We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs Up for the New Owners!”
Review of Ernies On Gull

Ernies On Gull
Ranked #1 of 73 Restaurants in Brainerd
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Ernie's on Gull is a year around family restaurant located on the shores of beautiful Gull Lake. Summers our lakeside deck and patio bar and open everyday with the best views of any restaurant in the area. Summer weekends bring nightly entertainment on the patio. Enjoy a cocktail and watch the sun go down to the sounds of local and regional acts. Executive Chef Jason Hawley and his culinary team have assembled a menu that caters to the tastes and trends of today while also embracing the items that have been staples here for many years. Our diverse menu offers a wide range of options to choose from and is constantly being updated as we move from season to season.
South Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up for the New Owners!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

What a drastic improvement! Ernie's was recently sold and is now under new ownership and management. The menu is nothing short of fabulous, with many choices from burgers and fries to Seared Ahi Tuna. There is absolutely something for everyone here now, kids to grandparents. My only complaint--it is so popular, that getting a table, the wait time, is problematic. We now go on more off times, or on days with fewer tourists.
Bottom line: Ernie's is an excellent dining choice, made even more so if you boat over, relax and eat, and then boat home in the gorgeous sunset.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bzv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    80
    26
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Love it!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I recently went to Ernie's and had a great experience! Service was great and always with a smile! That makes everything better! It was a beautiful summer day on the deck right on the water! Now that's a great time! We all came back later for drinks at the outside bar and had a relaxing time! Thank you Ernie's!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cwall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food with a View”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of dining at Ernie's - the food (coconut shrimp) and the service were outstanding - as was the view of the sunset on Gull Lake - spectacular! Exactly the things you'd expect during a northwoods vacation.

Ernie's offers a casual fun filled atmosphere with a top notch staff - definitely a restaurant worth seeking out. I'm already planning my next visit!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyMtnReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was just there over the weekend and had a wonderful experience. The staff is very friendly & we had fast service. The food was absolutely delicious, the atmosphere was very fun & laid back, and the view is spectacular. There is no place like it! I will definitely be going back & would recommend to anyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amjo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisswa, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great place to go by boat or car. Simple menu but excellent food, fun servers and laid back atmosphere. When ever we have visitors up we always put Ernies on the list for at least one night.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tjameson1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ernies On Gull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing