We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fabulous Hotel --Can't wait to stay there again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Ross, North Dakota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel --Can't wait to stay there again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is doing some renovating so upon driving up to the entrance I had some serious doubts. I got a fantastic deal for this hotel on Priceline.com. The lobby is kind of "cheap" looking. The service was great, check-in was quick and efficient. The room was beautiful! Spacious, CLEAN, comfortable. The bathroom and tub/shower was also very clean and nice big fluffy towels are provided. The hotel is located right off the freeway but the rooms are very sound-proof and I could not hear a thing. Had a great night's sleep and was ready for appointments the next day feeling refreshed. I will absolutely stay at this hotel again and I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorac1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear lorac1962,

We are ecstatic to see your glowing review of our hotel! You are right, we did have some recent rennovating done on our parking lot (such is life during summertime in Minnesota). You can't have over 1100 parking spots without a little work being done here and there! Enjoy your travels and we look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    424
    299
    151
    80
See reviews for
324
170
61
600
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean but dated. Hallways had a little musty smell. Overall the price was good and rooms themselves were clean. We will stay there again.
Only issues we had was getting the room cleaned and getting enough towels. We had the do not disturb sign on the door until we showered. We left the hotel at 9 AM to shop. We returned that evening and the room was not cleaned. Seems odd that they would not check again after 9 to clean the room.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bhutch9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Bhutch9910,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel! I am sorry you didn't receive service from our housekeeping team. Our policy is to check twice (once in the morning and once in the early afternoon) for service. Our Executive Housekeeper has reviewed this event with our staff to confirm the correct procedures. We look forward to seeing you at our location again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

It was a mixture of good things and bad things. 1. was informed I was to have a rollaway bed for my kid in my confirmation letter. Found out due to fire codes, rollaway could NOT be provided to that room. And we had three people in our group for the room. 1a. Bed was actually the most comfortable I have had in the hotel in years. 2. Housekeeping as usual, was great. The lady we had was very understanding. 3. Hotel need to put benches near the elevators in the south tower for folks to sit on to wait for the elevators. Being physically disabled. It is hard at times to stand to wait for the elevator. And I was not the only one having troubles. 4. Looking eastward out of the room's window. I could see a area outside the hotel on the roof that needed repair. As in painting the wood and derusting the pylons. 4a. Also noted who ever painted the room I had. Did not do that great of a job. As well as did not use a primer coat on a few spots. No matter what, my family & I will be returning to the hotel unless the folks running the event we were at, to a different building.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 196suzettek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear 196suzettek,

Thank you for your review of our property! I was intrigued by your comments about waiting for the elevators and asking for a bench to sit on while one waits. I think that is a phenomenal idea. I will passing your comments directly to my Director of Operations. In regards to the rollaway and the fire codes, I am sorry for the confusion. I have updated my front office staff members and the reservation agents at Hilton corporate to assisting in making sure this doesn't happen again. As always, we appreciate the fact you stay with us. Keep writing reviews and come see us at the desk for where we get these comfy beds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Overall, the lobby, the bar/restaurant, general atmosphere is very nice (above average). The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable. The bathrooms are well equipped. If it wasn't for the cracks in the ceiling with paint falling on the carpet and the dated peeling wallpaper, this would have received 4 or even 5 stars. Some simple maintenance and general management and this hotel would be excellent.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Thadhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear ThadHare,

Thank you for submitting your comments to us! It sounds like you are quite the experienced traveler and I have passed along these comments to my maintenance team. We appreciate the genuine criticism and are happy you enjoyed the other facets of your stay! Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Was at the Convention and stayed from Thursday through Sunday. Got to check in early but thought a Hilton Honors member got some sort of perk. Room was clean. Sadly the room needs to be painted. You could see paint gone from walls. It was more than 1 spot. Restaurant food was terrible. Told the server that we could push our finger through so much grease on a piece of bread. Got told "It always comes like that" I work in a kitchen and people who cooked that day didn't give a crap. Was out of toilet paper waited 15 mins. for a roll. Saw a housekeeper and asked for some. I have no clue what happened but seems like the staff didn't want to be working the big convention.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Nicole F,

I am very saddend to see you had such a negative experience at our property. Our staff were absolutely thrilled about having your CONvergence group in house and I am sorry to hear your stay was sub-par. Regarding your HHonors benefits, during CONvergence the entire hotel is blocked off by the group at a special reduced rate and therefore normal Hilton benefits are not applicable. Nevertheless, we are very happy you and your group attend our hotel each year for this event and look forward to seeing you and your fellow CON members again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The staff at this location is very friendly. They were incredibly helpful and did a nice job to ensure that I enjoyed my stays. The facility itself is fairly worn down - scuffs on the walls, spots on the carpets, etc. It definitely looks used. I went to the gym twice while I was there and will say that it was one of the best hotel gyms I've seen. 4 treadmills, 5 ellipticals and a variety of other equipment. I had the breakfast buffet which was a very nice spread as well, but $13. If you eat a lot for breakfast it's likely worth it. I would come back here because of the quality service.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Elizabeth G,

Thank you for the awesome review! You are absolutely correct, we do have an outstanding fitness center with equipment that was upgraded to brand-new just a few months ago. On the other hand, I am sorry to hear there were some minor issues with the building itself. Our breakfast is a big buffet for $12.95 and we are glad you enjoyed it!

Come see us again for that lovely DoubleTree warm chocolate chip and walnut cookie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My family and I rented two poolside hotel rooms on the first floor for a weekend in Bloomington, MN. This isn't the best DoubleTree I've been to but it's definitely not the worst. Pros: - Pleasant housekeeping - Employees were very accommodating - Free parking - Has a door that connects my room with my family's room next door - Comfortable beds - Restaurant and bar located inside hotel Cons: - Couldn't order crib at check-in; had to go to designated room to order crib via phone - Rather noisy at poolside; don't get a ground-floor/poolside room if you're a light sleeper - Humid in the rooms; no exhaust/fan in the bathroom - Bath faucet wasn't attached to the wall - Area around ceiling vents were discolored; looked kind of like mold - Found a couple curly hairs on the bathroom ceiling (did not match the hair on any of our head) - Wifi wasn't free

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear K T,

We are so happy you and your family were able to stay with us in connecting rooms! I am sorry to hear your room was a bit of a disappointment and have forwarded your comments to my housekeeping team. We have both a free and paid version of our high-speed WiFi. We recommend the upgraded version to stream large bandwith video. As always, we are very happy to hear you had a pleasant experience conversing with our team members! Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Bloomington Hotel
Sheraton Bloomington Hotel
#22 of 43 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
1.2 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
Address: 7800 Normandale Blvd, Bloomington, MN 55439-3147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#19 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bloomington/Minneapolis South we put the human touch back into your travel experience. It all starts with the warm welcome of a chocolate chip cookie at check-in. Then the caring keeps coming with everything from luxurious comfort of our Sweet Dreams sleep experience, to our highly-trained staff members who are dedicated to anticipating your needs so your stay at our recently renovated Bloomington, MN hotel is the best it can be. Please join us in our new Crescent Kitchen restaurant and bar featuring over 16 microbrews on tap and over 84 whiskeys,scotch's bourbons. Come see us! We always have a cookie with your name on it ready and waiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South Hotel Bloomington
Sheraton Bloomington
Sheraton Minneapolis
Bloomington Sheraton
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing