beautiful. The grounds are well kept. We did not rent a car. We used cabs or drivers from the resort instead. This worked out well. We stopped at a store on our way from the airport to get a few snacks. We think we will return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good as far as I can tell. We had a two bedroom unit which is close to the marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMSMequonWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We are so pleased that you choose Old Bahama Bay for your first Bahamas vacation destination and we appreciate receiving your kind review. It always means a lot to us when the efforts of all our team are appreciated (from the masseuse to the maintenance team)! We do hope to have you and your family back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Just came back from a week of relaxation. Every morning and evening a different sunrise and sunset. We did go in the off season so not as many activities but it was so peaceful it felt like we were the only ones there. Will positively go again. Every one was so nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Get on close to the ocean. It makes it steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hlyardl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving your kind review. We will certainly pass your compliments onto all the staff. Best compliment of all is that you will return for another visit! We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

It would have gotten excellent or A+ ratings all around except that the bathroom facilities used by the yachters are dismal. We were there in our boat so room comments are not appropriate but the property is spectacular - spectacular Tiki restaurant (should be open later though), spectacular beach, spectacular marina, spectacular people (even customs authority and that is saying something). They obviously work hard to make it a great place and they succeed. I would return any time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gfy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your marina stay with us. The staff will be so happy to see your kind words. We will go look at those bathrooms right away, as they should never be anything but spotless! We hope to have you back with us very soon – any maybe next time take advantage of our boater specials for room night stays as well…..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
25.5 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
25.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
25.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
27.2 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
24.4 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Property: Old Bahama Bay
Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation - set on the westernmost tip of Grand Bahama Island. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, fishing, snorkeling, eco-tours and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, tennis courts, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. West End Airport is open for private planes and charters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing