We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average restaurant”
Review of Sawmill Inn Cafe

Sawmill Inn Cafe
Ranked #21 of 73 Restaurants in Brainerd
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Hamburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average restaurant”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a run of the mill restaurant, nothing special.
Prices are a little high, and the staff is not very nice.
I would find another place to go to eat when we go to Brainerd again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank denise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very friendly employees and attentive service. The booths/chairs/tables may be a bit older, but I go for the food. The portions are rather small at times, but it seems every restaurant these days plays the portion size vs. price game.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 14carrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Juust Average”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

They have a large room for family gatherings or whatever. Friendly staff. The menu has a few different choices than just a plain ole burger and fries. For the most part, the food is average.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Historic, but average”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Sawmill has been in Brainerd forever, and you would hope it would be a great old place for a good meal. In many ways its no-nonsense menu and staff appeal to the 'dive" hunter. Unfortunately, the food let's you down a bit. My breakfast was an omelet, smallish for 3 eggs, a skimpy portion of hash browns, and a slice of coffee cake. The inclusion of the coffee cake with breakfast is a nice touch. My sons French toast sticks were obviously pre-packaged. In the end the Sawmill is a decent local place, but if you are looking for true local flavor, try The Barn which is only a couple blocks down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrickTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My daughter and I stopped at a local restaurant while traveling in MN. We stopped for lunch in Brainerd. It was a great little place. There is history about the sawmill that was the main source of jobs years ago. The food was very good and I would stop by there again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawmill Inn Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sawmill Inn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing