We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Tower, MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

We have spent more than 100 nights at this hotel over the years and have never been disappointed. WE arrived at 3 and were assigned room 304. This room is in a nook that prevents it from getting any natural light and faces the roof of the building. We asked that it be changed and were assigned another room. This room was great, but the bed was awful - very soft and uncomfortable. When I asked about it they said all the mattresses were the same. I spent our entire trip in pain from my back from sleeping on a too soft mattress. This has NEVER been a problem at this hotel, including the last time we stayed there, only 2 months ago. When we set out our dinner the second evening I reached into the dishwasher (which said"I'm Clean!") and found the entire load full of dirty dishes. Housekeeping had obviously ran the cycle because all the dishes now had baked on food. When I mentioned both my concerns at checkout I was blown off with a laugh about the bed "Yeah, a lot of people think our beds are too soft". When I asked why this had not been a concern before I was told that They must have left the boards under the beds. She then went on to say that when people raised that issue they put boards under the mattress. When I asked why we were not offered that option she said Oh I guess they didn't know. Next time we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgawboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVSparks, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserve. Because vacations are very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at Homewood Suites. I will be reaching out to you in order to make this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    281
    119
    53
    27
See reviews for
432
167
46
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

This was a great deal, I booked through the AAA website and got it for $99/night, now with all the taxes it was $18 more per night. But you get a very good breakfast (get there early if you want fresh fruit). And Mon to Thurs, they have a dinner meal. It is right across the street from the MOA, and the light rail station is right across the street. They will also shuttle you to the MOA on the hour and pick you up same time. The room was fine, the TV’s were old and the room could have used some paint and touch-up on the wall dents. The staff do you dishes in the dishwasher in your room daily. Change linen every 3 days. Pool was nice, but no hot tub. It is connected to Chevy’s (Mexican chain rest) and IHOP and TGIF is within the block.
Overall, a good deal, as we were too busy to spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopy5176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

Highly Recommended. Will use Homewood Suite chain again.

Excellent Location, Good Large and Clean Rooms, Good Breakfast, Excellent Staff, Free Wifi and Free local drop/pickup service. Room servicing was excellent.

2 mins walk across the road to Mall of America and the Malls bus/tram station for downtown etc. I viewed this as a suite hotel that had an optional breakfast and evening dinner service but in the end I never used the kitchen in the suite.

A nice touch is the hot breakfast options varies every day so you dont get bored. Same with the evening snack, but i only tried that once. Chevys, IHOP, TGI across the carpark, and about 3million other food places in the mall just 5 mins across the road.

Free Wifi in room is wired only, but works well. Business Centre has PCs with printers used by everyone for printing flight checkins,

I used the free drop-off service every day (office 2kms away) and it was like a free taxi service with pleasant and helpful and chatty drivers (girls and boys) very pleasnat and helpful with a human touch, not the normal standoff-ish "toe the company line" attitude. They were great. Front desk staff great with a human touch too. The drivers and their attitude really are great ambassadors for the brand though - other hotels should take note of this.

Interestingly it seemed that unlike most hotels this one is say 90% full during the week and always 100% full at the weekends due to people coming to visit the Mall. I think this gets worse as you approach Christmas months.

All in all the Homewood Suites Mall of America did somehow feel like "walking home, feeling relaxed" when u came back in the evening. I know this sounds cheesey, but that really is how it felt to me, Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed here for a few nights in August and really liked this hotel. It was within walking distance to the mall and the rooms are all suites with kitchenettes. The morning complimentary breakfast was good quality and had something for everybody. They have freshly brewed coffee in lobby 24/7. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay close to mall.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mauifreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

Some positives about the hotel: The location was excellent with easy walking distance to the Mall of America. The suite was large. A living room, kitchen with eating/work area as well as a separate bedroom. There was a separate vanity area and bathroom area. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet, especially considering the location near the airport. The staff of the hotel was friendly.

The negative for me was the lack of wireless Internet access int he guest rooms. I travel with an iPad, so this was very inconvenient for me. I was surprised that a hotel that caters to long-term business travelers wouldn't have wireless Internet access in the rooms. I was told that wireless access would be installed in the future. Other negatives were the lack of a whirlpool in the swimming area and the outdated television sets, and lack of many popular cable channels.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rss786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

We've stayed and several Homewood Suites and they are usually very comfortable and nice; and this one was too. There was a problem with our reservation. We arrived fairly late and the room was not the configuration we had specified in our reservation a month before. Initially they said that everything was sold out and that they couldn't change anything. But they got ahold of the GM by phone and somehow came up with a way to get us into the room we had reserved so all's well that ends well. Then they sent us a bag of cookies and a handwritten apology. We didn't need that but it was a nice touch. We were visiting the Mall of America and it is very convenient for that.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjpremierontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

I recently stayed here for 4 nights and the room was nice and big. I didn't go to Mall of America but it was right across the street. Check in was easy. I ate next door at Chevy's (not that good), the dining nearby is not very good. Breakfast had lots of food but very very crowded, thank goodness they have take out boxes so you can eat in your room. Weekday evenings they have dinner. I was there for one-more italian style food and it was pretty good. Pool was nice. Internet in business center was slow. Heard some noise from the ceiling (sometimes it sounded like someone was dropping stuff but wasn't too bad), but nothing from room next door (I did have an end unit so only one neighbor). I stayed here as a base to do some outside the Twin Cities sightseeing and also a Twins game at Target Field. Overall, I am happy I chose this hotel. Easy parking, easy to get around, and I had never drived in Minneapolis before.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank proftravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Mall of America
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Mall of America
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Minneapolis Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America
Address: 2261 Killebrew Dr, Bloomington, MN 55425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#12 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites Minneapolis Mall of America is located directly across the street from America's largest indoor shopping complex. We are centrally located and only a few miles from Minneapolis-St Paul and minutes from the airport. Guest enjoy the comforts of home with our one or two-bedroom suites that include a stove, refrigerator and dishwasher as well as complimentary wireless internet. Complimentary full hot breakfast is served daily with free evening dinner available Monday-Thursday. Park and Fly packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Minneapolis - Mall Of America Hotel Bloomington
Homewood Suites Minneapolis
Homewood Suites Bloomington
Homewood Bloomington
Hilton Bloomington
Bloomington Homewood Suites
Bloomington Hilton
Homewood Suites By Hilton Minneapolis - Mall Of America Bloomington, MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing