We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dissapointing Room”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stay at this hotel a few times a year when I am returning home on early morning flights after being in Minnesota on Business. I've always been pretty pleased with this hotel and on many levels still am but the room I was put in was not great. I could have said something but I was only staying the one night and I was too tired.

I was put in a disabled accessible room which wasn't needed but it was a room. The room itself was almost comical. The bathroom was huge with a door that opened out into the room, I assume to accommodate people in wheelchairs? What was so funny about that is that there was no way a person in a wheelchair could have made it through the hallway from the room door into the sleeping area because they wouldn't be able to squeeze between the wall and the table that was placed against the other wall.

The bed itself was a sight. It was essentially convex with high sides and sunken middle and I was trying to imagine someone who had physical limitations trying to roll themselves out of the center.

At the end of the day, the room was clean though tired and I can put up with almost anything for one night as long as it's clean. Hotel amenities are good, staff are very friendly and helpful and with our corporate rate, we have a free hot breakfast buffet included in the room rate.

Location is good as it's so near to the airport and I will stay there again as I usually do but would likely speak up next time if given a similar room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
To Yesguy,
I appreciate you taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you normally stay with us when you return home. I am dissapointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience during your last stay. Please contact me, so I can find out more about your experience and what room you were in so I can address the issues you mentioned in the review with my Director of Housekeeping. Thanks again for your repeat business and we hope to see you back here soon.

Sincerely,

Jim Kasper
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    195
    121
    54
    39
See reviews for
138
107
31
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had a 4 night reservation here last week and actually checked out after 2. There are some good things about the hotel but if you are a Crowne Plaza fan, the one 5 min. down the road is nicer in my opinion.

Pros:

1. The lobby has been upgraded along with the 2nd floor. In fact the lobby and 2nd floor (conference / event floor) meet my expectations for a Crowne Plaza.

2. The gym - it's actually top notch! I would have even considered rating the property overall with 2 stars if it wasn't for the gym. It has free weights (dumbbells), machines, lots of cardio equipment, and lots of space.

3. Room service - room service was quick and the service was great

4.) Breakfast buffet was very good - and the service staff was very friendly

5.) Platinum member lounge and reception - this is always a plus!

6.) The amenities in the room were upgraded and were nice, I liked the microwave and refrigerator.

Cons:

1.) The renovations stopped in the common areas after the 2nd floor. The hallways were simply outdated and new at least new paint.

2.) Parking - nothing the hotel can do to fix this, but it is simply odd. But at least its free, if I had to pay for this parking, I would have checked out after 1 night

3.) Room layout - I had a king executive suite. I loved the space, however the layout is just odd. If you are sitting at the desk you can't watch TV and work at the same time because the way the rooms are set up.

4.) Service - it wasn't even close to the over top customer service I normally get at other Crowne Plazas. I think it was partly due to how busy the hotel was catering to large events. Nothing significantly stands out bad, but I was blown away by the staff like I normally am at Crowne Plaza's.

All in all, there are tons of hotels in the MSP area. So I doubt that I will stay at this property again. It wasn't terrible but for the money the CP down the road has my money or another chain of hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majones7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
To Majones7:
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor. You mentioned a lot of Pros and Cons about our property and I appreciate you giving us the feedback. The main thing that concerned me about the Cons, is the customer service aspect. I never like to hear that a guest did not receive the service they are expecting to receive. This is something that I will address with my staff. Thanks again for the review and it is because of people like you that help us improve.

Sincerely,

Jim K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed on business for 2 nights in a suite which turned out to be cheaper than the room I had initially booked.

Arrived to find myself "priority pass member of the day"! Despite that, and staying in a suite, was surprised to find no water provided for free (was in every other hotel on trip). Room well appointed, clean and comfortable and quiet. Was at the end of a very long corridor mind!

Lunch in restaurant was a less positive experience - limited food choice and what arrived was not great.

Out near airport which a long way from the centre of town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbod01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Jimbod01,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding Priority Club perks and the poor food selection. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My company hosted a week long conference at this hotel. I was in charge of setting up the meeting, overnight rooms, meals, etc. I will say that everyone in the sales department was wonderful! They made sure we were well taken care of and they were easy to work with. Di and Nancy were who I worked with.

The only small frustration I had was that my boss had a package sent to him at the hotel with important information and the front desk staff never notified him that it had arrived. He was so busy each day that he didn't catch it until after he had left. I wish they would have better communicted to him that his packaged had in fact arrived. I called the day after we left and the hotel front desk staff said that they did have it sitting right there behind the front desk.

Despite the small miscommunication I would definitely use this hotel again in the future mainly for the fact that the sales staff took good care of our group.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Enjoyed this hotel very much. Was slightly misdirected when I called from the light rail. I was instructed to make a stop at the airport and wait for the hotel shuttle. One can actually take the light rail right to the hotel. It is on the rail line. Other than my 20 minute deviation, once there it was wonderful. The room was modern and very sound-proof.

Room Tip: Ask for the concierge floor (13th) as it is the quiet floor. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tam646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I attended a weekend training here and the room was clean and comfortable with view across the wetlands. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant food was fine but the service in the restaurant and at the coffee bar in the morning was a bit slow. I'm from NY and used to faster service. The complimentary shuttle between hotel and also to Mall of America was a great benefit. I used the fully-equipped fitness center and would've used the pool if I had stayed my full time but I got out of town before the predicted 10" of snow on April 22!

The training involved a group of people but no group rate was set. However, 2 of our group got suites at a rate much lower than the standard 2 bed room I got. Management said it all depends on when you make your reservation and rates change just like airfares. I guess I'll have to keep calling to see how it changes.

Room Tip: Join the priority club, get points and rooms on quiet floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryLou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was given a meeting room with a murphy to sleep in when I was booked for a standard bed room.
The mattress was torn, sheets not changed and garbage when I pulled the bed down.
When I went back to the desk for another room, they simply said "we are booked", and the front desk clerk extremely rude!
Look at the pictures.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Bill P,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am very embarassed to hear about your experience here and to see the pictures you posted of the room you stayed in. Please contact me directly at 952-876-8706 to discuss this more so I can address the problem completely. Thank you very much.

Jim K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South
6.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/St. Paul Airport Mall of America
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Airport
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America

Property: Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America
Address: 3 Appletree Sq, Bloomington, MN 55425-1635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America 3.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Minneapolis/St. Paul! Enjoy your stay at the closest Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites to the Mall of America and MSP International Airport! The Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites MSP Airport / Mall of America is located in the heart of Bloomington, MN and is 15 minutes from downtown Minneapolis or St. Paul the Target Center and Mpls Convention Center. Suites: We offer more than 100 beautifully decorated suites with bedroom and spacious living room. All suites are equipped with two televisions, a refrigerator and microwave, two telephones and well-lit dining and work table. Features: The hotel offers free high-speed wireless Internet in all guest rooms. A fitness room allows you to stay on that fitness plan, or relax while traveling. Everyone enjoys our Junior Olympic sized pool. Meetings: We feature over 14,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Location: For your convenience, we are located off of I-494 and 34th Avenue at the intersection of E. American Blvd & 34th Avenue with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall Of America Bloomington, MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing