We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yachting stop over paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Bahama Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Bahama Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Yachting stop over paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

It would have gotten excellent or A+ ratings all around except that the bathroom facilities used by the yachters are dismal. We were there in our boat so room comments are not appropriate but the property is spectacular - spectacular Tiki restaurant (should be open later though), spectacular beach, spectacular marina, spectacular people (even customs authority and that is saying something). They obviously work hard to make it a great place and they succeed. I would return any time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your marina stay with us. The staff will be so happy to see your kind words. We will go look at those bathrooms right away, as they should never be anything but spotless! We hope to have you back with us very soon – any maybe next time take advantage of our boater specials for room night stays as well…..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    106
    41
    24
    10
See reviews for
109
130
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

There is nothing like being greeted in the morning by the ocean, lapping in gentle waves, onto a beautiful white sand beach...just steps from your suite. Lots of activities...bicycling, hobie cat sailboats, volleyball on the beach, snorkeling, or just napping on the beach in a hammock..all included in your room cost. The staff at both the restaurants and hotel were outstanding. We had some difficulty accessing wifi from the rooms in the building farthest from the lobby so Dawn graciously moved us to one of the suites in the Oleander building....awesome! There was never a request too difficult and all quickly handled with a smile. The food at both restaurants is excellent! We were looking for some variety and also ate at the Pink Pearl Restaurant...It is also excellent, across from the beach in Bootle Bay on the south side of the island, and 10 minutes from OBB. The Pink Pearl Restaurant will provide complimentary transportation to/from by calling 349-4006.

All in all...Old Bahama Bay is the place we come back to; year after year. It can't be beat for the serenity, beauty, and friendliness of their staff!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank diane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Wow – thank you so much for leaving your kind review. We will certainly share with the hotel and restaurant staff. We always love hearing that our guests appreciate the serenity and beauty of West End. We hope it will not be another year before we are able to welcome you back again at Old Bahama Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Driving to the resort can be a little deceiving. Run down and no restaurant or shops to be found.
Once I pulled in everything changed! The rooms are in separate bungalows throughout the grounds. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are fantastic. Full fridge, washer, stove top, and microwave. A beautiful 4 poster bed and a balcony with big wicker chairs overlooking the ocean. You can borrow bikes to ride around, get something to eat at the tiki hut by the ocean, or just kick back in a hammock on the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Wow – thank you so much for leaving your review. This kind of review always gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. We will share with the staff as well. Hopefully you will be able to return again soon and kick back again at Old Bahama Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Old Bahama Bay in December 2013 on a visit to Freeport. It was a pleasant treat! The staff were courteous and eager to assist with any of our needs. Having a delicious Bahamian breakfast by the beach, while enjoying the great honest service, made us really feel like we were in paradise!
The suite that we stayed in had a classic island feel, even though it had all the modern amenities that you would want. It was well detailed, clean, quite ad cosy. After spending the afternoon biking, walking or kayaking in the sun, it always felt rewarding to return to.
Thank you to the staff and management at Old Bahama Bay. We are looking forward to our next visit! We can't wait!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keerhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed using the kayaks and bikes and such. Thank you so much for posting your generous comments - we will certainly share your review with the team. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Old Bahama Bay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We liked the privacy and the beach was beautiful. The staff was very friendly. Our only "problem" you could say was that the bathroom tub was not a Jacuzzi tub, and the double sink had a broken hot water handle on one of the sinks. We advised the cleaning staff who stated that they would notify engineering to correct, but they may have been waiting for a part since the hot water was turned off on the one sink. I did tell them that was ok since there was another sink to use; however the hotel was almost deserted - I think there were only 6 other couples that we saw the whole time- one would think that they would have placed us in another room. All and all - it was nice and we would go again- however just a bit of advice- rent a car as there is nothing here. Just the restaurant in the hotel and that is it. Stop in the village of Eight Mile Rock and get some food at the Save-a-lot to keep in your room. Again for privacy - this is definitely your place to be!

Room Tip: next time will definitely have to get the suite with the full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rooney428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location and the beach. Management has covered the maintenance issues and discussed and a proper action plan to make sure no guests are placed in rooms that are not 100%. More than half of our rooms do have full kitchens and Jacuzzi tubs, so we do encourage guests to request rooms that best suit their needs. We certainly hope you will on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flatiron9
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed the final week of 2013 and our package deal was a good value. The property is in a beautiful location, it seems well built, and the grounds are manicured. We upgraded to an oceanview room, but we could barely see the ocean through the tops of the palms planted in front of our balcony. (We should have asked to move, but did not.) The staff were all very pleasant. The food was simple, but good and plentiful. The adjacent marina seemed to bring in a variety of interesting visitors, so we had some fun meeting and observing different people. Those are the positives.

None of the negatives alone would have compromised the experience, but taken together over time, we did grow frustrated. The facilities are nice, but do not live up to their promise. For instance, our room had a nice tub, but the jets never worked. We had an in-room dishwasher, but it never worked. We had wi-fi, but it was usually very slow if it worked at all. The same theme played out everywhere. We would check out the snorkeling gear, and they would be out of size 12 fins. We would order coffee, and the restaurant would be out of milk. Actually, the menus are already pretty limited, and the restaurants rarely seemed to have all the menus said they did. As others have noted, having one menu to order from became monotonous after about four days of our seven day stay. We did have a car, but trips to Freeport take about an hour each way and we were not encouraged to try any of the local spots between West End and Freeport.

Although the staff members were always very nice, they did not seem to be trained in hospitality work. (And my standards are not that high. I'm perfectly happy with Applebee's-level service.) I calculated that we spent about five hours a day eating our meals, mostly because of the wait. Sometimes it wasn't clear who was waiting on the table. Sometimes we would get silverware, but no bread. Or we would get bread but no water. Or they would forget entirely to bring us the check. One day breakfast took even longer than the typical hour (for oatmeal) because the server said she had to also do the cooking that day. Finding someone to schedule activities could also be difficult, as the activities director did not work the day we arrived and we never did figure out what his hours were.

In sum, we did enjoy ourselves, but as the week wore on we grew increasingly frustrated that we were waiting on the staff more than they were waiting on us. If we'd had access to a fully-stocked convenience store or even a snack bar, we might have made the best of it, but the isolation of the place meant we had few options, even for using our kitchenette. Those who are accustomed to "island time" and are happy relaxing by the pool will be happier with this facility than those (like us) who would rather spend their time enjoying the sites and activities than waiting for their meals.

Room Tip: Make sure the room level you requested matches the room you are assigned. If not, request to move.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank flatiron9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay and for posting your comments and feedback – these are very useful for us and for future guests. Based on feedback from guests like you, we have decided to get more involved in the day to day operations of the food and beverage department, which is currently outsourced to an outside management company. We highly value the opinions and comments provided by guests and continuously strive to provide an exceptional quality holiday in every aspect of their vacation. We do appreciate your comments and hope the situation experienced will not deter you from returning and joining us on ‘island time’!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here the week before Christmas 2013, after cashing in a GroupOn. We stayed in a oceanfront room, which was beautiful. Prior to our arrival, I read many of the reviews on this website, so I felt pretty prepared for what to expect and not expect. Here are a few things about our trip.

1) The room was just beautiful. Our bathroom had a jetted tub, which was a really nice addition. Housekeeping decided to come, even if we had the "Do Not Disturb" tag on the door, so I'm not really sure what that was about.
2) Definitely get things at the grocery store before you leave from the airport. Our taxi driver asked if we wanted to, but we figured whatever we needed would be at the resort. Well, once we got there, we realized that there was no water for us to drink (having traveled to many different countries, I was hesitant to drink the tap water...only to find out that's what is served at the restaurants) and the drinks at the restaurants were very expensive.
3) The website advertised two restaurants at the resort, which we thought would be fine. However, the one restaurant at the beach closed at 5pm, so we ate at the same restaurant every night for dinner (with two people each getting something different a night, we went through the options quickly). Just the ride to the hotel from the airport was 70 USD, so we didn't feel like paying a lot to go to dinner at another resort. We only stayed for 4 nights, and I think we would have gone crazy if we had to eat there again.
4) We went right before Christmas, so there were only 3-4 other rooms filled, which made it feel like our own private hotel. Someone told us that the reason the beach restaurant closes at 5pm is because it was during the slow season. Another consequence of the "slow season" is that the front desk is only open from 9-5pm. This was not okay for us as we had a 10am flight to catch to leave the island, and at 7:30am we spent thirty minutes running all over the resort trying to find someone to check us out. There was a duty phone, but no one answered it after having it ring for 8 minutes. This was incredibly unfortunate, because our lovely vacation ended on such a low note, by us being stressed, frustrated, and worried we were going to miss our flight home for Christmas. Through all of the chaos, I wound up speaking to the resort manager on the phone, who said she understood that you cannot provide a resort service if you don't have a 24-hour front desk, or at least someone who's duty it is to help out guests outside of 9-5pm. I'm not sure if this is the norm for the Old Bahama Bay, because I don't know if this affected anyone else. For all future guests, I would recommend confirming and re-confirming with the hotel when you are checking out. You also should triple check with the taxi driver that he will take you to the airport, because he also forgot to pick us up.

Overall, this place was good and we enjoyed ourselves. It was too cold to utilize any of the resort amenities (low 70s with wind), so it was a little frustrating to be charged for them anyway, but I guess that's the standard. I think this hotel has great potential to be really good, but they need to take their service up a notch. Having traveled a lot, my husband and I are pretty flexible travelers...but darting all over the resort trying to find someone to check us out was something I am not willing to forget. It didn't ruin our vacation, but it certainly got close.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are not to be missed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonanno N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We would like to assure you that your feedback has been very carefully noted, and would like to thank you for bringing these details to our attention. We do appreciate your comments and the information as these assist us with making improvements that may be necessary to maintain the level of quality we strive for at Old Bahama Bay. We certainly regret the situation you encountered when checking out, and would appreciate you accepting our most sincere apologies. With only a handful of occupied rooms, the front desk is only open from 9 am to 5 pm, at least for right now. We are trying to find an economical solution. We are also going to get more involved in the day to day operations of the food and beverage department, which is currently outsourced to an outside management company. We are striving as you say to ‘take things up a notch’, and we do hope you will return and have a smoother experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
25.5 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
24.9 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
25.3 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
27.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
24.4 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Property: Old Bahama Bay
Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation - set on the westernmost tip of Grand Bahama Island. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, fishing, snorkeling, eco-tours and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, tennis courts, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. West End Airport is open for private planes and charters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing