We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb choice for families; good for business; minor critiques”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed here with my wife and two kids (ages 9 and 7). The staff was exceptionally helpful; kudos. They honored my request for a room on the second floor away from the hubbub and were always attentive. The hotel is done well and our room was clean. Maid service was good.
There are three real pluses with this hotel: location, the pool, and the restaurant. It is within walking distance of the Mall of America. You can walk a block-and-a-half to a heated skyway ovre Killebrew and then through a parking garage to the Mall. There is also a shuttle. it is less than 10 minutes from the airport and easy-on easy-off to a highway if you want to venture further afield. The second plus is the pool, as it is great for children. It opens early and closes late. Tip: if you have little ones, get a room on the first floor so you can walk out your patio. If you don't want the noise, then ask for a room away from the pool. There was a youth hockey team staying here Saturday night and all the parents were on the pool deck, ordering pizza, the kids were playing, it was perfect for kids and safe. The last plus is the restaurant. It has local brews on tap, pizza, good italian (I mean really good for a hotel restaurant) and seriously the best wings I have had in Minneapolis. A total suprise.
The minor critiques I have for the hotel concern the breakfast area and the pillows. The breakfast area is too small for the size of the hotel and it is crowded, so many folks can't find tables and take their plates back to their room. The breakfast lady can't quite keep up with demand during the peak hour, so you may not find everything, and the selection is limited. The best time to go is either right when it opens or right before it closes.
The last critique is the pillows - they are touted as hypoallergenic but my wife and son had a reaction.
Overall, the critiques are small and the pluses far outweight them. I would recommend this place and we are likely to stay here again. The price was right and the hotel was good. Thank you!

Room Tip: Go for the poolside on the first floor if you have small children, ask for second floor away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 53eflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were so happy with our recent hotel experience. The staff was friendly, helpful, and efficient, the food was great at breakfast, and the pool area was clean and enjoyable. The location across the street from Mall of America was a plus, and our shuttle arrived promptly every time! (patrons of other hotels waiting near us in the shuttle area were envious). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 514barbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Was a fantastic experience, the rooms and hotel were very clean and nicely decorated. The staff when we checked in were very welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed and went above and beyond with their service. Far exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Kids had fun at water park. Hot tub water was hot. Breakfast can be skipped except for the sausage and orange juice. Restaurant was fine. Noticed older kids were in the water park after supper time which made things a bit wild for the smaller kids. Room and beds nice. Don't expect the nightly cookies/milk that are advertised.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Overall stay was a good experience. Only major problem is we booked online for a block for our hockey team and we had 2 other teams in our room block. Our team was scattered on 2 floors and had other teams in the next room. Pool was great. Need more daily variety for breakfast foods. Had sausage and egg omelet for 4 days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank cavliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel every year for the past few years for a winter getaway with our kids and parents. Every year we've stayed, our rooms have not been cleaned during our stay. This year was strange. We booked two rooms. In one room, they gave new towels and took out the trash but did not make the bed. The other room was not cleaned at all. This was especially awesome because we had garbage cans full of dirty diapers and several wet towels from the pool. As a mom of two, I look forward to someone making the bed for me when I pay $160 per night, but I missed out on this luxury for the third year in a row. So, next year we'll be booking our rooms at another hotel for our winter getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark O, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Henry 26, so sorry we did not live up to your standards or are own...I promise you I will look into the situation with your rooms not being cleaned. I do agree with you that this unacceptable and will be brought up with our housekeeping management team. I do hope that next year when you comeback to the area you call me personally so I may make your reservation for you and make sure that you are given what is expected.

Sincerely,

Mark Olson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Very nice motel chain and very good staff!! The best western chain is one that hires staff that is the best!! We really enjoyed our stay at the motels and my brother and his fiancé will be using the pony soldier motel. Nice locations and are around the airports we use!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
Downtown
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel

Address: 1901 Killebrew Dr, Bloomington, MN 55425-1890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: $134 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel is the place to stay when visiting the Twin Cities! Enjoy free deluxe continental breakfast, wonderful guestroom amenities including upgraded bedding packages, large flat-screen televisions, in-room microwave, refrigerator and coffee, and free internet to name a few. Free access to our fitness center, free parking, and free area and airport shuttle. Over 4,500 square feet of on-site meeting facilities. RedRossa Italian Grille and Bar (opening early Summer of 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bloomington
Days Inn Mall America
Bloomington Days Inn
Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing