We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Really not worth the money. We had a layover in Minneapolis and need a place to spend the night. They picked us up from the airport and were super polite. The staff is 100%, but the place is horrible. The room was an odd shape. The bed felt like a terrible balloon. Both of us awoke with back pains. The place smelled musty and the curtains did not close all the way which allowed the parking lot lights to shine in on us the whole time. There were people arguing in the room nearby and it was as if they were arguing in our room and no one stopped it. They made so much noise the whole night.

Room Tip: Don't stay here its terrible.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AC_Travel_PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Ariel C,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I’m glad to hear that you found our staff to be polite and you were able to take advantage of our airport shuttle. I’m so sorry that the rest of your stay did not meet your expectations. We want all of our guests to be completely satisfied and I’m saddened that we didn’t accomplish that during your stay. I hope that if you find yourself back in the area, you will allow us another opportunity to make up for it.

Sincerely,
Marjorie S.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 358 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for an early morning flight out of MSP and our experience couldn't have been better! We started our vacation a little early by checking into this hotel Friday afternoon before our Saturday morning flight and since the hotel is directly across the street from the Mall of America, we enjoyed some last minute shopping and dining Friday evening.

Saturday morning our shuttle was very early (4am) before breakfast so they had packed us each our own little breakfast bag with a muffin, granola bar, and banana. We have stayed at a few different hotels in the area for park and fly and none of them have done this so that was an awesome little touch! We were very impressed.

Our shuttle driver was right on time and was excellent. Terminal 2 was just a few minute drive and unlike some other hotels, we did not have to stop at other locations and were brought directly to the airport. Upon return, we just called the hotel and the shuttle driver was there within about 15 minutes.

Our room was clean and comfortable and they allowed 5 adults in a regular room which can be a struggle at other hotels. I will definitely be using this location in the future for Park and Fly for its location and excellent service!! No need to look elsewhere!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay_K_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the facility for a college visit. The staff was outstanding! My room keys were ready and I experienced the fastest check-in EVER!

Another really nice touch is that the front desk called our room to see if we were happy and everything was ok with the room. My teen age daughter commented that it was fantastic for them to check on us.

The staff also tried to do the little things (cookies and cider in the evening), and a breakfast bag for on-the-go travelers. The shuttle is also a nice touch.

As for the facility, it is clean, well-kept, and pretty modern. The rooms were fair size and the noise levels were very normal for a hotel right next to the airport.

I would stay here again for certain!

Room Tip: I stayed on a high floor - a trade off of foot traffic vs. aircraft noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 63Chitown63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because the price was reasonable and they are located across the street from the MOA. We walked to the mall, but they offer a shuttle as well. The rooms were nice, we didn't have a fridge, but they do have rooms with a fridge available. The pool is nice and there are 2 hot tubs. They also have a really nice free breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, waffles, and a variety of tasty breakfast goods. My only complaint was the breakfast area was crowded, but that was probably because it was good. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone planning a visit to yhe MOA.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our family stayed in two king suites so we would have easy access to Mall of America. The pool/hot tub were crowded. The rooms were very nice but a little tight for space. There were kids running up and down the hall after 10 p.m.on our floor. There is a convenient shuttle from the hotel to the mall that runs on the hour. It is almost impossible to walk to the Mall from the Hotel as you have to cross two 4 lane roads without cross walks!
Check in/out went smoothly, No early check in was allowed. Skip the breakfast unless you like to eat standing up. It was so crowded..the eating area .was too small for such a large hotel.

Room Tip: Get a King suite!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianaG201309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear DianaG201309,
Thank you for your review of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington. I hope you were able to take advantage of our convenient shuttle service. I would like to apologize if our breakfast area did not meet your expectations. We truly appreciate your feedback, and hope to have another chance to impress you on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,
Marjorie S.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed 1 night before an early morning flight. Close to the airport and Mall of America and the free shuttle sold us on this property.

Rooms were fair, nothing special but clean and friendly staff.

Not bad for a single night at a decent price, if I would have stayed longer I would have stayed at the Marriott down the street.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I got stuck in Minneapolis again due to flight problems. Stayed here thinking I had been here before--I hadn't.

I rate all my stays at a hotel on a five-point scale (1= terrible, 3=what I’d expect, 5=exceptional) in the following categories. Unless otherwise noted, I’m looking for a comfortable, clean night’s sleep. I care little about free breakfast, gyms, and pools.

Fast check-in:
Overall room cleanliness: 2
Ability to control room temperature: 2
Softness of bath towels: 3
Comfort of bed/pillows: 2
Technology (good Wifi, accessible outlets, etc.): 3

Other notes on this hotel:
Found multiple hairs in the bed. TV picture looks like they're stealing and splitting the cable. Very old decor. Avoid this place.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank chrisserger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Chrisserger,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologize that the Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington did not meet your overall expectations. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us, and your comments will be internally discussed with my entire staff. I hope that if you find yourself back in the area, you will allow us another opportunity to change your mind.

Sincerely,
Marjorie S.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Mall of America
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott Bloomington Mall of America
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport/Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Airport Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America

Address: 2401 American Blvd E, Bloomington, MN 55425-1317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#16 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: $115 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for a hotel near Mall of America will enjoy our location next to the giant shopping center. Guests will be within a 3 minute walk to the MOA and IKEA. The Marriott hotel is also near the Minneapolis St. Paul International Airport. Our Bloomington, MN hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service to the Mall of America and the MSP Airport for your convenience. When you stay with us, you'll also be minutes from the fun of Nickelodeon Universe and the Sea Life Aquarium. Guests can also use the Mall of America light rail to take a quick trip to downtown Minneapolis with stops at the Nicollet Mall and Target Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America Hotel Bloomington
Fairfield Inn Minneapolis
Fairfield Inn Bloomington
Fairfield Bloomington
Bloomington Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing