We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gull Lake

Gull Lake
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Brainerd
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fifteen-mile long lake whose surrounding area is connected to various restaurants and accommodations.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Ok place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I don't think it's a very big view that you could hangout for a whole day, but if several lakes in a row would be better. But if you own a property beside the lake, that's another story

Helpful?
Thank Ying L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for boating and swimming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a great lake for boaters. Be sure to take a map because you could get lost. There are many bays off this lake. You can take channels that lead to other lakes. Lake gets very rough during storms and windy days. There are areas where you will find many boats anchored and people swimming.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank skygal1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Sunday afternoon adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are 'camping' in Pequot Lakes for the remainder of the summer. Last Sunday afternoon was a picture perfect day for boating, so we called around and found a pontoon that was available at Boats and Beyond which is right on the lake. We have been in the Brainerd Lakes area several times and had driven by Gull Lake, but we had never been on it. The map indicated that it's only 15 square miles - rather small in comparison to Lake Mille Lacs which is 207 square miles and borders 3 MN counties, but it seemed huge! There were many other boats on the lake, but it wasn't crowded at all. We headed north and went through several channels to the other smaller lakes. We were able to get up close enough to the Loons for some really great pictures - I was surprised that they were not more afraid of the boats passing so close. While going though one of the channels, another boater alerted us to an Eagles nest in the top of a tall pine and my husband captured pictures with his high end camera of the mamma watching over the nest.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PamelaH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Serene Beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was on this lake twice during the summer and had two different experiences. The first time it was pretty crowded and while the lake was beautiful I didn't like how many people were around. The second time was a bit of a cooler day but this made it a little less popular and it was immensely pleasant and serene to just be drifting along.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Lake Life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Whether a boating trip in the summer or snowmobiling in the winter, Gull Lake is a great place to enjoy Minnesota.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gull Lake also viewed

 

Been to Gull Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing