We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Sleep”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our family of five stayed on a Saturday night while attending a concert at the Target Center. This hotel was very clean and well-kept. The bed was very comfortable. My husband, (bad back) said he could not remember the last time he'd slept so well. Hallways were quiet too. The only problems we encountered were that we couldn't check in until 4. (Priceline had said check-in was 3pm.) There was a nice lobby with a fireplace and a computer, so we sat and waited. The gentleman behind the desk gave us some free Haagen Daz, for.which my kids were grateful. (Priceline also tells you that a rollaway is available, but apparently that is against firecode here. A Priceline issue, which doesn't reflect on Residence Inn at all.) We got back from the concert about 1130pm and there was one spot left to park: the 10 minutes only "check in" spot. The same gentleman from earlier said it was fine to park there. (Thank you.) The next morning a blond lady was extremely helpful in suggesting a breakfast place, along with directions. (There was a free breakfast in the lobby, but we had to meet someone.) Her suggestion, Patrick's, was a real GEM. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Don't count on a rollaway being available. They are against firecode.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medtary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynMurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, but we so sorry for any delay you experienced at check-in. Delays at check-in are not typical and we almost always have a room ready unless there is a specific request for room type or location. We are also sorry that we do not have rollaways. As an alternative, all of our rooms do have sofa sleepers.We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    80
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
97
23
3
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
484 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We rented 3 double room suites from here in January, for four nights, for a funeral. The wait staffs in the dining room breakfast room were phenomenal. There were a total of 14 people with 5 little children. The staff were always willing to move tables and chairs, or bring things extra for the kids. They were just fantastic. The front desk staff were also pleasant and helpful, but we did not have a lot of interaction with them. The rooms were very nice, and the mattresses were comfortable. Also nice sized pool and hot tub (both indoors). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owenthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynMurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are thrilled that you and your family had a wonderful experience at our hotel and are honored that you would consider us one of the best hotels that you have stayed at. We thank you for taking the time to write about your interaction with our team and are happy they made a positive impact during your stay. We are also glad that your family were comfortable and enjoyed the amenities of our hotel, including our breakfast and pool. Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, KS
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stay here for the 2nd bedroom. The first night the rooms were cold and never warmed up too much. The second night we raised the thermostat, and the 2nd bedroom was still cold. Granted it was a very cold night in Minneapolis. The outlets were worn and loose in several places. The complimentary breakfast area had a personnel problem. Three of the four attendants were off sick. We decided not to waste an hour of our day and went down the street and paid for breakfast. On our next visit we may try the Homewood Suites instead.

Room Tip: There is also a 2nd Residence Inn in Edina, MN. It is not far from this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindyTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynMurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are terribly sorry that you encountered problems during your stay; they certainly are not typical and would like to be able to address them. It is true that the weather has been record-breaking cold here in Minnesota; however, our room temperatures should not have been uncomfortable. There may have had a thermostat issue, which our maintenance team can remedy pretty quickly along with any loose outlets. I do apologize that the room was not up to our usually high standards. I also apologize that breakfast was busier than normal and that you were not able to enjoy it. I would love to have the opportunity to talk to you more about your stay and would love to have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel so that you can have a better experience that is more typical of our hotel. Feel free to contact me at the hotel if you would like to discuss your hotel experience further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is our third year bringing our family (children and grandchildren) to the Mall of America for Christmas. This was our second year staying at this Residence Inn. We have 3 families, 14 people total so the 2 bedroom suites for each family really fit the bill. There is plenty of room to spread out. Rooms were clean and well stocked. The front desk staff was excellent meeting and exceeding our requests. Shuttle drivers made extra trips to accommodate our large group never making us feel like we were putting them out. I would recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynMurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience on Trip Advsior. We are so glad that you and your family have enjoyed your last two stays at our hotel and that you have found our hotel clean and comfortable. We are thrilled our service team was able to exceed your expectations and hope that we will have the opportunity to do do again next year during your annua trip to Mall of America. Thank you again for writing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 for a night, as we were flying out of MSP the next morning. We booked this because it offered 2 bedroom suites, and we wanted a separate room for our daughter. The room was very tired and dated. It was not very clean, and there was "stuff" on the walls in the bathroom, and hair, etc. There were dirty sheets left in a chair. For the price paid (over $200), it was not up to standards at all.

The walls are PAPER thin, and we could hear people running up and down the halls, people talking, TVs, etc. The beds were HORRIBLE and well past their useful life. This hotel is in desperate need of a face lift!

The hotel is on the border of a sketchy area, not very nice at all.

Breakfast was decent, but nothing special.

There are many other hotels in Minneapolis, and we will not be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGatorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynMurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent experience at our hotel. Exceeding our guests’ expectations is very important to us and we would like to apologize for not exceeding yours. Please know that yor stay was not typical. I would love to be able to address your concerns and talk to you mroe about your hotel experience. I would welcome you to call me at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as it was close to the Mall of America, we wanted a little larger room, and we are Marriott rewards members. We very much enjoyed the clean spacious rooms. The pool and hot tub were also very nice. Easy access to the mall about 1/2 mile away or so. Out expectations were the typical Residence Inn standards and this hotel delivered. They do offer a free shuttle service to the mall but we chose to drive ourselves. This proved a mistake on Saturday was the mall was extremely busy and
parking was almost full. Should have used the shuttle.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northwoodswis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynMurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Bloomington during your recent trip to Mall of America and for being loyal Marriott Rewards members. We are so glad that you appreciated the extra space our rooms provide, the cleanliness of our hotel and as well as our convenient location. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel's services and amenities, but we are so sorry that parking at the mall was busy. We would be happy to shuttle you to and from during your next trip. Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

It was perfect location to go to Mall of America and IKEA. The reason we picked for two couples in the same room with two rooms separated with the living and kitchen in the middle. Good privacy. Other than that, the restaurant around there is fair unless you eat either at MOA or IKEA.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynMurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive experinece on Tripadvisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the space and unique configuration of our two-bedroom suites. We are glad that they offered you the ability to share a room with your friends and still offer enough privacy. We thank you again for reviewing our property and hope that you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America
0.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Mall of America
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Airport Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport/Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America

Property: Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America
Address: 7850 Bloomington Ave S, Bloomington, MN 55425-1112 (Formerly Residence Inn Minneapolis Bloomington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Residence Inn
Residence Inn Bloomington By Mall Of America MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing