We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly filthy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Chicago metro area
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Utterly filthy!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stay at Holiday Inns a lot, and have found they vary from location to location. In this case, we can honestly say that the filth and rude customer service have convinced us to never stay at a Holiday Inn property again.

Check in took 20 minutes, with only one customer in front of us due to an understaffed front desk. We could have dealt with this, until we walked through the hotel and saw the room & facilities (see photos).

The room smelled musty and dirty, carpet was filthy, bathroom had mold, broken fixtures (photo) peeling paint and a bathtub that looked like it was older than we are (in our 40s) with peeling sealant and cracked porcelain. We refused to even take off our shoes in this place, it was so dirty.

The pool is miniscule and even my 9 and 13 yr old sons refused to walk barefoot in the area AND to go in the pool (photos). There is a weird, dark restaurant seating area next to the pool area as well as several large groups eating and dropping food everywhere near the pool. There was no one on duty or attempting to keep the area picked up.

Finally, the wifi bandwidth is a JOKE...my husband is a physician who needs access to his health network files at a moment's notice when he is traveling. Over the 2 days we stuck it out, he was only able to log on once, despite being connected. The front desk told him just to "sit in the lobby, it's better there". Unfortunately, due to legal health privacy laws, he is unable to sit in the lobby to work online, which is WHY we booked a hotel w/property-wide wifi in the first place!

The Green Mill restaurant, which is affiliated w the hotel and where you get use your breakfast vouchers was equally filthy and after getting 3 of our 4 orders wrong (twice!), we left and went somewhere we had to pay more to eat.

After two nights, our family unanimously decided to check out, mid-stay. We paid more, but very much enjoyed the Best Western directly next to MOA.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We would like to sincerely apologize for all the issues you encountered during your stay. We will be sure to address all issues with the corresponding department heads to resolve the problems. We strive for 100% satisfaction and are always trying to better ourselves. Again, we are very sorry and we hope you reconsider Holiday Inn as a brand. We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    87
    65
    26
    10
See reviews for
89
42
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My girlfriend and I were up for a concert and stayed for a couple of nights. The whirlpool suite was great. The room was clean, and the staff was excellent. I did not go to the Green Mill but have in the past and it is also great. I am going back in a couple of weeks to stay again. This will be my hotel of choice when traveling to the cities.

Room Tip: For couples, I would recommend the whirlpool suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattBrunick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We sincerely appreciate all of your kind words about our facility and staff! Our staff always strives for excellence and your generous words remind us why we do! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our 2 room Jacuzzi Suite; we find that it is always an excellent choice for comfort and space. We are so happy that you are planning to come visit us again soon and could not be happier to be your "Go-To" hotel. Thank you for your loyalty and for staying at the Holiday Inn I-35W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Not a bad place. Strange location, but right off I-35W. Room was good...fridge and microwave....clean and cool. Beds were very nice. Check-in was good....very nice workers. TV service was poor....in and out all three days we were there. Front desk guy said to complain to DirecTV...sure. Pools was very, very small. Nice area but, it was the smallest hotel pool that I have ever seen. My kids laughed at it. The maximum capacity was 16, seriously.
The only real complaint was that there was no hot water on Sunday AM for all of us to take a shower. Completely cold. My wife called and was actually told her that a morning thunder storm had "blown out the pilot light". Come on, really? Maintenance guy said that everyone checked out at 11:00 a.m. so there was not enough hot water to handle the load and we had to wait about 45-60 min. That could not be the first time that has happened.
The guy was there to fix a clogged stool very quickly...almost Jimmy John's quick. Greatly appreciated.
The plus was the resturant.....good service and food! We got at 15% coupon and kids ate free. Excellent deal.
It really depends on what you pay here. $70-80 or less OK.....over $100 probably not worth it.
Just my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castanza0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback, we appreciate all comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed our on-site restaurant, as well as the coupons you received. We appreciate your loyalty to the Holiday Inn chain and are glad that those IHG Rewards coupons made your stay more enjoyable. We apologize for the issues with the television, we recently had our provider out to the property and all the issues were taken care of. However, the way your grievance was handled was not okay. We will be sure to address the issue with our staff, so that it doesn't happen again. Also, we are sincerely sorry about the water temperature. We completely understand how this would affect your morning. Unforeseen maintenance issues can really change your outlook of our property. We hope that you return to our property, so we can show you the experience you deserve. Thank you again for staying at the Holiday Inn I-35W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is just a so-so Holiday Inn. The primary negative was more the over-all grimness and atmosphere of the hotel. Check-in seemed to go smoothly, but the elevator was strangely slow. . . . slow enough that the other occupant shared her experience that her hotel room had been freezing, the AC was set so high. So I expected to be cold, until we opened the door and felt like we were hit by an oven blast! The desk clerk was nice enough, sent someone up to fix it, who took apart the thermostat, took the grill/front panel off the AC. Just kind of a nuisance, waiting for the hotel to be "repaired.. . . . " I was disappointed there was not free breakfast at this HI, but there was a Green Mill on premises. We first ordered coffee to go. . . . . and waited and waited. . . and again got to hear about how slow the hotel and restaurant were. The next day, the second day, which was to be the "free " night on our priority club plan, started with a curt phone call from the desk clerk, chastising us for still being in the room and told that we should have checked out an hour ago. Strangely, I'd asked whether there would be a problem with the second days separate reservation, and told "no." When I explained that we had 2 reservations, he still took us to task for "not checking out anyway and to come right down." No apologies on his part, just principal-like setting us straight. These were not big deal complaints, just enough to make the experience kind of creepy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela2932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay. We apologize about the maintenance issues that occurred. We try to catch these things before we check a guest into a room, and we apologize that the problem affected your stay. We also would like to apologize for the issue with your second reservation. The situation was obviously not handled like it should have been. This will be brought to the attention of the department head, so we can keep this from happening again. Our location is a full service Holiday Inn, which is why a continental breakfast is not offered. You will find that locations without a restaraunt typically have the free breakfast. We hope that the problems you encountered do not discourage you from staying with us in the future, We hope to have you back and give you the experience that you deserve. Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn I35W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Well, location is sort of a bummer also. Literally just off of 35W, so it's convenient in that sense. But it's in an industrial park.

Building seems a little on the older side, but not enough to turn you away. Rooms are comfortable, A/C unit blows cold (summer), nice amenities. The pool area/atrium is cool - lots of families stay in the poolside rooms w/sliding doors.

Internet is hit-or-miss. Full signal strength - usually - but doesn't seem capable of handling much bandwidth. If you're going to do any iTunes shopping, you might want to clear your schedule and grab a stress-squeezie. Hopefully my next stay here will have smoother internet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhatHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We are happy that our amenities were accommodating during your stay. We are also glad that you enjoyed our pool area! I will be sure to forward your comments about our internet onto the Chief Engineer. We apologize if the internet speed affected your stay. There tend to be areas of the hotel that have stronger internet connection. During your next visit, inform the front desk and we can try to get you in a room with a better signal. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We found everything great with this hotel, from check in to check out. The room was nice with all the amenities and a quiet room with a very comfortable bed and clean room. We like the hotel for its central location to most anything in the downtown, airport, mall, or soth Mpls. areas. We didn't use the shuttle for the mall or airport so are unable to judge on that particular amenity. However, we did use the shuttle for a corporate arranged amenity. In short, it was a display of a hotel at its worst. Trying to make arrangements was met with me being told to be downstairs for pick up and they might be going at that time. When I inquired about the return trip, I was told that he thinks they will be doing a pick up later. When I pressed to get a definitive answer, all he would commit to was - I think. When we showed up early for our scheduled pick up, we were told we would have to wait for some time because the shuttle just left to provide a ride for someone else. Very much a hassle and very unnecessary stress over something so simple, made so by an inept employee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveLotsnLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
First, we would like to thank you for your comments about the amenities that you enjoyed. We are glad you are pleased with our central location, as well as our sleeping rooms. As far as the shuttle issues you encountered, we would love to hear more about this experience. If you would like to address the issues directly, please contact a manager at the front desk. We would like to resolve this issue so that we do not run into the same problems in the future. We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to the Bloomington area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Convenient for the school that I was attending. Spent a week there and was in a great location for restaurants, shopping and everything else. The restaurant and bar was very good and I did receive a free breakfast voucher for every mornibg. Convenient to the airport.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper level floor. Book with your priority club number/
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernierad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your feeback. We are so happy that our location was able to fulfill all of your needs. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed the Green Mill, all of our employees also indulge in there wonderful options regularly! The next time your travels bring you to Bloomington, please keep us in mind! Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Minneapolis Bloomington
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#34 of 42 in Bloomington
514 reviews
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South

Property: Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South
Address: 1201 W 94th St, Bloomington, MN 55431-2334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four story brick building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport (Mall Of America) Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing