We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here with my Mom over the weekend while she was visiting Minneapolis. I couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel. EIther it's new or has recently been updated. It's clean and the staff are courteous and helpful. The pool and waterpark is great, even if you don't have kids (I don't). We went on Saturday afternoon expecting it to be crawling with children, and it was empty. Everyone must have been at the Mall of America. It was so nice to sit and relax in the quiet and swim around in peace.

The rooms were very nice. The beds were comfortable, the air conditioner worked great, and the bathroom was lovely, lovely, lovely. The complimentary breakfast was a nice surprise, too! Not the usual toast and fruit, but eggs, bacon, sausage and gravy, fresh oatmeal, make-your-own waffles, the works. They even provide a tray in your room so you can bring it back and eat in there in you prefer.

Great location right across the street from the mall. Loved the restaurant attached to the hotel too - I believe it's called Redrossa.

Will definitely recommend it to friends and family when they visit.

Room Tip: If you're someone with kids, they do offer rooms looking right out onto the pool with walk-outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jracleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    435
    118
    52
    17
See reviews for
885
214
42
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night only. Found it to be clean and comfortable. Right across the street from Mall of America. You can walk to the mall if you want to. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. No negatives from us!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyBear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We just returned from a shopping trip at Mall of America, and we couldn't have chosen a better, more well-run hotel. This hotel is either brand new, or recently refurbished. The rooms and common areas are beautifully decorated and very clean. Large flat-screen TVs, frig, plush bedding, we couldn't have asked for more. The breakfast area is definitely full buffet, with good selection. While we did not have children, the pool areas appeared very nice for all ages of children and adults. Many rooms opened to the pool areas. When we return, this will be our hotel of choice. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting this area.

Room Tip: I would choose an upper floor room away from the pool area, if traveling alone or as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayflower60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here after arriving from Europe and before departing for home. The hotel is well placed, just a few minutes from MSP airport and opposite the Mall of America. The hotel shuttle is convenient and available for both places. I had asked for rooms away from the pool for rest and quiet and the ones given were fine. Despite the family appeal of the hotel we experienced no disturbance, even on a Saturday night.

Breakfast was a bit of a struggle through small children and families but a tray is provided to take food back to one's room if wanted. Staff were polite and helpful. They couldn't manage a late checkout but kept our luggage safe until we had to go. Overall, very satisfactory, we would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: For quiet, stay away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Didnt want the vacation to end so my husband found this place across the street from Mall of America. Great decision. While the pool features are more for the little ones the big kids pool is good size. Not the typical hotel pool. The water was awesome! There are rooms right off the pool but we stayed down the hall. It was everything I expect from a Best Western. Clean. Comfortable. Good breakfast. They actually had room for people to sit. Most hotels have just a few tables and chairs. We crossed the street right into the mall we entered right at Lego! Just beyond that were the rides. A kids dream. I love Best Westerns. They are clean, affordable, and comfortable. This one didn't disappoint and made our trip even better. I only rated sleep quality average because I'm used to a king size bed and I had share a double with my returning from deployment husband. Nice to share a bed again, I just like big beds to myself!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanyTwodals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This Best Western was a pleasant surprise as it was reasonably priced, across the street from the Mall of America (close enough to walk), had a solid restaurant and had freshly remodeled rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful and it was a pleasant stay. The hot tub and pool are saltwater and the pool had a modest play area with squirting toys, a small water slide and a few other water features. Kids enjoyed it.

Room Tip: They have pool side rooms that walk out to the poll area as well as balconies. We stayed in a stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellaviaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We got a steal on this hotel at only $119 a night in mid June. I saw the pictures online and though for the price it did not look too bad and it seemed close to the Mall of America. When we got there we saw how close. This hotel is literally across the street from the Macy's entrance. We never took the shuttle to the mall since there was a cross walk to take you to Macy's.

The lobby was very nice and the whole hotel was recently updated. The room was extremely nice. The decor was very warm and modern, the bathroom was very nice and roomy. One thing we very much enjoyed was the indoor water area. There is a kid pool, a large regular pool, and a 14 person hot tub, all indoors. We do not have children, but we enjoyed the pool area very much. The main pool was a bit cold so we had to make sure to not go into the hot tub before the pool. The area was very clean and the towels were well stacked.

In the morning they had an extended breakfast. It was very crowded and they need more setting. The breakfast was very good for being included in the stay. They had 3 waffle makers, a buffet with pancakes, french toast, eggs, etc, and lots of cereal and bread. They also had granola bars, water, and fruit to go.

The only thing that could use a bit more coordination is the shuttle. We took it to the train to go to the Twins game and were told to call when we were one stop from the 28th street station. I called as instructed and was told they would be there in 18 minutes. 18 minutes came and went and we were still waiting, I called and they said 20 more. It would not have been too bad but it was 11pm at night.

All in all I am very pleased with my choice of this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. I would stay there again in an instant.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in the back of the hotel and it was quite. Some rooms face the pool, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phisigsweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel
Address: 1901 Killebrew Dr, Bloomington, MN 55425-1890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel is the place to stay when visiting the Twin Cities! Enjoy free deluxe continental breakfast, wonderful guestroom amenities including upgraded bedding packages, large flat-screen televisions, in-room microwave, refrigerator and coffee, and free internet to name a few. Free access to our fitness center, free parking, and free area and airport shuttle. Over 4,500 square feet of on-site meeting facilities. RedRossa Italian Grille and Bar (opening early Summer of 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bloomington
Days Inn Mall America
Bloomington Days Inn
Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing