We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accomodations on the 6th flr”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great accomodations on the 6th flr”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I spent one night there earlier this week. Let me preface this review by the fact I am a Platinum Priority Club member .... so we got a free upgrade to the top floor (not key coded access nor hospitality room) which seemed to have larger rooms with la oveseat and two chairs surrounding a very large flat screen HDTV. I also got a choice of other freebies and picked the free house wine since the only free domestic tap beer was Bud Lite (Summit is made 10 miles away but apparently not a domestic beer ?!). There was a free breakfast buffet option but not room service so we did not use it since we had plans for a event lunch the next day and paying an extra $10+ for a spouse to eat breakfast did not make sense. The room was huge and the king bed was very comfy with extra large pillows. Lighting was good too - this was not a business stay so we did not use the desk or internet. The bathroom was nice but not real large ... my favorite is a bathroom with the tub/shower and toilet in a separate room from the sink and unfortunately many do not offer that. There were "goodies" galore: high end shampoo, conditioner, lotion of course but also a scented pillow spray, chocolate, makeup mini-kit, and more. Excellent large soft towels plus there was a single bath robe hanging there but it was so warm this week it did not appeal even though the room was very cool and comfortable although the AC fan was fairly noisy.

The staff was friendly and in the morning the waitress went the extra mile to get us free lobby coffees from the back room; we saw it sitting there when we took a quick walk to the car but 10 min later it was gone, apparently only out until 9am. We also used the jetted hot tub which was large and had really good jet action on sore backs & legs. Lots of parking although the walk up hill to the lobby could be slick in winter. Our main comparison is to the Madison, WI Crowne Plaza where we'd stayed in past years and is a much larger elegant lobby/atrium and totally different style of hotel: it has a dark wood look while this property is much more modern with a sleek Euro lighting look.

One gotcha: pay attention to the "West" part of the hotel name as the Trip Advisor name is more appropriate than what I saw on the IHG Crowne Plaza web site: BLOOMINGTON MSP AIRPORT / MOA (Mall Of America). This hotel is at least 8 miles west of the MSP airport terminal and 6 miles from MOA on a very heavily traffic I-494. There is another Crowne Plaza much closer to those. It was not a problem for us having a lunch meeting just 4 miles north of the hotel off highway 100 the next day, but if you expect a short no traffic shuttle to MSP or MOA there are many hotels much closer. That said, this was an very good hotel for money spent and our purposes on this stay - we'd recommend it and if needing to stay in the SW metro it fits.

Room Tip: We heard no I=494 noise but probably a room farthest to the south is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SE_MN_warmth_seekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the review. I'm glad we were able to make your visit a great one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    245
    74
    27
    29
See reviews for
154
127
62
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

At first when we pulled up to the hotel, the outside was not very eye catching BUT when we got inside I was very pleased. The lobby was clean and the staff was great. We got checked in early with no problem. The staff and front desk manager were a huge help with any questions we had. The room was very clean & the pool. The Shuttle driver was OUTSTANDING!!! He told us great places to eat & go. He was so outgoing and friendly. This is my new hotel to stay at when we visit the MOA!! THANKS AGAIN TO THE STAFF AND MANAGER FOR A GREAT STAY!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manager29873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are happy we made your stay a geat one and we are all happy to know that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed with a Park and Fly package on Saturday August 17th. Once we checked in we parked in the designated parking lot only to get out of the vehicle to a tire going flat. I had ran over something in the lot! We went and got Travis, from the front desk, to help. We called roadside assistance to come and Travis said they would take care of our room !!! He brought us bottles of water out to the parking lot as we were getting the tire changed! We cannot Thank You enough!!! Travis is an exemplary employee!! The Crowne Plaza is our destination stay in the Twin Cities!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Green1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much. It was the least I could do. We just wanted to make sure your trip started on the right foot and not on a flat tire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a great property to stay at. They staff here is more than outgoing to make sure that guests are taken care of in a first class manner. I stayed here with my wife on the way back from a family vacation in Northern Minnesota. The value we got for the rate was awesome. Would highly recommend this property to anyone who needs to stay in the Minneapolis area. Close proximity to 494 and can get anywhere in the metro quickly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Only let down was 15 mins from the mall BUT they made up for it with their service and wonderful
Facility!!! Have been coming to MOA for the past 15 years and this has got to be the best yet! Check in was friendly, accommodating, and pleasant! Rooms were clean and working for a hotel I'm very picky knowing what typically goes on but I was very pleasantly surprised! Housekeeping was very thorough even with refreshing our room during our stay! Kudos to the team and only wished I booked an extra day to spend just in the hotel! The night my hubby and I picked up drinks to bring to our room after our swim the nice oriental bartender was very friendly and gave my kids bar snack to munch on! Maintenance was cleaning pool and jacuzzi Monday and again friendly! No wonder they were torchbearers and should be again! Thank you and can't wait to return!!! The whole hotel team we encountered were great!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Wow! Thank you. I have shown your review all around the hotel to all the staff. We are glad we could make your trip a success. We can't wait for you to come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Realized after check in this is an old Holiday Inn from the 70's. I stayed here when I was 10 and am now 48. I think it was called the Airport #2 Holiday Inn. Hotel has been upgraded nicely even thought it is older. It felt more like a Hotel Indigo than a Crowne Plaza. Very boutique-y instyle. My big compalint is no bath tubs in the new rooms. Although the bathrooms are lovely be ware they are shower only (just like Hotel Indigo's). If you don't have a car you won't want to stay here as it is not really within walking distance to much. I thought I was at the Apple Tree Sq. location Crowne Plaza when I booked. That is very close to Airport and MOA however it does cost more(naturally) due to the proximity to these locations. Staff was very nice and restaurant staff nice as well. Problems with noise from construction at present. This was not made known to me upon check-in or on the web site, as well as the shower only thing. Very Clean hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasFamilyOf4FromSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that our hotel was not to your taste. We do appreciate the feedback though. Just to let you know incase you come to visit again in the future, we are leaving half of our rooms with bath tubs for those guests that prefer bath tubs. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverbank, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

You won't need a rental car here. Wonderful shuttle goes to and from airport and Mall of America I rented a car but didn't need it. Great hotel with comfy beds and pillows. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Restaurant, bar, fitness room and nice pool. Will return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. It's always good to hear we helped to make your trip a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Minneapolis Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
Address: 5401 Green Valley Drive, Bloomington, MN 55437-1002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#11 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Crowne Plaza Bloomington is The Place to Meet. Whether you re here on a business trip, attending a meeting, on vacation or shopping at the Mall of America , your comfort and success are paramount. Located in the heart of the Bloomington, MN business district and just minutes from the Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport (MSP) and the Mall of America (MOA) with easy access to both downtown Minneapolis and St. Paul. Complimentary transportation is available to MSP Airport as well as Mall of America. The Crowne Plaza Bloomington hotel near Mall of America features a contemporary hotel design and leading edge technology that includes complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout, 42 high definition televisions in every room, a state-of- the-art fitness center with Precor equipment, core and balance accessories, and a Jr. Olympic sized indoor pool. Comfortably appointed hotel rooms, a full service restaurant and lounge, and the Priority Club Rewards hotel loyalty program makes this hotel The Place to Meet. The hotel was featured on NBC s Today Show for its unique women s floor, featured as one of the Best Airport Hotels by Business Week Online, rated one of the Top Hotels by the MSP/St Paul Business Journal, and the recipient of the Meeting Service Excellence Award from Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Bloomington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing