We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$159
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Islander(Freeport)
$138
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunrise Resort & Marina(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$101
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$121
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$265
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Channel Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$115
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$306
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$113
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
250
119
43
26
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
119
43
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno see umsminute drivepaddle boardswasher dryercracked conchbeach activitiesrented a carwest palm beachgrouperocean frontfull kitchengreat resortfitness centernice beachmarina staffburgertiki
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 450 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Last time I was at this property was when I was 15 years old via yacht...that was 53 years ago (Was a Jack Tar resort). Although we didn't stay there the place looked delightful and brought back a lot of good memories...I learned to drive there in a Morris Minor Woody. The old hotel is long gone as is the huge salt water swimming pool...but nice secluded place and we'll be there on our next trip back to GBI.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank wunderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

We can’t believe you stayed away so long. It must look so different to you now, but thank you for saying we still look ‘delightful’. We can’t wait for you to come back and actually stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The resort itself is amazing but very secluded. We loved the view and how each room has its own amazing view! We got there on a Tuesday and we basically had the resort to ourselves for a couple of days. There are a ton of free activities at the resort too. The main thing I would suggest si to update and broaden the menu at the restaurant. As a suggestion to future guests I would say bring things for breakfast and lunch because the rooms have full kitchens.

Thanks to Limpy, our driver for the trip. He was amazing and such a treat! He shared a lot abut the resort and island.

Room Tip: The newest building is the last one on the opposite side of the marina. We stayed on the second floor and loved it!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your generous comments noting that there are many activities enjoy at the resort. While the resort does not operate the on site restaurants, we can tell you that both restaurants do offer daily specials when the resort is a little busier (as you noted, this is our quiet time of year). Will also pass along your compliments to Limpy. We certainly do hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I would be remiss if I didn't say how delightful my visit was and how grateful I am to managment and staff for facilitating it. The resort is well worth the journey to the end of the island, as it provides the welcome any guest away from home would appreciate; namely, comfort, conveniences and style, essential ingredients that go a long way in ensuring satisfaction and return business.

While it is positioned off the "beaten path" and tucked away from Freeport, it has a strong flavour of Grand Bahama hospitality and island elegance, a truly delightful blend. There is always room for improvement and it is unfortunate that more food and beverage opportunities are not available, however, this is not a negative as it drives interes in local eateries in nearby West End. Please continue to provide high quality facilities and services. We are proud to have your resort as a part of our product offerings on Grand Bahama Island.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank abacodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Visited in late August. The resort as such is very nice with large rooms and great views and the beach is nice! However, there are two things that drags down the overall experience.

1. Lack of good food. There are two restaurants, one beach and one indoor, serving the same food. Menu leaves you with wishing for more. There is no fresh fish offered (they have the "catch of the island" but we concluded that it was a previously frozen filet. When I visit the Caribbean I do expect to get excellent seafood. The best seafood we had was the tuna salad sandwiches, which became a staple during our stay.
2. Aggressive and almost invisible (sand) flies. Their bites were not pleasant and left itchy marks even two weeks after getting home. No bug repellent was available for purchase. Only after bite relief. We found one bottle of repellent used by the bar staff and borrowed it as much as we could, but it basically prevented us from sitting outside in the afternoon.

I'd like to give it more than three stars, but I can't. If it wasn't for the nice beach and view the grade would be lower.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carll615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay and we are sorry to hear to hear you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay. While the resort does not operate the restaurants on site, we will share your comments with their management, as we want to ensure our guests receive exceptional service for every aspect of their stay. Please also note that there should be bug spray for sale in the resort shop and we apologize if we had run out! This is the high time of year for no see ums. We hope you will stay with us again in the future, perhaps in the winter or spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I checked in, and while my luggage was being delivered to my room, unlocked the door and stepped into my beautiful room for the next 4 nights. It was spotless, and tastefully decorated with a huge bathroom, kitchenette, and washer/ dryer. It had a large balcony that had comfortable seating as well. Beautiful manicured grounds and lovely pool and beach views. Front desk service was excellent. Food service was slow, although meals were generally good. I was here to dive with Stuart Cove's Diving (which was absolutely fantastic) and would not hesitate to stay here again.
If taxi from Freeport, ask to stop to get any essentials on the way, as you are next to nothing. When flying from the Bahamas to the Miami, you will actually clear customs in Freeport. Saves a huge amount of time in the US, but allow a little extra time when departing Freeport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diver115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your vacation at Old Bahama Bay and your diving with Stuart Cove. Very good tip about stopping at the grocery store on your way from the airport as all rooms have either a kitchenette or full kitchen. We certainly do hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews