We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't complain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Minneapolis Airport Marriott
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Reviewed February 23, 2013

On an unusually wet and snowy night in late January, we elected to stay near the airport to be certain to catch the plane. We sometimes use the Marriott at the Newark airport for the same reason. I don't know the history of this hotel, but it does indeed seem grafted together, with several small elevators operating from seemingly odd corners of the buildings. Once inside the room, though, we realized we'd made a good choice: it was comfortable, clean, and sizeable. On an interior courtyard, it was also very quiet (albeit with less traffic that particular night). We didn't eat here, or use the pool or the fitness room, but I can tell you the staff were outstanding. Misunderstanding the shuttle bus schedule, we missed the one we needed to take to make our plane; the doorman immediately called us a cab and it came right away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NolaHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 526 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Quick summary - probably the worst marriott experience I have had in 20 years.

The shuttle service runs twice an hour so they told me I had to wait 28 minutes for the next shuttle. I took a cab and paid $25 to get to the hotel.

When I checked in the clerk didn't even tell me where the concierge lounge was.

I ordered a cheeseburger cooked medium and when it showed up it was raw through the entire center of the burger. I suspect it was probably frozen and they didn't get it all the way cooked through. The room service guy was the only pleasant point in the entire experience.

The room looked like someone had just pulled the sheets up and there was no shampoo in the room.

Walls were thin - could hear the people around me.

Never staying there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lronn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was among 60 or so Delta passengers stranded in the middle of the night Minneapolis. The airline booked me a room at this hotel and I ended up being very happy they did.

Here's what impressed me: The shuttle driver and front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful, even though it was close to 1 AM and freezing rain was falling when I arrived The management had called in extra front desk people to help expediently check in the influx of waylaid passengers, and my room was large, well-appointed clean and quiet.

I plan to stay here again when in the Twin Cities, although I'm hoping the next time we be a planned stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The layout of this hotel is very strange. Many corridors and hallways that wrap around several outdoor courtyard areas. You can tell it is a renovated older facility.

Check-in & front desk
Quick and painless. Was upgraded to concierge level. They have folks manning the door and valet. I ran out of shaving cream and they had it at the front desk for free, as well as a small store of items for purchase next to the front desk. Nice front lobby area and small bar.

Rooms
On the small side. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was very small, and did not have a fan which was a nuisance when showering. Standard amenities - small fridge, coffee maker. No microwave though. The ice machine was broken on my wing, but the adjacent wing had an operational one.

Concierge
Very nice option. Good breakfast in the AM (fruit, eggs, granola, yogurt, etc.). Nice evening appetizers and cocktails as well. Nice option to visit instead of staying in my room since I was there for a week.

Gym/Pool
Above average gym with treadmills, ellipticals, and weights/machines. Didn't use the pool and hot tub but it looked nice as well.

Overall, nice hotel. No major complaints. Not as new as others I've stayed at, but still good. Directly across from the Mall of America, although I did not visit. Would return on business again, although I'm also thinking about checking out the Residence Inn Marriott that is around the corner due to the small size of the rooms on long stays.

Room Tip: Concierge floors if you have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MassIS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Yes this is a hotel that needs some renovation, particularly the elevators - they rattle and are embarrassing for such a nice hotel. However my room, which was upgraded to a suite, was perfect. Very clean, very up to date and quiet.

Every staff member I met smiled and asked if they could help me in any way. Excellent service. The Bistro 79 restaurant served a decent Caesar salad but the breakfast buffet was a bit disappointing. The pork sausages weren't quite cooked through and the omelet chef was missing for five minutes when we wanted omelets.

All together I was satisfied and given the proximity to the airport will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stay at a lot of Marriots. This property is a disappointment. It's very old a run down, looks to have been remodeled into a newer property at some point..

Lots of wear and tear, and a very scrambled set up.

Many better in MPLS

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Snell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here overnight when I missed a connection. Paid about 100 dollars last minute. This hotel is in walking distance of the Mall of America (even in the middle of winter). They offer a free shuttle to and from the airport, which is about 8 min. I would say if you are just coming to the city to hit the mall this is the place for you. There is a pool and hot tub that is surprisingly open till 1 am. Decent little lounge and restaurant. All in all a good stay. I have no complaints, good sleep, good times.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mspmn, General Manager at Minneapolis Airport Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very proud of our onsite restaurant Bistro 79. The food and staff are exceptional. Thank you for pointing out our convenient location to the airport and the Mall of America. We hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport/Mall of America
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Minneapolis Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minneapolis Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Airport Marriott

Address: 2020 American Blvd E, Bloomington, MN 55425-1239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range: $140 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 472
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the top hotels near Minneapolis St. Paul International Airport and the Mall of America, the Minneapolis Airport Marriott offers complimentary shuttle service to MSP Airport and the Mall of America. Across the street from IKEA, located off of 494 between 35E & 35W, the Minneapolis Airport Marriott is a great place to stay when visiting the Twin Cities. Guest rooms are equipped with luxurious amenities and high-tech business services make it the perfect destination for business and leisure. 19,000 square feet of event space can be transformed to your specifications for business meetings, social events and of course weddings. Enjoy our two lush outdoor courtyards perfect for outdoor wedding ceremonies or receptions. Discover a new standard for hotels on your next trip to the Twin Cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Minneapolis Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Minneapolis Airport Hotel Bloomington
Marriott Hotel Minneapolis Airport
Marriott Hotel Bloomington
Marriott Bloomington
Bloomington Marriott
Minneapolis Airport Marriott Bloomington, MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing