We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a dive. Stay at the Residence Inn next door.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Wadsworth, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This place is a dive. Stay at the Residence Inn next door.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I got stuck in Minneapolis again due to flight problems. Stayed here thinking I had been here before--I hadn't.

I rate all my stays at a hotel on a five-point scale (1= terrible, 3=what I’d expect, 5=exceptional) in the following categories. Unless otherwise noted, I’m looking for a comfortable, clean night’s sleep. I care little about free breakfast, gyms, and pools.

Fast check-in:
Overall room cleanliness: 2
Ability to control room temperature: 2
Softness of bath towels: 3
Comfort of bed/pillows: 2
Technology (good Wifi, accessible outlets, etc.): 3

Other notes on this hotel:
Found multiple hairs in the bed. TV picture looks like they're stealing and splitting the cable. Very old decor. Avoid this place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisserger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Chrisserger,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologize that the Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington did not meet your overall expectations. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us, and your comments will be internally discussed with my entire staff. I hope that if you find yourself back in the area, you will allow us another opportunity to change your mind.

Sincerely,
Marjorie S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    130
    47
    20
    11
See reviews for
141
51
24
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much here. The lobby was clean, the staff were all friendly, and the complimentary breakfast was great. They checked us 4 hours earlier, with no problem. The bed was clean and super comfortable. The room was quiet and dark. You can't get closer to the mall. We would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: We found a coupon in a Bloomington's traveler's guide so it made our stay even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler5297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodt/Syre
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were only here for one night, as we had a late arrival in MSP around 11 pm and we needed a place to sleep, to drive the next day up to Moorhead. The nightstaff at the reception was very quick and friendly. We had 2 rooms one with 2 queen beds and one with a King Bed, both rooms were clean, not to small, bed had the same comfort like a normal Marriott Hotel. They offer also free breakfast, not a huge one, but there was a waffle machine, so I was happy. And parking is also free. There is also a free shuttle in the morning to the mall of Americas, but you really don't need, it's less than a 10 minute walk, it's really just across the street, and even during the cold even freezing winter, we were here two weeks ago, it was not a problem to get over there by walking, and a little exercice is always good ;) !!!
Would I recommand it, absolutely, would I go back, yes I would. So my fellow tripadvisors don't hesitate to book this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We decided to leave the Best Western for reasons that are in that review and move to the Fairfield. The staff was very pleasant, rooms were clean and well appointed. The breakfast was very nice with a wide selection of hot and cold items. This will be our choice again if we find ourselves back in Minnesota.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We were to stay at the Radisson Blu, however I will review that later. Needing a place to stay after a long flight, midnight, and -22 degrees, this Fairfield Inn was close and it was just fine.

The rooms are not elaborate, but the bed was comfortable, and it was clean. We had a flight the next day and the shuttle driver was most helpful.

Breakfast was better than the normal motel breakfast, and the coffee was great. I was very impressed with the lady that was taking care of the breakfast and her attentiveness .

Considering the circumstances of our late arrival , they were most helpful, and customer services goes along way.

Thank you!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mikie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were extremely happy with our stay at the Fairfield Inn. The staff was wonderful! They were able to get us into our room early, which was great! The shuffle to the mall and airport was wonderful! Right on time and the drivers were very nice. The breakfast in the morning was huge! Lots of selection of things to eat, plus they had coffee, water, and fruit out all day. The pool was nice and a good temperature. It was nice to have a frig in the room and free wifi. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any family going to the Mall of America. Perfect location and great accomadations.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysreadyfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

First let's talk location. This property is on the east side of the Mall of America. They offer shuttle service, but to be honest with you, if it were not for the traffic that you would have to dodge, the mall is within walking distance in nice weather;our room overlooked the mall and IKEA! (This shopper was happy.) Second, it's by the airport.. and again, they offer shuttle service.

The breakfast was nicer than expected. Eggs, waffles, bagels, bacon, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, the whole 9 yards. Yes, it's what you expect, plus. They leave fruit, coffee and iced water out 24 hours.

The staff, particularly Carl and Mike, and then Colin were extremely accomodating. Without going into details, they (on two separate occasions) went above and beyond what anyone would expect for customer service. They are definitely customer oriented. The shuttle driver, whose name I don't know, was great. (He has a signature moustache.) Although I didn't use the shuttle, I talked with him in the lobby. Whoever does the hiring/ training for this location knows what they are doing.

Although our trip to Minnesota was not perfect (thank you Delta Airlines for beng HORRIBLE,) our experience with this Fairfield Inn helped make the trip, as a whole, terrific.

Ok.. you want some negatives (of course things aren't always perfect.) This Fairfield Inn doesn't supply lotion in the rooms. There-- you have it. No lotion.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChloesMomBetsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Mall of America
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott Bloomington Mall of America
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport/Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America
Address: 2401 American Blvd E, Bloomington, MN 55425-1317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#16 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for a hotel near Mall of America will enjoy our location next to the giant shopping center. Guests will be within a 3 minute walk to the MOA and IKEA. The Marriott hotel is also near the Minneapolis St. Paul International Airport. Our Bloomington, MN hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service to the Mall of America and the MSP Airport for your convenience. When you stay with us, you'll also be minutes from the fun of Nickelodeon Universe and the Sea Life Aquarium. Guests can also use the Mall of America light rail to take a quick trip to downtown Minneapolis with stops at the Nicollet Mall and Target Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America Hotel Bloomington
Fairfield Inn Minneapolis
Fairfield Inn Bloomington
Fairfield Bloomington
Bloomington Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing