We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Renovation to this Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Minneapolis Marriott Northwest
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brooklyn Park
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Renovation to this Hotel!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has been beautifully renovated. The lobby and meetig space is all brand new. The rooms were great as well. They are all set-up as 2-room suites, which was nice for our group. The only downfall was the pool area. Everytime that I used the pool, they were out of towels and the front desk had to be notified. When they did bring the towels, they were worn-out and tiny. Also, the pool was freezing cold all weekend, and to top it off, the hot tub was closed for maintenance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RxTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    57
    28
    9
    5
See reviews for
63
39
8
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

1st time to stay here and was pleased. The layout was a little different than most Marriotts, with the rooms all facing an open lobby, but it was really nice. The rooms were spacious, lots of features - Free wifi, Flat screen TV's, electrical outlets for phones on the nightstand lamps (A+ for me). The lobby had a very modern feel, but still a warmth with the colors and huge fireplace. Lots of seating for in the lobby/bar area.
Also a 24 hour market to buy essentials including snacks, ice cream and adult beverages...and who doesn't love ice cream and wine! Check-in was easy and quick, staff very friendly as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferrell_cat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I am a Plattinum Marriott member. And the is by far one of the nicest and friendliest properties that I have stayed at. The rooms are large and freshly updated. We stayed on the weekend so the concierge lounge was closed. But the front desk gave us breakfast coupons. The breakfast was most wonderful. Fresh quality homemade everything. Hats off to the chef. And the staff went above and beyond to ensure that we enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The exercise room has to be the largest one I have seen at a hotel. From weights to cardio the have it all. Personal TVs on every machine. HIGHLY RECOMEND. And will return when in this area. The only down fall, there is nothing else around the hotel. So if you do not want to eat at the hotel, get ready to drive.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jharmon121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is an exceptionally pleasant suites-style hotel. The rooms are a good size, and very new and clean. They provide most of the amenities you'd want in such a hotel: Free wifi, flat screen tv's, lots of electrical outlets including by the bed, a one-cup coffee maker. I was only there for one night, but in my limited interactions, the staff were uniformly friendly and helpful.

But I was very pleasantly surprised by the restaurant/bar on the first floor. I came in late and was expecting the usual over-priced, mediocre food. What I got was delicious, large, and relatively cheap. It's a small menu, and I'm a vegetarian, but they have a bean burger, which was way better than the frozen, processed veggie burger I expected. It was fresh and large, and served with onion rings that were not the frozen, processed onion-cardboard circles I expected. The onion rings were huge and clearly had just been batter-dipped and fried. I also got a BLT wedge minus the B: a chunk of lettuce with a very good bleu cheese sauce. That plus one of their on-tap beers for about $25. For a hotel, that's really not bad.

A big drawback of the hotel: It's about 30 mins from the airport by cab, which will run you $60-$80 before tip, depending on traffic. The hotel will get you a car service for $75, which includes a tip.

This is not a 5-star hotel in the style of great European hotels. But it's a clean, practical, roomy hotel with a surprisingly good restaurant and a friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I booked this hotel based on location only, was concerned about the property as I had been in it a couple years ago ( before it became a Marriott) and it was very very tired. As soon as I walked into the lobby I was impressed, clearly Marriott has totally revamped the property as it was fresh and very appealing. Check in was pleasant, quick and professional. My room was very clean with great comfortable beds. This was a quick visit, didn't use the gym or eat at the restaurant. I would happily book this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
161 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel for a long time was known as the Northland Inn and Conference Center, an independent. Late last year (2012), it underwent a large renovation and name change and the money spent was well worth it. They have turned an aging hotel into a very nice, plush hotel.
This hotel is set up very much like an Embassy Suites with a very large open atrium that all the rooms open out to. The disadvantage is that there can be some extra noise if the hotel is busy but the advantage is that its easy to see where unwanted noise may be coming from and its easy to stop.
There is a large area of open seating on the main floor of the atrium so there’s plenty of room for informal gathering that’s not in the room.
The hotel is in the shape of a square and the corner room on each corner of the square is an extended executive suite (which we were lucky enough to be upgraded into). They are well worth the extra money if you get a chance to get one. All regular rooms are suite style and open up to a sitting area with a separate sleeping area. But the corner suites have an extra large dining room in a sort of dining area with a separate living room and a separate bedroom which is on the corner and has windows facing two directions. The windows are situated so that you can open up the shades and have plenty of great natural light, but they’ve included so much extra darkening curtains that you can black out the sun and have complete privacy from outside on even the sunniest days.
The dining area has a large table with six chairs and hardwood floors. There is a lot of storage space in the dining room and a fridge but no microwave (but you might be able to ask for one at the front desk). There is excellent in room coffee.
The furnishings in the living room are all new and in great condition. There is a large pullout work desk with a very comfortable work chair and plenty of outlets. (I didn’t bring a computer to test out the WiFi!) The HDTV is big and bright and features a unique set of plug ins on the desk that attach to the TV….you can bring along whatever entertainment system you want (Gaming, DVD, iPod, etc.) and can attach to your desk and thus show it on the TV. All the phones in the suite are cordless, giving you freedom to move around if need be.
The bathroom is extra spacious and plush. It features a walk in shower (no tub) and a huge counter top. In fact there is even extra space to the side of the sink area where you can store extra stuff off the floor, which is marble. There is a full length mirror and below it an extra floor/space heater attached to the wall to provide extra warm bathroom heat.
The amenities are plentiful and high quality.
The bedroom (which in corner executive suites has a door for more privacy) is well appointed with another large HDTV and a very comfortable Queen size bed. The bedding is soft. The bedroom has windows facing two directions for excellent views and lots of light if you want it.
The closet in the bedroom is very large and can easily accommodate many days worth of hanging clothes.
We didn’t try the pool but it looked pretty decent. The hot tub also looked like it would be in good condition but it was small. The workout room, however, was anything but small. They converted a former meeting room into what is easily the largest workout room I have ever seen in a hotel with all new, barely used gym equipment. There were six full size treadmills, many different type of specialized weight sets and two full universal weight stations, plus a whole bunch of other equipment. I’ve been in small health clubs that didn’t have this much stuff. Easily a million dollars or more in just workout equipment. If you are a serious workout buff and need to stay in the Twin Cities for an extended period of time, the workout center alone is worth it.
While the hotel seems to have done a great job with the renovation there are just a few minor drawbacks. We were on one of the top floors and didn’t have very good water pressure (but we did have good hot water). The shower is also just that….only a shower. For such a large suite there was no bathtub. Some people might need that. The shower would have been even better with a small waterproof stool that could also be used in the bathroom as a dressing stool.
There was no trash can in the dining area, an area where you might expect to generate a lot of disposables. Also, one of the legs on our room’s small fridge was broken so it was tilting.
Overall, this hotel is far, far better than what it used to be and is well worth a stay. For people coming from Greater Minnesota who want to get into the city but not too far into the inner city craziness, this is an excellent location. It’s just off 694 in the Northwest suburbs.
Since it is so close to the highway, you can get a quieter room by requesting a suite on the north side of the property.

Room Tip: First try to get upgraded to the larger corner "Extended Executive Suite" and if you get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmywordz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just attended the Century 21 Regional Agent Appreciation & Awards Banquet at the Marriott Minneapolis Northwest. Everything has been redone and looks great! The rooms are very clean and spacious. The beds were super comfortable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brooklyn Park
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis NW Maple Grove
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Northwest
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis/Maple Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Maple Grove - Minneapolis
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Maple Grove - Arbor Lakes
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Minneapolis Maple Grove/Arbor Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minneapolis Marriott Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott Northwest

Property: Minneapolis Marriott Northwest
Address: 7025 Northland Drive North, Brooklyn Park, MN 55428 (Formerly The Northland Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Brooklyn Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brooklyn Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott Northwest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover something wonderfully new at the recently renovated, all-suite, Minneapolis Marriott Northwest. Guests are greeted at our hotel in Brooklyn, Park Minnesota with a magnificent Marriott International Great Room that facilitates working, dining and socializing with contemporary and refreshing interiors featuring natural stonework and a signature fireplace. The 230 sophisticated yet functional guest suites offer travelers a retreat from a busy day. Escape to Wadsworth for signature cocktails and regionally inspired cuisine prepared from the freshest ingredients. Enjoy lively conversation with friends and colleagues in our spacious Great Room serving local brews and featured wines or order chef-crafted food from our 5, 10, 20 menu. Inspired meeting and event spaces await at the Minneapolis Marriott Northwest. The 50,000 square feet conference facility is ideal for business or social events, with our staff at hand to assist you from the detailed planning, throughout the entire process of your event, to the final farewell. We look forward to your stay at our hotel, which is perfectly located near Mall of America, National Sports Center and Target Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Northland Hotel Brooklyn Park
Northland Hotel Brooklyn Park
Northland Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing