We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Young Kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paul Bunyan Land

Paul Bunyan Land
Ranked #4 of 24 things to do in Brainerd
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for Young Kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Every summer we go to Ruttger's Bay Lake Resort for a few days and we always take our daughters (5 yrs. and 8 yrs.) to Paul Bunyan Land, since it is only a 15 minute drive. There are lots of rides for kids under 10 years old, a rock climbing wall, candy store, restaurant, and an old fashion town (30 buildings) that looks like it could be on American Pickers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GloboImporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    9
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun for the 10 and under set”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Took our 5 yr old daughter here and she had a blast! This place was perfect for her because we paid one price and she ran around for almost three hours do whatever rides she wanted as many times as she wanted. She is liking more of the thrill rides now and there is a perfect mix of small kiddie ones and bigger fast ones. She LOVED the climbing wall, which she made it to the top! Not much for adults to do but sit and watch, but if you have kids anywhere from 2 or 3 to 10, then

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kjb1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Country fun for kids 10 and under”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We went with 5 children ranging from 4 to 10 in age and they absolutely loved it. It is definitely geared toward the younger half of adolescence. There are bumper cars, a kids roller coaster and train, tilt-a-whirl, merry-go-round, climbing wall, and other types of attractions you'd expect at a county fair.

The price, when multiplied by 7 people, seemed a little high but not too unreasonable.

We loved the place because it was so 'country'. Being used to the lines and rules at places like Valley Fair, Nickolodeon Universe, and Six Flags, it was great to have virtually no lines and to be able to keep riding the rides without even getting off when there wasn't a line. They didn't seem so stuck on all the protocol that can make a city amusement park more steril or bureaucratic. The staff were wonderfully kind and friendly.

I'm guessing it isn't always so thin on people and lines but in early June it was and that was a perfect time to go.

If you are expecting Six Flags, are only bringing adults or kids over 10 years old, or are only in the area for 1 day, I probably wouldn't recommend this but if you have more time and younger kids it can be a lot of fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GrowinGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SUPER FUN! Amazing Old Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I LOVED their winter wonderland Christmas Lights in the Old Village. Beautiful... We had a sleigh ride from Santa and Hot Chocolate by the bon-fire.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aWebWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a great time-only a few complaints. No food choices-well there was one but we waited over an hour for a small portion of overpriced food-not good at all! The rides were fun a littly noisy though. We had our pics done at the old time photo place. The gal taking the pictures was very very rude and unprofessional! I don't know if it was because we had picked the disc and she wanted to sell us more or what-but she was so mean-she needs to find a new job-it was 8-11-12!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Bunyan Land also viewed

 

Been to Paul Bunyan Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing