We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue for our sons Christening”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Boldon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Boldon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had the party for our Son's Christening (10/11/13) at this hotel which we all enjoyed immensely.

The food and service provided was excellent.

Our requirements for the day were handled very well by the events team.

The function room was decorated tastefully, and was exactly as we wanted it. The staff on the day were very polite and helpful.

Food was great (a choice of roast beef or salmon, and sticky toffee pud or panacotta for our guests). Also, the kids meals went down a treat.

A number of our christening guests stayed overnight at the hotel too, and they all complimented the rooms (unfortunately I didn't get a chance to have a nosey around :-) ). They also took advantage of the pool facilities.

All in all, very impressed. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear M_Mckenna76,

Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your Son’s Christening held here at QHB last Sunday. I will pass on your comments to the team – its always nice to receive feedback such as yours!

I hope you will make a point of coming back for a ‘nosey around’ very shortly – one of the Team will always be available to give you the Grand Tour!!

Many Thanks,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 479 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

I went to a wedding at this hotel, and I must say that the quality of food, and the service from the staff was fantastic. I also would like to especially thank Diane for all her help!
I definitely would recommend this hotel.

Many thanks to everyone for making the day run smoothly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Mary B,

Thanks for the lovely review of your visit to QHB – I will of course pass on your kind words to Diane!

Warm Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

On arriving on Saturday afternoon for a surpise 40th Birthday weekend, we were greeted with a very warm welcome, our room was lovely with a huge comfy bed! We took advantage of the spa facilities, which was included in the price, and thoroughly enjoyed a pamper in the pool, sauna and steam room. Sharon on reception was extremely helpful, a real credit to the team, she went the extra mile to make our stay very special and we had a thoroughly good night at the ball.
Breakfast was buffet style, which I prefer, and was equally as pleasant and relaxed with a good deal to choose from. We had a wonderfull weekend and look forward to a return trip to Sunderland and to enjoy the hospitality at the Quality Hotel, Bolden.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire197142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Claire197142,

What a wonderful review of your visit to QHB, I know Sharon and the whole Team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I noted you attended our Halloween Ball, we all did have a fantastic night – albeit full of ghosts, ghouls and goblins!!! I hope you will return next year for our next Broomstick Ball – which is sure to be even better!

On behalf of all the Team, please allow me to wish you a belated Happy 40th Birthday!

Warm Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I attended a wedding on Saturday and have to comment on how professional, friendly and efficient service was. The food was delicious, especially the sticky toffee pudding.

I booked a room for the evening and was pleased to find a beautifully decorated room with excellent facilities.

Breakfast in the morning was brilliant; we weren't rushed out so had chance to catch up with other guests about the night before. The full English was delicious, just what the doctor called for.

We thought we would use the pool before we left and ended up staying for lunch. It was fairly quiet but plenty of smiles from the staff and food was delivered quickly. The meat was tender and veg cooked to perfection.

Couldn't fault a thing and can't wait to return for afternoon tea - yummy!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1368as-it-is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear 1368as-it-is,

WOW – what a review – you really have told it ‘as it is’!! It was a delight to have you stay with us this weekend gone and also to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit.

Please do let us know when you return for afternoon tea as I would love the opportunity to thank you personally for this amazing review!

Warm regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

After a morning walking we decided to pop in for Sunday lunch, we hadnt booked but needn't have worried as there were only 3 people in the restaurant (1pm). We ordered and although it was very quiet it took an age for our meal to arrive. When it did arrive the presentation was very poor - no Yorkshire pudding and the veg was simply roast potatoes, carrots broccoli and cauli - it tasted ok but nothing special. We decided on a dessert - sticky toffee pudding which was lovely and chocolate raspberry tart. The very small tart was raspberry-less and sat on a drizzle of cream and for £3 we thought was a total rip off! When asked if we enjoyed our meal we were honest and said the presentation was poor and the chocolate tart dire! When the bill came it was for £1 - they'd only charged us for the 2 soft drinks - which they didn't realise until they said they'd take the dessert off and needed the bill back! Anyway, the staff were lovely and the surroundings are beautiful but maybe the chef was having an off day but we shan't be hurrying back!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank juliedjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Juliedjp,

I was pleased to read that you thought the hotel and staff were lovely. However was disappointed to hear that your interaction with QHB did not meet your expectations; I can assure you this is not the usual level of service we strive to deliver, however we always welcome any feedback, negative or positive. I would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, rest assured it has been duly noted.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in the Quality Hotel Boldon and urge you to contact me direct at the hotel.

I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Warm Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Decent room,quiet area and comfortable bed. Meal was ok, others in my party had very big servings, my meal (burger) was not great tbh, but ok, I guess, about what you would expect for £10 so no real complaints. Room is fine with a decent shower so again, no complaints.

Think about the Kano model guys, compare yourselves to the competition and develop some 'delighters' :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Adamc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Adamc1969,

Thanks for the review of your visit to the Quality Hotel Boldon – happy to hear that you found your stay complaint free! Sorry we weren’t able to ‘delight’ you on this occasion, however having read your pointer towards the ‘Kano Model’ the plans are in place to adopt our very own similar in-house model here at QHB – watch this space!

Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This virtually new hotel was a very good place to stay. I did not explore the area but I got the impression it was in the middle of nowhere, on the edge of a new industrial park and close to the motorway system.

The reception staff were friendly and efficient, and my room was large, clean and well-equipped with the right number of easy chairs for the capacity of the room, a rare event. The hotel was very quiet, probably because I was staying on a Sunday night, helped by the fact that my room overlooked the inner garden so there was no traffic noise.

There were a couple of small problems: two lights in the room not working and a very poor mobile phone signal, but this is hardly the hotel's fault.

The restaurant had a decent evening menu although my fish and chips was not the best I have experienced. My cooked breakfast was OK but nothing special. Service was quick and friendly, helped no doubt by the lack of customers.

Despite these minor shortcomings I would willingly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wakeupjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear wakeupjames,

So happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to QHB, and thank you for being understanding about the minor issue you encountered in your bedroom.

I hope to see you again very soon!

Regards,
Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Boldon
4 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
768 reviews
3 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
4.2 mi away
Roker Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
816 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Boldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Boldon

Address: Jct A19/A184 Witney Way | Newcastle/ Sunderland, West Boldon NE35 9PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > West Boldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Boldon
Price Range: $72 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Boldon 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QHB - The North East's most 'fresh, funky chic...FOUR STAR' Hotel.The Quality Hotel Boldon is one of the regions newest and stylish hotels combining the standards and quality of a four star venue.Our unrivaled location is central to Newcastle, Sunderland, Durham, Washington and South Tyneside with easy access from all major networks and public transport. QHB needs to be on the top of everyone's list of places to visit!BedroomsIt's not all about hard work and no play... Here at QHB we have 82 en-suite bedrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi rules the airwaves and our 32" plasma TV's will keep you entertained. Great beds for sleepy heads, en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower, IPod Docking stations (on request) and digital TV. We also offer same-day laundry, toiletries, room service, hairdryers, ironing facilities and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities.The Grill & Lounge Restaurant, The heart and soul of QHB, a dining concept which is simple, offer the highest standard of service in a relaxed and unrivaled setting... A touch of sophistication with a fusion of Grill and Home-cooked inspired menu. With a wine list to match and a cocktail list that will leave you stirred but not shaken!Boldon Fitness, after one of our team gives you a quick induction on the state of the art, 28-piece cardiovascular and resistance equipment in our gym, you can wind down in our 15 metre heated swimming pool. We also have a Sauna for complete stress reduction, relaxation and all-around better health. Then lie back in our 12 seat Jacuzzi or steam away your worries in the fragrance Steam room. Perfect for those who need time to unwind and recharge before bravely heading out onto the corporate front line.Meetings & Conferences. We are a purpose built superior conference venue with state of the art facilities hosting events for a total capacity of 425 delegates. Eight versatile conference and banqueting suites are at your disposal for whatever event you may be planning. QHB also houses a dedicated conference floor which has five meeting rooms with secured access that can be hired exclusively with a dedicated conference lounge. All suites are equipped with air-conditioning, state-of-the-art AV systems and complimentary Wi-Fi. Car Park. Access to car park complimentary for all guests and residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Boldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunderland Quality Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing