We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Minneapolis Marriott Northwest
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brooklyn Park
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent family hotel”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Excellent. Friendly, courteous staff. Clean, updated facility. Price is fantastic value. With breakfast and complimentary drinks for adults. Pool is small, but not a problem for our kids. Breakfast buffet was extensive, hot and tastey. Initially worried about noise which was not an issue.

Room Tip: Higher floors are a challenge in tournament weekends as the elevators are slow and do not open on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottNorthwestGM, General Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Northwest, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Kevin K,

I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. Our breakfast buffet always seems to be a highlight so I’m glad you had a chance to experience it. Our 4 elevators actually do open on the lobby level.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    61
    28
    9
    5
See reviews for
65
40
8
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our stay at the Marriott Northwest was incredible from check-in to check-out!! My girlfriends and I were treated like queens!! All of the staff were super friendly and accomodating with requests, recommendations or simply conversation. Our suite was extremely spacious, uber clean, with comfortable beds and sofa bed and quiet despite being close to the interstate; all equipped with everything we needed for our stay. If we needed extra coffee or cups, pillows etc. it was brought to our room in minutes. The hotel itself is very beautiful with a gorgeous atrium and large area with plenty of comfortable sofas to relax, watch tv or socialize. The bar and restaurant were fabulous. The location of the hotel is excellent to get to anywhere.......Maple Grove, Shoppes of Arbor Lakes, Albertville or Edina. We LOVED this hotel and its' location and will definitely stay here when we return to the Minneapolis area!!!!

Room Tip: Has many floors so if you need access to ground choose a lower one. Rooms are very soundproof despi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottNorthwestGM, General Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Northwest, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Moe678,

It is indeed gratifying to receive comments such as yours. I’m please you and your friends enjoyed your time at the hotel and it’s close proximity to shopping. We look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this property for a professional conference, and as Marriott Rewards members, appreciated being upgraded to the 8th floor with concierge lounge benefits. Our rate as AAA members included complimentary buffet breakfasts, so we felt it was a good value. All rooms are suites, with a sitting room, bedroom, bar area with refrigerator and coffee maker, 2 televisions, and a spacious bathroom with a large, walk-in shower (no tub.) The suite was fresh and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was plentiful with lots of variety, and the hotel staff was friendly and accomodating.

If you have time to shop, the Shoppes at Arbor Lakes shopping center is only about 3 miles away. It's a delightful shopping area, with many major retailers and restaurants. They'll give you directions and a list of shops at the front desk.

I hope to stay at this pleasant property again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyinMinnesnowta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottNorthwestGM, General Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Northwest, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear NancyinMinnesnowta,

Thank you for your posting and for taking advantage of out AAA offer. I’m please your conference was enjoyable and your accommodations were comfortable. Finding Arbor Lakes so close by makes for a nice evening outing during a business meeting. We hope you can stay with us again as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Marriott and the staff are very professional and welcoming. They work well with the client, listen to their concerns, do things nicely and timely. The place is very attractive, great environment with a great ambiance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssennoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottNorthwestGM, General Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Northwest, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Ssennoga,

Great to hear of your wonderful experience here at the Marriott Northwest. Thank you for sharing the details of what made it so memorable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We just held a Fundraising Gala at the Marriott Northwest and want to share this wonderful experience. We first met with Rhonda Barnes in sales to get the basics set up, then for the remainder of the event I worked with Cathy Dunn who was the best. They were both knowledgeable, professional, accommodating to meet our needs and were so responsive that we were up-to-date on all details throughout the planning process. Then the day of the event -- couldn't have been any better. The ballroom space and prefunction area allowed for enough space for people to move around and enjoy the social hour. From check-in the courteous staff were amazing to every detail - AV requirements, the banquet staff, bartenders, the chef --- serving food for 500 people can be a challenge but everything was served quickly, the entre was hot, the vegetables and fingerling potatoes were yummy and the lemon chiffon cake and flourless chocolate cake melted in your mouth.

The newly renovated sleeping rooms were beautiful with state-of-the-art technology and flat screen TV's. Very clean and comfortable for sleeping.

We will use this hotel again for our next Gala! Thanks to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clw631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottNorthwestGM, General Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Northwest, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear clw631,

Fundraising Galas require a lot of hard work! I’m pleased that our professional catering team Rhonda, Cathy, Chef and staff were accommodating to your needs. Thank you for choosing the Marriott Northwest and for your glowing comments. We look forward to your next event with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Every year I pass through Minneapolis on my way up north, and every year I choose a different Marriott Hotel. In general, I am always satisfied by Marriott and this hotel was no exception. A nice open atrium, glass elevators, modern decor, everything you'd expect in a full service Marriott. Rooms were comfortable with a nice separate living room area.

Items of (good) note - concierge lounge was well stocked with friendly staff; marketplace was also well stocked for snacks, drinks and supplies.

Items to be aware of - this hotel is in an almost barren location with absolutely no options for dining or entertainment. Front staff was not particularly helpful with suggestions, but they did have a little sheet listing restaurants - most were two exits away down the interstate. That is not the hotel's fault, but after driving six hours, I didn't feel like getting in the car and driving again. On the top floor, water pressure and temperature was a little lacking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbadeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottNorthwestGM, General Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Northwest, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear pbadeer,

Thank you for your review and the nice comments about our hotel. Regarding restaurants I would like to point out for a future visit, the hotel does have it’s own full service restaurant and room service available. In addition we offer transportation to the Arbor Lakes Mall 3 miles from the hotel. Arbor Lakes offers such a wide variety of restaurants you could choose a new one each day and not eat at the same place twice in 30 days! Arbor Lakes also has three distinct shopping areas that combined have more retail than the Mall of America, including unique, independent stores, specialty chains and national brands, plus a wide variety of restaurants, and a top notch selection of personal and professional services including banking, financial, beauty and spa centers. I appreciate you choosing the Marriott Northwest and will look forward to welcoming you back on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here with some friends over the last weekend of May. I had a connecting room with one friend while the other family we traveled with were down the hall a few doors. Together we had 4 kids ages 2-6. I had the king room and my friend and her family were connected with a double. Both rooms were very spacious, and plenty of room to move around. The bed was very comfortable and I slept great the first night, which is not something I am typically able to do the first night in a hotel! The king room living area is a bit larger so that was where we all got the kids ready and fed. There were 6 boys hockey teams and their parents staying there that same weekend, so with all the running around and noise our kids made, we didn't feel as guilty since it seemed that all of the rooms had kids!
The pool area is scary. And when I say scary I mean: make sure you keep small children safe when walking on the tile/floor near the pool and hot tub when its wet. It is a smooth slick surface tile and extremely slippery when wet. Im not sure what in the world the building contractor was thinking when they decided that smooth non-textured tile was a good choice for a pool/hot tub area. Huge safety hazard and one of the kids in our group (3 years old) slipped and fell about 8 times the whole weekend, while WALKING very slowly like we instructed her to do. So parents; make sure to not only watch your children while INSIDE the pool but on the super slippery tile as well.
Aside from this slip hazard in the pool area, the kids enjoyed it.
The other part that didnt sit well with anybody in our party was the cost for an adult to eat breakfast. $18.95 for one adult?!!! Granted it is a buffet, but no where near worth that money! I get that its not a hotel/motel where the breakfast is free and you make your own waffles, but $18.95 for wheat pancakes, eggs, sausage,bacon and continental items for one adult is very steep. A mom in our party had an issue with not being allowed to take breakfast from the buffet back to her room, well as she explained to the server/attendant, she was not about to bring 4 small, loud, giggly, and antsy children into the quiet restaurant while others were enjoying breakfast and coffee. Seems to me that allowing to take food to your room would be a no brainer when there are that many small kids in your party. Needless to say my friend spoke to the restaurant manager and he was very apologetic, concerned and personally brought us 4 breakfast meals of eggs and sausage for the kids in to go containers. This was exceptional customer service on his part, so thank you.
Other than these two things, this hotel is very nice, spacious and the hotel staff (sans the rude waitstaff) are nice and have customer service in mind.
If im ever in the area again, I would stay here again for sure. But I would not buy the buffet! Bring breakfast foods with you (there are mini fridges in the rooms but no microwave)

Room Tip: The king rooms have a larger living area than the double, the bathrooms ONLY have a stand up shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottNorthwestGM, General Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Northwest, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you Mary for your review and for visiting the Marriott Northwest. I appreciate you sharing in detail your experience. We will certainly review you comments and take your recommendations into consideration. I will share with you that our breakfast is rated #1 out of 333 MHR hotels by our guests! I am pleased that overall you enjoyed the hotel and would return on your next visit to the area. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brooklyn Park
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Northwest
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis NW Maple Grove
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis/Maple Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Minneapolis Maple Grove
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - North
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Minneapolis Maple Grove/Arbor Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minneapolis Marriott Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott Northwest

Property: Minneapolis Marriott Northwest
Address: 7025 Northland Drive North, Brooklyn Park, MN 55428 (Formerly The Northland Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Brooklyn Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brooklyn Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott Northwest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover something wonderfully new at the recently renovated, all-suite, Minneapolis Marriott Northwest. Guests are greeted at our hotel in Brooklyn, Park Minnesota with a magnificent Marriott International Great Room that facilitates working, dining and socializing with contemporary and refreshing interiors featuring natural stonework and a signature fireplace. The 230 sophisticated yet functional guest suites offer travelers a retreat from a busy day. Escape to Wadsworth for signature cocktails and regionally inspired cuisine prepared from the freshest ingredients. Enjoy lively conversation with friends and colleagues in our spacious Great Room serving local brews and featured wines or order chef-crafted food from our 5, 10, 20 menu. Inspired meeting and event spaces await at the Minneapolis Marriott Northwest. The 50,000 square feet conference facility is ideal for business or social events, with our staff at hand to assist you from the detailed planning, throughout the entire process of your event, to the final farewell. We look forward to your stay at our hotel, which is perfectly located near Mall of America, National Sports Center and Target Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Northland Hotel Brooklyn Park
Northland Hotel Brooklyn Park
Northland Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing