We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are two Crown Plaza's in Bloomington. Don't stay at this one. !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fifteen minutes from the mall. While they run a shuttle at various times during the day, it's never at a convenient time. This is a hotel that used to be known as Crown Plaza Airport/MOA, the owners of CP renamed it Bloomington West. The other CP now bears the airport/ MOA designation. It is WEST, way west. It's being refurbished, but that didn't help us. We drove ourselves to the Mall, as
that is why we came.

Service is spotty. I went to the bar to get a drink and was ignored. The manager had to be called to unlock the taps and fridge. The front desk was very accommodating when the other CP, the nice one, picked her up and took her to their hotel. They had to call the driver from our hotel to go get her from the other hotel when I complained it was misbranded. It took 45 minutes there and back to get her. A total waste of time, that I believe needs to be resolved. At this time it is still listed incorrectly on travel sites. The hotel is sub par in more ways than you can imagine. Don't stay here.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sunburntbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneFOM, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We would like to apologize for the confusion between the two properties and understand the frustration it may cause. Our hotel name has been Crowne Plaza Bloomington MSP Airport/ MOA for the past 5 years. The Crowne Plaza Suites MSP Airport/ Mall of America rebranded from a Holiday Inn in 2011. It is our hotel policy to allow any guest who unknowingly booked the incorrect hotel to cancel their reservation with no penalty. Room rates, however, may differ as each hotel has different pricing structures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 867 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Made a quick trip to Minneapolis this past weekend and stayed with my favorite "hotel family", the Crowne Plaza Bloomington. I had the pleasure to be assigned a room on the newly renovated executive floor which I had not been on before. I was extremely impressed with their newly renovated rooms. The bathrooms have been totally transformed into an almost spa like ambiance with a large glass tiled shower with glass doors, Pendant lighting creates a soft glow above the shallow rectangular sink. A wood-like ceramic tile has been put down on the bathroom floor as well as the room entryway. Comfortable easy chairs have been added to the rooms a new addition from my last visit, a relaxing space to sit and read or watch a movie on the large TV. As usual, the beds were extremely comfortable and the sheets soft and comfortable. Breakfast Saturday morning was delicious, and I noticed they are now cooking fresh pancakes for their breakfast buffet. The scrambled eggs were some of the best I have ever had. The friendly staff encountered, including Ashley, Douglas, Jill and Travis went out of the way to make me feel at home during my weekend stay. Thanks so much!

Room Tip: The beds here are very comfortable, and combined with the soft sheets really give you a great night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJGGSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you so very much. We are always making little improvements. We are extremely glad you enjoy them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Called multiple times ahead of time to ensure that the two rooms I had booked were connecting. After arriving at 11pm we got to our rooms and guess what.... The rooms were not connecting. So we moved rooms at now close to midnight... got to our room and I must say we were disappointed...the rooms smelled musty like a basement that had been flooded. The curtains were stained. Overall very poor Crown Plaza. Don't stay here.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank GeraldZIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneFOM, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We apologize for not fulfilling your request for connecting rooms and that our cleanliness was not up to standard. The hotel has addressed these issues and used them as a training tool moving forward. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and that you will consider using the hotel the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Rooms were clean and staff extremely friendly. Great pool and easy access to the mall which was nice for my family. Bar staff and atmosphere was great! Nice place to stop and watch the game before bed. I think from the minute we stepped foot through the doors until the moment we left the service and staff were phenomenal and family friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GretchenW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for the nice review. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Whenever I travel to our Corporate Offices I request to stay here. I love that they have a Women's Only floor for the female business traveler and the staff goes above and beyond to accommodate your every need. Trans Supervisor Doug is ready and willing to shuttle you wherever you need to go- saving me the hassle of renting a car and figuring out traffic patterns. He'll get you to and from the office, airport, even the mall on-time, every time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEMRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Checked in to the hotel and noted that the were an IHG members so with our status we were able to get a free upgrade to a suite. Room was very nice, sheets were soft and bed was comfortable. Room had everything you require. A couple things to note, they do not have free breakfast and their resturant and bar are a tad pricey, but there are plenty of places to eat close by. Hotel is suited in a business park about 6 mins drive away from Mall of America

Room Tip: They apparently have rooms specially for having a good nights sleep, as well as female only floors i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a1wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

From the minute we stepped foot through the doors until the moment we left the service and staff were phenomenal. Everyone we encountered was so friendly and down to earth, they go out of their way to make you feel at home. I would bring my family back in a heart beat. A big thank you to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3beautys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
1.0 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington

Address: 5401 Green Valley Drive, Bloomington, MN 55437-1002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#11 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: $107 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Crowne Plaza Bloomington is The Place to Meet. Whether you re here on a business trip, attending a meeting, on vacation or shopping at the Mall of America , your comfort and success are paramount. Located in the heart of the Bloomington, MN business district and just minutes from the Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport (MSP) and the Mall of America (MOA) with easy access to both downtown Minneapolis and St. Paul. Complimentary transportation is available to MSP Airport as well as Mall of America. The Crowne Plaza Bloomington hotel near Mall of America features a contemporary hotel design and leading edge technology that includes complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout, 42 high definition televisions in every room, a state-of- the-art fitness center with Precor equipment, core and balance accessories, and a Jr. Olympic sized indoor pool. Comfortably appointed hotel rooms, a full service restaurant and lounge, and the Priority Club Rewards hotel loyalty program makes this hotel The Place to Meet. The hotel was featured on NBC s Today Show for its unique women s floor, featured as one of the Best Airport Hotels by Business Week Online, rated one of the Top Hotels by the MSP/St Paul Business Journal, and the recipient of the Meeting Service Excellence Award from Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Bloomington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing