We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, quiet, relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Plaza Bloomington
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
st paul, mn
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Value, quiet, relaxing”
Reviewed February 14, 2009

Good: very reasonable price. I found an internet special on the website for $65/ night on the weekend. THe hot tub/ workout area is above average. Rooms were very quiet with nice setup, comfy beds and outstanding wireless internet. Shuttle service to airport and mall of america. good, quality food in the restaurant.

Not so good: The service was inconsistent. We were getting great service in the bar, then the server just quit coming around. We had empty glasses for 20 minutes and had to walk up to the bar to get more drinks. The drivers in the shuttle buses are psycho. They go like 40 MPH thru the parking lot and don't yield! Only about 20 channels of cable.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    281
    162
    114
    99
See reviews for
271
153
78
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Just stayed here for 3 nights well doing business in Minneapolis. It's a great location and I prefer staying a bit away from the airport and mall of america as its a bit quieter. This is located about 5 mins from the MOA and Airport. Took me 10-15 mins to get to downtown Minneapolis by car, very easy to get there. Rooms are nice, staff is nice, pool area is nice. I didn't use the fitness center but it appeared nice, and had more than the normal fitness centers in hotels. Didn't use there shuttle service or try there dining area, but both appeared to be nice and moderate in price. Def will stay again.

  • Liked — Its in a quiet location
  • Disliked — Hard to find a parking spot
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank minntwins5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We stayed at the Park Plaza Hotel over the Christmas Holidays. We were very pleased with the hotel. I originally booked the room at the Park Plaza website in June. Right before departing in December to Minneapolis, I double checked the hotel web page. Rates were considerably lower than during the summer. A simple quick phone call to reservations got us the new lower rate. Our first room had a noisy fan on the heater; the manager moved us to a lovely suite (we stayed at the hotel for six nights). Only sour point was the bartender in the lobby lounge. We found that on a previous visit to the hotel, having a glass of wine in the bar, by the fireplace, was a perfect end to the day. This trip the waitress was TERRIBLE. She would not come to our table (there was only one other table being served in the lounge at that time). She had an attitude to beat all attitudes. The hotel manager refunded our bar bill the next morning when we discussed the problem with him. This was the only bad event on an otherwise delightful stay at the Park Plaza Hotel.

  • Liked — Location and price of room; attentiveness of hotel staff
  • Disliked — Terrible personnel in lobby lounge
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZ PAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mullens wv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2008

This was good hotel for family the bed was very comfortable with soft pillows
they had a very strong wi fi connection
i arrived a little early about 2 hours but they gave me early check in
they had a full breakfast buffet
friendly staff

all in all the only problem i had with this place was that the tv only had about 15 or 20 channels but this was a minnor issue

  • Liked — the value
  • Disliked — the tv only having a few chanels
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank superdave8188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2008

On the road doing a promo tour around the US. Booked this hotel because of its "convenient" location which is pretty shabby. This hotel may have been nice in the mid 90's, but is clearly outdated. The rooms are decent, but the corridors, "lounge area with a fireplace", restaurant, and other areas need improvement... At least if you're looking to pay 130 a night on average (which is after 35% off). There are other hotels that are cheaper, newer, and have a decent breakfast included. And there are no freaking laundry services, despite what websites say. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cowteets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

I stayed at the Park Plaza hotel for three nights - Thurs-Sun. I found a great rate on the Bloomington Convention and Visitors Web Site - King Bed for $69 a night (weekend get away rate). I called and asked for a late check in and the staff was very friendly. My room felt a bit humid (it was hot outside) but once I turned on the air things were fine. The king bed was comfortable and I appreciated the desk. I also used the free internet connection. The room was clean and I never heard my neighbors. I looked at the pool area, but there were quite a few kids so I passed. Never used the bar or restaurant. The TV guide in the hotel book didn't match the channels, and there was no golf channel. One elevator was out of service, but I never really had to wait long. I would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Liked — comfortable bed, good location
  • Disliked — lack of TV stations
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNgolfgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

Park Plaza room was updated since last there in 2005-decor was well chosen with Bath & Body toiletries. Room was quiet-did not hear neighbors. King-sized bed was comfortable and room was standard size with writing desk and reading chair. I did not feel cramped. I did not use the internet connection. Breakfast was made to order and met expectations. Free shuttle to MOA which I used. Two detractions-bar closed at 10pm due to an inhouse prom that night (normally open later) and had to wait 30 minutes for shuttle at MOA (but still preferable to fighting construction/traffic). Otherwise, stay was perfect and for $69.00 with free made to order breakfast along with free MOA coupon book the price could not be beat.

  • Liked — great value
  • Disliked — bar closed at 10pm (but not normally)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlonthegoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Minneapolis Airport Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Bloomington

Property: Park Plaza Bloomington
Address: 4460 W 78th Street Cir, Bloomington, MN 55435-5416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Plaza Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the Twin Cities, you're at the heart of it all when you stay at the Park Plaza Hotel, a Carlson brand hotel. Located right in the heart of it all and just minutes to downtown areas. Relax on plush pillow top mattress, crisp white duvet and fluffy pillows or utilize the complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access to help you stay in touch while on the road. Enjoy classic American fare at Three Trees Restaurant and Fireside Lounge. After a busy day, unwind in our whirlpool and heated pool to refresh and rejuvenate your senses. If you feel like exploring, attractions like the Mall of America, Mystic Lake Casino and the famous Minnesota Zoo are all within easy reach. We're only 10 minutes from Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, so our shuttle can get you to your flight promptly. Whether its business or a fun-filled vacation that brings you to the Bloomington area - your room at the Park Plaza Hotel is waiting, with an impressive list of amenities designed to make your stay a pleasant one but it’s the service that will bring you back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Plaza Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Park Plaza
Park Plaza Bloomington MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing