We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Obtained!”
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Bahama Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Obtained!”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Most people seek the escape of crowded beaches, smelly hotels, and hectic traffic. So it is with me. My trip to Old Bahama Bay delievers me to a place I call and will continue to call my Paradise on Earth! Filled with beauty of the land and sea and the charm of a remote island, one simply travels to West End, Bahamas, to obtain the natural pleasures of life. This romantic location takes one back in time. Escape loud honky-tonks, frazzled lifestyles, and arrive to the island at the place called Old Bahama Bay. Dining with locals at places such as Ella's will make your trip all the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Flying from either Palm Beach or Fort Lauderdale is more convenient for closeness to Freeport, Baham...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    110
    42
    24
    10
See reviews for
113
136
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Recently stayed a night in the marina at OBB . Overall a very good experience. One of the easiest and safest marinas to get into. t took us a long time (3 hours) to find a place to dock, clear Customs and Immigration, get gas, get checked in and get settled in our slip. Main reason was that they were just very busy. Overall they handled it pretty well, especially by Bahamas standards and we understand "island time". Staff was very friendly and helpful, made us feel valued. C&I officers were the nicest we've encountered in the Bahamas or Caribbean. Lost electric power for 4-5 hours during the night but that's a Bahamas problem, no fault of OBB. OBB adjusted our electric bill to account for that. Food, drinks and service at the Beach Bar were top notch. OBB is not cheap but their location and overall quality of facility is commensurate with their prices. We would certainly return and would recommend OBB to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerRAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Our room was wonderful. Beautiful. Comfortable. Great after being on the water all day. People were friendly and helpful. Will recommend to all our boating friends and will be back.

Room Tip: Nice place to stop on the way!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotShotCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed in our boat, but my parents used the hotel rooms. They were great. Clean, big and very comfortable. Normally in the bahamas A/C is a problem, but not here. Very tranquil beach, not a classic bahamas beach due to the rocks and natural sea life (grass etc) in the shallow water but the kids had a blast on the free Kayaks. Staff was GREAT! ie; Marina, tiki grill , dock master etc etc
I have 2 recommendations. Security at the marina NEEDS to improve. ONE single boat had a sound system that could put a Miami club to shame. It overtook the WHOLE marina and most of the hotel. If you did not like his music....tough luck. This lasted until midnight on saturday and sunday. The second recommendation has to do with food. We had all there is to have in the tiki grill by the second day of our stay- It has 4 appetizers, 4 lunch items or less and eggs for breakfast.. The restaurant was open at night, but only had very limited selection on a buffet style meal. If your stay for more than a few days you can always go to town....1 hour away.
In conclusion is a GREAT destination for boaters and regular visitors, great service, great pool, great rooms, great ambiance and great fishing!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilingpolitely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The showers and restrooms were terrible for our stay, we stayed on our boat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2012

For many years Old Bahama Bay has been our first, and last stop enroute to the Abacos by boat. And while there have been a series of management changes, the friendly staff members welcome us "home" and insure that our visit is a memorable one. Having Customs & Immigration on the property is delightful following any trip across the Gulfstream. The freshly prepared cracked conch, peas n' rice and a cold Kalik beer are among the best in the islands. A stop-over here is always a highlight of our cruising season.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruisWils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Having stayed here many times in the past . . . I found some areas of the property not in the best shape. Brick paver paths that were in disrepair, lights not operating, and the pool needed to be skimmed of leaves, etc.

The staff was very friendly and helpful but there were some areas that needed maintenance. Considering the rooms are $320 per night plus taxes, etc, I think some areas need better attention. Also, the main restaurant is closed and the only one open was the beach bar. the food was good but it would have been nice to know this and the bugs since it's outside were tough!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomH1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
24.9 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
244 reviews
25.5 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
25.3 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
998 reviews
27.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
24.4 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Property: Old Bahama Bay
Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation - set on the westernmost tip of Grand Bahama Island. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, fishing, snorkeling, eco-tours and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, tennis courts, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. West End Airport is open for private planes and charters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing