We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Difficult but great”

Classic at Madden's
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Golfers have the option of playing this award-winning course from 4,883 yards all the way back to 7,109 yards; this makes the game a great test of players' skills.
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Difficult but great”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staff is very attentive. Course if difficult so don't go if you're a beginner. Very lush and well kept course. Bring bug spray but that's true everywhere in Minnesota.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelpartner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,003 reviews
332 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Much too snooty”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely early May evening - about 6 PM - stopped in for a twilight round. "No - we are closed for maintenance." No "sorry," no "please come another time."
So I went to Craguns 5 minutes away, where they were very friendly and welcoming. Had a great 9 holes at Craguns. I

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seniordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara L, Manager at Classic at Madden's, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review.

The Classic is Minnesota’s only 5-Star Top 100 golf course, so it is sometimes necessary to close for maintenance so that the course is always in perfect condition. We always schedule our maintenance during times when it is least disruptive to our guests. We apologize that we did not offer Pine Beach East or Pine Beach West as alternatives, as they were available and we should have let you know.

Please know that we have taken your comments very seriously and appreciate your sharing them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
169 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Make the Putt !!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

18 holes of pure Fun. we stay at the lodge and play the classics for 2 rounds. from the first hole par 5 to the 18th it's all good. i did leave a couple of balls in the woods for the next time i'm up there with my group. if you have not played this golf course, i need too !! make the putt !!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank skinnyskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finlayson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful in the fall.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a challenging course, and the scenery is spectacular. Great clubhouse with truly special food to top off a day in the sun.

Helpful?
Thank Minnetrista G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A jewel of a golf course”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Madden's Classic represents the finest 18 of the Madden Resort's 63 holes, and one of the finest I have played in 5 states and 2 provinces.
Visually it is spectacular, with all the autumnal beauty the north woods can muster artfully enhanced by the designers. The fairways are like the greens I have played most places, so soft and smooth that I cringed every time I took a divot. The course is tough but eminently playable, the bunkers groomed and the greens pool table quick.
Take your best game and your camera; you will need both. Even if you don't score well you will leave feeling happy and satisfied.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geoff I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Classic at Madden's also viewed

 

Been to Classic at Madden's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing