We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel & room, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Plaza Bloomington
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel & room, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked on Expedia's unpublished price. I wasn't expecting anything incredible, but was pleasantly surprised with the Park Plaza. The room was really nice, quiet, and the bed was super comfortable. The hotel's lobby is nice, and the exterior is nice as well (at night, very cool... they have a purple light shining on the front of it).

The value for the price we paid was amazing, but the service at the front desk was pretty bad. I was unaware of any of the amenities the hotel offered, and the woman checking us in told us nothing about the hotel - just our room number. I asked her if that was all and she said yes. She didn't tell me if there was a breakfast, didn't tell me anything about the restaurant, nothing about the pool - zip, nothing, just the room number. I don't think I should have had to ask to get this info, usually it is standard that the front desk employees inform you about this..? Needless to say we did not have breakfast at the hotel, or eat in the hotel whatsoever. I did not even know what time the check out was at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l0ve_travel93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann P, Director of Sales at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear lOve_travel93:

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are happy to see you were pleased with our hotel facilities, and the value for price paid.

On behalf of our entire staff at Park Plaza, we apologize for the concerns you shared about your front desk staff experience. I assure you this is not typical of our hotel, and I will be addressing this issue with our front desk staff, and management team. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service, and in this case, we fell short.

We thank you for your business, and we invite you to return so we may display the high level of customer service our guests have come to expect from Park Plaza. Do not hesitate to reach out to me personally if you wish to discuss your guest experience in more detail. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Mary Ann Perpich Japs
Director of Sales
952/960-0022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    271
    157
    111
    94
See reviews for
263
146
76
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We just stayed here at both the start and end our trip to Florida. We have also used it many times in the past. The shuttle has always been prompt in getting us to and from the airport. Lot term parking is right in their lot (not in a lot a block or so away like some we have stayed at).

The food and drinks are excellent. The beds are comfy. The rooms are clean, but some are a bit dated.

When we went to leave to come home after two weeks of our car sitting in the freezing cold, it didn't start. We went to the desk to ask who to call to get a jump. They said that they could get a hotel staff member to come out and jump it. Now that is GREAT customer service!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MNAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann P, Director of Sales at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Traoiews:

Wow..."Best Minneapolis Hotel You've Used for Park N Fly"....we appreciate your positive comments!! Many thanks for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are happy to see you've enjoyed your many stays at our hotel. I will be sure to share your positive survey results with our hotel team as I know they will appreciate it. Our friendly, gracious staff workhard to take care of our guests, and top scores show them that their hard work pays off. On behalf of our entire staff at Park Plaza Hotels & Resorts we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon. Do not hesitate to reach out to me personally should you find yourself back in the Bloomington area.

Kind Regards,

Mary Ann Perpich Japs
952-960-0022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a great place to stay. I have been here many times now on business and have never been disappointed, especially with the excellent staff. Thanks for all you do to make me feel welcome and to take any of the hotel stress out of my day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann P, Director of Sales at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Reed,

Many thanks for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see you've enjoyed your visits to our property, and we appreciate your loyalty. I will be sure to share your positive comments with our hotel team as I know they will appreciate it. Our staff works very hard to take care of our guests and top scores show them that their hard work pays off. I was particularly pleased to learn we were able ."to take the hotel stress out of your day".

On behalf of our entire staff at Park Plaza Hotels & Resorts we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon. Do not hesitate to reach out to me personally should you find yourself back in the Bloomington area.

Kind Regards,

Mary Ann Perpich Japs
Director of Sales
952/960-0022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Need a place to park n stay, Park Plaza is it. Great staff very friendly and accommodating from checking in and shuttle to the airport and back from the airport. Prompt and courteous. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann P, Director of Sales at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valerie,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I will be sure to share your positive survey results with our hotel team as I know they will appreciate it. Our staff works very hard to take care of our guests and top scores show them that their hard work pays off. On behalf of our entire staff at Park Plaza Hotels & Resorts, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon. Do not hesitate to reach out to me personally should you find yourself back in the Bloomington area.

Kind Regards,

Mary Ann Perpich Japs
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed 3 nights here while attending a seminar. It was clean and comfortable and the best part was that it was more affordable than the majority of the hotels in the area. We could stay here for an extra night instead of having to get up really early to make the drive if we had stayed at a more expensive hotel. The room was spacious, appreciated the shuttle to the Mall of America. Very convenient location. Would have been nice to have a mini fridge in room but overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann P, Director of Sales at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Denise,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I will be sure to share your positive survey results with our hotel team as I know they will appreciate it. Our staff works very hard to take care of our guests and top scores show them that their hard work pays off. On behalf of our entire staff at Park Plaza Hotels & Resorts, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon. Do not hesitate to reach out to me personally should you find yourself back in the Bloomington area.

Kind Regards,

Mary Ann Perpich Japs
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stay at Park Plaza about once a month. I like it's location. The access to plenty of shopping is also a plus! I enjoy the variety on the menu for those days when I just want to stay in. Their park & fly service is also appreciated. The bed is comfortable and the room is always clean. It is my "old faithful" when I am in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrinca1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann P, Director of Sales at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Katrinca123,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoy your frequent stays at our hotel. I will be sure to share your positive survey results with our hotel team as I know they will appreciate it. Our staff works very hard to take care of our guests and top scores show them that their hard work pays off.

Again, many thanks for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Mary Ann Perpich Japs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STEPHEN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I started staying @ ParkPlaza about 5 years ago when my daughter & I planned a shopping trip to Mall of America. When I saw the rates I wasn't expecting much, I wanted a cheaper place so we could spend more $ shopping, when we got there we were pleasantly surprised! Now it's the only place I stay when I go to Minneapolis. It's definitely the least expensive hotel I know of & a great location. It's very clean & comfortable. I read some previous reviews saying how it was outdated w/uncomfortable beds, I have NEVER had an uncomfortable bed & I don't find it outdated. It's not fancy, but it's nice & comfy. The restaurant & lounge are very relaxing w/ great food. Staff are very pleasant & helpful, you can't beat the shuttle service. I recommend it to anyone going to the Minneapolis area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GREG B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanna B, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear GREG B,

Thank you for taking the time to submit an online review of our hotel. I am thrilled to read that once again you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel. I would also like to personally thank you for your repeat business as I see you have stayed with us several times in the past. I am glad that our hotel team was helpful and friendly and will be sure to share with them your positive review as I know they will appreciate knowing their hard work makes a difference. We have a great group of people working here at the hotel and I am glad that you agree. We hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Suzanna B
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Bloomington West
Days Inn Bloomington West
#42 of 43 in Bloomington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Bloomington

Property: Park Plaza Bloomington
Address: 4460 W 78th Street Cir, Bloomington, MN 55435-5416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Plaza Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the Twin Cities, you're at the heart of it all when you stay at the Park Plaza Hotel, a Carlson brand hotel. Located right in the heart of it all and just minutes to downtown areas. Relax on plush pillow top mattress, crisp white duvet and fluffy pillows or utilize the complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access to help you stay in touch while on the road. Enjoy classic American fare at Three Trees Restaurant and Fireside Lounge. After a busy day, unwind in our whirlpool and heated pool to refresh and rejuvenate your senses. If you feel like exploring, attractions like the Mall of America, Mystic Lake Casino and the famous Minnesota Zoo are all within easy reach. We're only 10 minutes from Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, so our shuttle can get you to your flight promptly. Whether its business or a fun-filled vacation that brings you to the Bloomington area - your room at the Park Plaza Hotel is waiting, with an impressive list of amenities designed to make your stay a pleasant one but it’s the service that will bring you back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Park Plaza
Park Plaza Bloomington MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing