We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-the-Top Customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Brooklyn Center
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 10, 2014

A group of colleagues of mine flew in from different states to attend a high-profile client meeting. We were greeted by Maria R., who was not only was the consummate professional, she was bright, cheerful and helpful.
While preparing for the meeting, we noticed a shortage of key presentation material and were worried about how to resolve the issue since the meeting was a few hours away.
I went down and asked Maria if the hotel had a "Business Office" or some kind of on-site copy/print capacity. She informed that the property did not have "Business Office" support and that the printer was down.
She noticed the panic my face and offered to DRIVE to the nearest FedEx Office and manage the project (printing and binding) for me.
30 minutes later she arrived back at the hotel with the presentation material completed and ready for our meeting.
The meeting was a success and Maria was the HERO for the day. Her "above and beyond" help will never be forgotten and truly saved the day. Because of HER I will return to the hotel every time I am in town. Thank you Maria, you are an exceptional employee and we are deeply appreciative of your commitment and dedication.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy1962014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comments and feedback about our hotel and staff, namely Maria. We strive to offer every guest superior customer service and I am extremely happy to read your positive comments.

Again, we appreciate your review and will be sure to let Maria know what a great job she did!

We hope to see you back here soon,
Sincerely,
Barb Crushshon
Director of Sales and Marketing
Best Western Plus Minneapolis North-West
Phone: 763-566-7500 Extension 7019

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 213 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Good: The people at this property are really nice, caring, and courteous folks who seem to want to do a great job. Their attitude seems to be one of creating a great experience for their customers. The front desk staff want to do their best to be helpful - that is clear. The water pressure and availability of hot water is EXCELLENT! The Bad: The property itself, albeit "newly renovated" still has a ways to go. There's a lot of old technology and furnishings that new paint, carpet, and vanities won't cover up. The AC unit in my room had a faulty thermostat which the front desk staff came and looked at, and agreed it was not working properly. It was tolerable during early evening but it got quite hot in the room overnight, leading to poor rest and uncomfortable wake-up. The maintenance person apparently came to the room and claimed to the desk staff that it was working properly but again - they even agreed it was not. There were stains (blood and otherwise) on some of the linens, bedspread and throw pillows on the 2nd bed in my room but the bed in which I slept appeared relatively fresh and clean. The computer in the lobby for guest use had no connection to any network, much less the Internet during our entire stay. The front desk allowed us to use their computers to print boarding passes, etc. - see "The Good" above(!) Interestingly, I was never offered a room swap even though the property seemed to be at relatively low capacity. I also did not ask for one, mostly out of curiosity to see if it would be offered. There was no real 'sitting area' or 'work area' in my room other than a straight-backed chair squeezed into a dark corner next to the TV/Fridge stand. It was quite uncomfortable to sit and attempt to work with my laptop in this area but I suppose it was better than sitting on the bed... sort of. I hate sitting and working/eating on a bed as it is murder on my back and neck. The squeeze chair was my only other option. The Ugly: Breakfast; if you want to call it that. The check-in person really sold us on the "Full Hot Breakfast" that is available. Well... the eggs are powdered and tasteless; the sausage is made from something I can only describe as plastic and tastes like a worn out tennis shoe sole (inner & outer combined.) I could not finish the one link I had. The waffle batter seems to be made from rubber and the end result after cooking it in the (filthy handled) cooker confirms it is rubber in both texture and taste. The waffle maker did not want to let go of the finished product and once I got it loose, it was all but inedible - which again, I couldn't bear to finish it. There is a Denny's within walking distance. I don't normally recommend Denny's but it has got to be WAY better than eating at this BW. There was also small containers of yogurt, cereal, and some fruit available which I did not have time to see if they were a better cold alternative. If you plan to eat there, I recommend going with the fruit only. I did not get any coffee but another person in my party said that is was terrible. This is an area that has significant opportunity for improvement at this property. Overall, based on my stay, I cannot recommend the property, especially for ~$100/night at a discounted rate. While the staff are EXTREMELY nice and want to be helpful, the answer our entire group of around 10 people got most often from them was "I don't know" to any questions or issues they had. Your alternatives are a Super-8 across the street and something called "Boulevard Hotel" very nearby. This being my first ever time in Blaine, I can't speak to any comparison against those properties.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank chuck h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate all of the comments you wrote and want you to know we are working with our staff and training them for excellence.

We hope you will come back to see us in the future!

Sincerely,
Barb Crushshon, Director of Sales & Marketing
Best Western Plus, Minneapolis North-West
763-566-7500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Erick greeted my reservation call with enthusiasm and efficiency. Maria gave me a nice greeting and got me checked out quickly. Jean is also a great front desk person. And I'm going to miss San-Dee on the night shift. Suki runs a good breakfast and keeps everything sparkling. They all work hard to make my visit wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for all of the wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. They work very hard and truly understand the meaning of teamwork and superior guest satisfaction!
We hope that you will come back to see us in the very near future!
Warmest Regards,
Barb C.
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at Best Western over Memorial day weekend. A very pleasant experience. Huge rooms, comfortable beds and nice shower. They also have a pool. MOA is within minutes. The hotel staff was very courteous. I will definitely recommend this place to anyone especially families.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigi60169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for your great comments on our hotel and staff. The beds are very comfortable aren't they! We appreciate your recommendations to families. We strive to offer the best guest service by being kind and courteous to all of our guests.
We hope you will come back to see us soon!
Sincerely,
Barb C.
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Let me start by saying what a great service we have received. I went to my family, weekends are always busy in Minneapolis. They Did not have any room for Saturday as we were going from Friday to Sunday. But Gary made sure that with first room opening he accommodated us. He not only called us back, but also email us the confirmation for our stay. Rooms were newly renovated, pool was large, breakfast was huge and location is right off the exit. This is truly a hidden gem I would recommend anybody going close to downtown Minneapolis to book this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for presidential suite you will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus – Minneapolis Northwest, and for completing the survey of when you were our guest. It is only with this feedback, both positive, and negative, that we're able to improve.
We certainly look forward to the possibility of your staying with us again. So, by all means, please do let us know if there’s ever anything we can do for you. Our main telephone number is 763-566-7500, or feel free to e-mail us at 24140@hotel.bestwestern.com.
Warm Regards,
Barb C.
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Staff was nice, and this hotel has smoking rooms and it didn't smell like smoke in the room or in hallways. Breakfast was wonderful, didn't have to wait in long lines in order to order special items. I never had a problem while staying at them BEST WESTERN PLUS, either in Minnesota or any other state. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel is wonderful and the staff is really nice and accommodating. I am checking back in Sunday for the third week in a row. The rooms are very quiet, nicely decorated and I love the apartment feel of the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jared E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brooklyn Center
158.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - North
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brooklyn Center
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Brooklyn Center
Quality Inn Brooklyn Center
#4 of 8 in Brooklyn Center
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis North
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Northwest
3.1 mi away
LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest

Address: 2050 Freeway Blvd, Brooklyn Center, MN 55430 (Formerly AmericInn Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Brooklyn Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Brooklyn Center
Price Range: $95 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Minneapolis-NorthwestRecently remodeled, with upgraded amenities to meet the high standards of today's traveler and conveniently located for your next visit to the Twin Cities, whether it is for business or pleasure. Relax in the indoor swimming pool and whirlpool tub. Remain connected with free, hotel-wide, high-speed wireless Internet. Choose from several types of rooms; from one king-sized or two queen-sized beds, to a variety of spacious suites, some with private whirlpool tubs, but all with flat screen television(s), a microwave-oven and a refrigerator. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Minneapolis-Northwest.Features & AmenitiesHigh Speed InternetComplimentary BreakfastPoolFitness CenterMeeting RoomHot TubBreakfast Made EasyFree BreakfastComplimentary full breakfastchoice of breadscerealfruithot eggshot breakfast meatother hot itemsjuicecoffee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing