We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Terrific!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Cass Lake, MN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Always Terrific!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times in the last 6 years, both for business and leisure. We always try to book a room here if we can becuase we have never been disappointed yet. The rooms are always immaculate, comfortable and tastefully decorated in neutral colors. The hotel was recently rennovated and there are new pillow top mattresses that are just great. It is quiet in this hotel and there are total non-smoking floors, which is of utmost importance to us. You can park your car there and ride the shuttle to the airport and leave it for up to 14 days. The breakfast is about mediocre, but who cares! It's free! They do have waffle makers, however. The hotel is close to shopping and restaurants and within 10 minutes of the airport, and is located right off I-494. The staff is always really nice and there is a business center with two computers and free copies. This is not a "fancy" hotel but it is comfortable, convenient and clean, which is all we ask for.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fifigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    254
    110
    40
    43
See reviews for
290
175
48
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Level Contributor
191 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

We booked our room on Expedia and paid $49 for the night for a room with a microwave and fridge.

I stayed in this property in the mid 1980s when it was the Hotel Seville. I was skeptical about the current state it might be in, but the reviews seemed favorable, so we decided to try it. For $49 a night, I'd say that we got a very good deal. It has definitely been remodeled in the not-so-distant past. Our room was nicely furnished, as were the common areas. The motel is a high rise. We requested a room on a lower floor, they honored the request, and we had only had minimal problems waiting for elevators. The beds are double instead of queen, but the mattresses were comfortable. They have fixed the sliding doors in all the rooms so a child cannot fall out. The pool is small. The breakfast area is very large, but due to the size of the hotel, it did get very busy. The breakfast itself was deluxe continental. The neighborhood is safe and is convenient to Bloomington attractions and I-494.

I gave the motel a lower service rating because the custodian barked at my toddler daughter and made her cry for touching a statue of a chef in the breakfast area.

I tried to book this hotel again for a some dates next March, but the best deal I could find was $75 for a weekend stay and $95 for a weekday stay. $49 is a sweet deal. $79 is reasonable. $95 is ridiculous for this level of accommodation. Therefore, if you can get a good rate, I'd highly recommend this motel. If you have to pay $95, I think you can get preferable accommodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MomMobile5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

This hotel is 18 stories high and I believe too big for the facillities to function like a first class hotel. There are 3 elevators and at times had to wait over 5 minutes for one to show up and often it was too full to get on. It has laundry machines on two floors but when my wife went to do laundry, all the machines on both floors were out of order. When she spoke to the front desk about it, they said they called last week to get them repaired but obviously never followed up to see that it got done. Breakfast was aceptable but nothing special. The big deal here is waffles but I found them rubbery.
The rest of the hotel is a moderate La Quinta. Nothing very bad but then again nothing exceptional. You can hear people in the hallways when they are speaking. The hotel runs along the interstate but there was no noticeable noise from that. There are too many hotels in this area that were built to service the Mall of America to settle on this one. The fitness center was drab for a large hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblinwreck59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

I recently returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. There are both positives and negatives about this hotel. The positives would be that the hotel / room was very clean, quiet, and you receive a decent free breakfast. Also, the price for the evening can't be beat. I did book using CAA so that did help with bringing the cost down even more.

The negatives would be that the bathroom and TV's need to be updated, the locks on the door should be replaced because our cards deactivated 4 times and it's not fun going up and down to the front desk to get your cards rekeyed. Also...there is not nearly enough seating in the breakfast area so you will either have to eat in your room or fight for a table. The pool is very small. For a hotel that is 18 stories I would think it would have a bigger pool area.

That being said we would more than likely stay here again and use the park and fly. If we were on an extended stay I am unsure whether I would stay or not. It's not that it was terrible it was just average.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeterfan026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

I really have two separate reviews based on two separate rooms within the same stay. Our family stayed two nights in this hotel, with the purpose of visiting the Mall of America. I booked a non-smoking room for a reasonable rate through AMA/CAA. Upon arrival on Saturday night we were assigned a smoking room, though a non-smoking had been booked (selected online, not just requested). When we arrived to the room, I called the front desk to let them know an error had been made but was informed that they could not move us that night and we'd have to take that room and move the next day. I told them that we wanted to move for sure. They also let me know that they are not obligated to honour non-smoking room bookings and that there would be no manager in the hotel until Monday morning to deal with the situation. This made for a fairly miserable first night as our whole family has a sensitivity to smoke and this resulted in runny noses, coughs, and burning eyes.
Room #1...the smoking room: Large, dark stain in centre of floor. Something sticky running down the back of the room door. Bathroom had not been properly cleaned and profanities which been written on the bathroom mirror (maybe by a previous guest when it was steamy?) showed up when one of our children had a shower. When we went down prior to breakfast the next morning and requested to move to a non-smoking room once it was vacated and cleaned, the girl at the front desk acted as if this was going to cause them much difficulty. As we left the breakfast area, our children heard our family being discussed by this same person and the housekeeper. We were eventually able to move after waiting a couple of hours.
Room #2...the non-smoking room: Very clean and fresh smelling. No stains. Great beds and clean bedding. No comparison to the previous one. Had we received this room in the first place we would have had absolutely no complaints. We were happy that we had put up with the inconvenience of changing rooms.
When we spoke with the manager after the weekend he was very reasonable and did rectify the situation. Very pleasant and personable. Having some sort of management there on weekends to deal with customer service issues would be the best.
I wish I could wholeheartedly endorse this hotel based on the second room, however we will be unable to stay with them again based on the fact that they are not able to honour or guarantee non-smoking bookings.
Breakfast was plentiful, but seating and staffing of the breakfast area were not.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Altamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

travelled to minneapolis with my family and stayed at this la quinta. front desk was very friendly and helpful no matter what time of day. rooms are a nice size and very clean. price is very reasonable. breakfast was very good and constantly being restocked. would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. close to many attractions. will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We booked this hotel because it was pet friendly, recommended on Tripadvisor forum and found a gem of a place to stay! First impressions tend to stay with you and the staff here provided an amazing first impression. Friendly, fast, informative and remembered us every time we approached them. The rooms were fresh, clean, roomy and modern. We had a suite and a standard queen room and both were excellant. Noise from the hallways was minimal even though there were plenty of people in them. The breakfast was very good with lots of choices including fresh fruit, yogurt, hot & cold cereals, waffles, bagels and toast. They also have a small convenience alcove where you can buy snacks, sandwiches, drinks, etc. We didn't use this ourselves but saw plenty of people using it. The shuttles to the airport and Mall of America ran at regular intervals and the airport one ran 24 hours. Drivers were friendly, helpful and competent. Parking was free and they also have a Park and Fly program.
All in all, we had no complaints about this hotel especially considering the AAA/CAA discount we received.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarletfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Minneapolis Airport Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
Address: 5151 American Blvd West, Bloomington, MN 55437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly Renovated La Quinta Inn and Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W, off I-494, is minutes from several corporate headquarters, including Best Buy, Dairy Queen, Ecolab, Lifetouch, Medtronics, Regis Corporation, and Supervalu, as well as many other businesses and hospitals. Some rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves. Enjoy free Ultra Fast wireless internet, daily free Bright Side Breakfast, free parking, indoor pool, and business fitness and centers. All rooms nonsmoking. Pets are free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, LaQuinta, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Bloomington West
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bloomington West Hotel Bloomington
La Quinta Bloomington
Bloomington La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing