We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
rochester, mn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Great Stay!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I booked one night at the last-minute for a little getaway. The hotel is in a great location for MOA and IKEA, as well as many good restaurants.

The hotel was very busy, but it was very quiet. We couldn't hear any hallway noise when we were in our room. Our room faced the Interstate, but we didn't find the noise to be disruptive. The room-darkening shades made the room VERY dark, which made it great for sleeping in! We had a king-room and the bed was very comfortable. The bed faced the window, instead of the wall, which I've never seen in a hotel before, but it was a homey touch.

The pool was nice, and a good temperature.

The only negative I can think of is that the rooms do not have a refrigerator or microwave. We wished we had one when we had leftovers from our dinner out.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Overall, I give this hotel 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbkgnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I will pass your comments on to the entire staff. We appreciate you staying with us.
Darryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    129
    58
    18
    7
See reviews for
87
62
24
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

One night stay enroute to the Minnesota northwoods for the Memorial weekend. The hotel was packed, but still quiet overall. Freeway proximity was not a noise concern for us in our room. (We were road-facing) Upgraded to spa room, very clean, fixtures in good shape, king bed very comfortable. The staff was VERY friendly and attentive even with the large volume of guests in the hotel that night. Good location if you need to be in the Mall of America area.

Room Tip: Follow your GPS when you arrive - the access road in is a little unusual the first time you drive to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisILtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I hope you stay with us again if your travels find you in our area.
Darryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Nice hotel to stay in. Our room had pictures of people skiing and the decor was modern and up to date. The bathroom and everything was adequate. We only stayed one night and it was quiet in our room although the hotel is situated right next to the interstate. We ate a buffet style breakfast as a group and although I did not coordinate the trip (I believe breakfast was extra??), the food was great! The pool looked fun although I did not use it. Definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the building have a great view of downtown Minneapolis and may even have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royalpalm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for Staying with us. We hope you choose us again when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
214 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nothing really exciting here. Bar corner not too bad but other than that really so so. Rooms are really basically furnished. No extra, no real bathroom, no coffee machine. Bedding is too soft (too old). I also find the wifi internet speed unacceptable. Just done to make you go after the paid plan. even the plastic bin is ugly. Won't come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is located very closely 15 minutes walk to the Mall of America, and IKEA, which makes this the perfect hotel if you have any of those destinations on your itinerary. The hotel and rooms are clean and the staffs are friendly, which are my two biggest criteria. We had a room with a balcony that faced the freeway, we thought it would be really noisy at first but the glass doors did a decent job of masking the sound. Free Internet access was provided but didn’t use. The breakfast buffet at Jake's Restaurant was good, although a little pricey, I was $24.00 for a couple. There was quite bit of noise coming from kids in the hall late at night and people talking loud, I felt like they were in the same room with you, this went on every night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We use these reviews to improve our service to our guests. In May this year we did have a few sports teams in on the weekends. We had additional security on staff to keep the children under control while in the hotel. We also have the guardians sign a code of conduct form. As you experienced, these precautions don’t always work for us. I can assure you this isn’t the typical experience here. May is a very busy tournament time in the area. Thank you for choosing us and hope you stay with us again if your travels find you in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I stay here frequently. Tried the main line Marriott, but the Courtyard is better! I am glad they have not changed to the new bistro style Courtyard model. I dislike that new design! They have a good restraunt and a nice lobby bar that you will actually feel comfortable hanging out in.
In the winter time I love the underground parking!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyefly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I will pass your compliments on to the staff. Thank you for discovering us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is located very closely to the Mall of America, airport and Ikea, which makes this the perfect hotel if you have any of those destinations on your itinerary. The hotel and rooms are clean and the staff are friendly, which are my two biggest criteria. We had a room with a balcony that faced the freeway. At first I though it would be really noisy but the glass doors did a decent job of masking the sound and I found the "white noise" from the traffic comforting. The free Internet was adequate but you can pay a little more if you want a faster connection. The breakfast buffet was good, although a little pricey. I think it was almost $11. The bartender, in the lounge, makes some fantastic drinks and is great at recommendations.

Overall, it was a good experience and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeB_OyLeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Airport Mall of America
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport/Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Mall of America
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America

Property: Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America
Address: 7800 Bloomington Ave S, Bloomington, MN 55425-1112 (Formerly Courtyard Minneapolis Bloomington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The on-site Starbucks, fitness center, renovated rooms, plush bedding, pool and on-site dining are just a few of the wonderful amenities at the non-smoking Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott - Minneapolis Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Courtyard Bloomington By Mall Of America MN, North America
Courtyard Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Courtyard
Bloomington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing