We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveler rating
252
119
43
26
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
119
43
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno see umspaddle boardswasher dryercracked conchbeach activitiesrented a carwest palm beachconch saladocean frontminute ridefull kitchengreat resortfitness centernice beachmarina staffburgertiki
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 452 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a 4 day, 3 night stay at OBB. Everything was excellent! As many of the reviews suggest the property is isolated at the west end of the Island – but if you’re looking to “get away from it all” and relax for a few days then OBB is the place. We’re back energized and recharged!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank daifjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Although I had never taken the time to post on Tripadvisor much, I have changed my tune, as it has been so helpful and usually right on. Perfect example if this hotel. For those of you looking for a place to get away for a great dose of rest and relax- this is definitely the place to be. We enjoy the ambiance of smaller hotels with not too much action, so this was a wise choice, as that was exactly what we got. The hotel is at the end of a long isolated stretch of Grand Bahama, so it is definitely a getaway experience. The hotel grounds are stunning with large rooms that are tastefully furnished, and include a handy kitchenette. My favorite part.....the huge luxurious marble bathroom! The cuisine at their three restaurants was outstanding, and reasonably priced which was a plus, as there is little else nearby to choose from. Definitely order the lobster, we almost lived on it as it tasted so fresh, and the chefs were always willing to prepare it to our request. If you decide you need to get off the grounds, Freeport/Lucaya is around 40 minutes away and the front desk will help you arrange a cab for the quickest ride there. We thought about it, but decided we were so comfy and well fed at the hotel, why leave? The hotel offers free airport transfers, which was a godsend, as we arrived and everything was waiting for us. This didn't surprise us, as the staff is professional, friendly and always willing to help. Each day they have a live band at their beach bar, which was a nice change up to the normally quiet and isolated feel, and a nice way to meet other guests. If you are truly seeking an escape from the craziness of the usual vacation, then this is the perfect choice. If you want to shop all day and party into the night, this will not be the place for you. We have already recommended this hotel to other friends, but will be exploring other Caribbean getaways in the future. So much to choose from!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank congogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

We had visited for a few days in mid-February 2008 to get away from our stressful jobs and found the Old Bahama Bay resort a very pleasant and relaxing experience. The resort complex is based on several small 2-story buildings, each holding roughly 6 luxury rooms. Ours opened out directly to the beach via double French doors and an enclosed patio with wicker chairs. Everything in the room was upscale and well maintained. Within the complex are two restaurants; one formal the other less so. The food can be expensive, but is of good quality.
The resort does include complimentary sail boats for those who wish for a little adventure. Unfortunately they are not as well kept up as the rest of the resort; out of 3 boats only one was in sufficient shape to sail, and even that one looked like it would be due some attention soon. The sail boats are one Laser and two Hobiecats.
The resort has its own yacht harbor, which had many boats, and a small airport close by. I suspect that quite a few of the visitor came by boat and plane.
The resort is located at the west most end of the island, and is fairly remote. The 45 minute drive from Freeport airport to the resort can not be classified as scenic; it is fairly barren with small towns in between. The towns can be a bit rundown, apparently partly or mostly due to a hurricane damage some time ago. The area around the resort is also barren, but the resort itself is beautifully landscaped and very well maintained.
The resort staff are, with very few exceptions, very friendly and helpful.
There was some concern of the construction that was going on close by, but we never heard any noise for the period we were there. The resort has plans to greatly expand their complex over time, and some of that expansion construction has started.
The resort seemed practically vacant while we ere there, sometime having the entire beach to ourselves. But then at night the restaurants were packed. I still can't figure out where everybody went during the day, but we didn't care; we wanted to get away from crowds anyhow and the resort fulfilled that requirement nicely.
While most people stayed on the resort (as far as we could tell), we ventured out. The towns people were very friendly and helpful; which generally seems to be part of the island culture. Unfortunately, there is not much to see on the island west of Freeport. Next time we visit the resort we will probably not rent a car.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bigtuna525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

If you are looking for a place to rest and relax- this is it. The hotel is located at the end of an isolated stretch of Grand Bahama, so it is more like an out-island experience. The property is lovely, rooms large and well furnished with kitchen/kitchenette, and big marble bathrooms. The food at all three restaurants was good, and in my mind reasonably priced (for Caribbean standards) which is great because there is no where else in reasonable distance to eat. Freeport/Lucaya is at least 30 minutes away and a $65 cab ride, but if you talk to the front desk they will help you arrange a cab or the public bus. The property provides free airport transfers, which went very smoothly. Staff are friendly and willing to help. They have a live band at the beach bar every afternoon, which was a very nice touch. If you are looking for a get-away-from-it-all vacation where you lay by the pool or beach all day OBB is paradise. If you want to shop all day and party all night, this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tropicalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

We went to OBB for New Year's. Yes, it is way out west, but I've stayed 'downtown' and it can be uncomfortable, noisy, and boring (sitting in the tiny, ugly room on a rainy day). When it poured on New Year's Eve at OBB, we went out on the spacious back porch and enjoyed the elements.
This is a very relaxing place, which it seems the one reviewer didn't understand. And the shallow water is near shore -- it does get deeper if you keep going. But I had a wonder afternoon wading in the warm, shallow water -- there were crabs, fish, and even a sting ray that another guest almost stepped on! Some kids even found some baby conchs.
If you *want* some action, you can always go to town on the Jitney (a true cultural experience) or take a taxi. We rented a car to go to Lucayan National Park, which has a nice nature trail to the caves and a boardwalk over the mangroves to the gorgeous beach. Next time I wouldn't try to do both downtown and the park in one day, as it's quite a way to the park. Do check to see when it's low tide, as high tide pretty much covers the entire beach at the park.
The conch fritters at the Shack were awesome! (And I've eaten many since I was a child in Nassau). Unfortunately, the Guava Duff from room service was dry. I didn't care much for the menu at the Bonefish restaurant, but with the fridge and stove and microwave, and a quick trip down the road to City Market, you can stock up on a few basics to keep yourself fed.
They have bikes to borrow and kayaks. We didn't get a chance this trip, but maybe next time!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kocickasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews