We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Happy Hour!”
Review of Iven's on the Bay - CLOSED

Iven's on the Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Restaurant Hours: Closed for Season.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
153 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Happy Hour!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a delicious dinner in the martini lounge and enjoyed half price appetizers which were very tasty! The bartender is a mixologist and we enjoyed excellent margaritas!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dlp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    24
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walker, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We had a great time!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We decided to try Iven's for our 7th Anniversary, we had driven past it for years and always wondered about it. Inside, its beautful! Way different than what I had expected. It looks brand new, very classy and upscale. We were served right away, ordered an appitizer (the crab dip) which was very tasty! We each had a drink, also very good. For dinner, we ordered the sashimi and the sauteed walleye with pesto sauce over pasta. Both orders were delicious. For the sashimi, however, we were expecting it to come on top of rice and it didn't. Just a side note, it was very good- just different than we expected. We ordered the creme brulee and the pumpkin cheesecake to go, since we were headed to a B&B for the evening. Later when we ate the desserts, they were awesome!!! Very good meal and good service. The ambieance was also very nice, low lighting and on the lake- low music, very nice place. We will go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice selection on the dinner menu. We did great. Caprese Flatbread was better than our favorite in the Twin Cities. Shrimp and scallop over rice was outstanding. Disappointed in their "specialty" walley. It wasn't the best as they boast. All in all a very good experience. Those who were dining looked very happy. Upscale for the region and worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MMtravelprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food if that's all you care about when you dine out”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Iven's has great food, no argument. It's nice to eat equally well when you dine out as when you are gourmet-cooking at home, plus you don't have to do the dishes. BUT if you don't like having a table by the toilets; having all the toilet-bound people running into your chair because there isn't enough space to actually get to the toilet unimpeded; and having surley wait staff who refuse to move you although there are other available tables--then stay away!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thelma97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food, Beautiful Views, Outstanding Staff”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The title says it all. If you're wanting to kick it up a notch for dinner in Brainerd, Iven's is the place to go. We had spent 6 days with friends on Pelican Lake and for a farewell dinner our host recommended Iven's. We were not disappointed. We enjoyed beautiful lake views while we enjoyed an excellent meal that would rival the finer establishments in Houston. We had the Surf and Turf and Double Lamb Chops - both were cooked to perfection. The wine list was very extensive and the wait staff very attentive. The best of all? The next day at the Minneapolis airport my husband discovered he had left his credit card at the restaurant. A phone call solved it all. Michael promised he would mail it to us and two days later it arrived in the mail, neatly disguised. Great folks - friendly and extremely honest.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sv_lonestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iven's on the Bay also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing