We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Merrill, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very unhappy”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We booked a three night stay in a King Suite and were given a King Standard. When we asked staff about it we were brushed off. We booked here to use the pool and hot tub during our stay only to find out there was a large convention booked during our stay, which made it very difficult and uncomfortable to use the pool area as it was side by side with the area set up for the convention attendees. Who would want to swim literally in the middle of people in business suits standing around? Very poor set up. We did not received any of the accommodations we requested and paid for. Would not stay there again. When we asked for compensation for the inconveniences and the hotel's error in room placement, they were completely unwilling to do so.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjkajamy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear rikajamy3,
I'm so sorry to learn of your disappointment, please don't hesitate to contact me personally to discuss your stay further. It is important to me that we make this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    469
    338
    169
    96
See reviews for
367
190
68
683
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our room smelled and was very dark even with all the lights on. Bathroom was not clean. Staff was not friendly. We were there for my husbands work party and we were not the only ones that had problems.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
It is always disappointing to hear that one of our guests did not enjoy theit stay. I would love to speak to you further about this so please don't hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Traveled to the MN area over the New Year's holiday. Stayed here because our group had a block of rooms. Not impressed with the staff. The hotel was clean. For hotel eats, the bar served above-average food, When I arrived in minus zero temps, there was no sign of a bellman, and I had lots to take to the room. Never saw a bellman the following day when I was checking out. For the price I paid for the one night's stay, it was not a great deal. Next time, I'll stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose a room AWAY from vending/ice machine area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Cheryl R,
It is disappointing to learn of your experience - I'm so sorry you were not taken care of to the best of our abilities, but I will let the bar know you enjoyed your meal.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we always use the comments in our quest for continuous improvement.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Excellent Hotel. We pricelined this for $50 + $10 (taxes/fees) / night. We were greeted with cookies upon check in. The staff were very friendly and polite.

We stayed in the end unit room the first night of our stay and the room was very weird with a tiny window that one can barely look out of. It was also next to the service elevators and was very noisy. We talked to the front end staff the next morning and was moved to another unit in the middle of the building and no more issue with the noise.

The hot tube and sauna weren't very hot and don't waste your time there if you like those things hot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammiBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Sammiboi,
I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you back again the next time you are in town and we will keep the cookies warm for you!

Safe travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The first room that the rep put me in smelled like a barn. It also had double beds and I was not asked if I would like a King or not. I had to change rooms which resulted in an incredibly large amount of noise above me and in the halls the entire night. One of the worst hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Todd S,
I'm so sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us. If you would like to discuss your visit further, please don't hesitate to give me a call directly.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a very poor experience at the DoubleTree in Minneapolis. No information in the room about the hotel, trash not emptied, only one bar of soap in the bathroom, no phone book, no TV channel guide, vending didn't work correctly, staff was unresponsive to any attempt to remedy these issues. We won't be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
David W,
I was saddened to learn of your experience and I sincerely apologize. Please don't hesitate to call me directly so we can discuss your visit further.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here with our kids over NYE, along with 2 other families. We all had poolside rooms which were fantastic. The hotel and rooms are very clean and very comfortable. The staff was outstanding. The pool and huge whirlpool were a hit with the kids and adults. The pool was actually warm. I was shocked as I feel like every pool I go to in a hotel is freezing. We will be back forsure!

Room Tip: If you have kids, request poolside or poolview rooms. So much fun and great sunken patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Janeaj,
I'm thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay over the New Year's holiday!
Our cabana suites are perfect for family getaways and our pool is always warm!
We hope to see you and your little ones again next year for the festivities!

Happy 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Bloomington Hotel
Sheraton Bloomington Hotel
#21 of 43 in Bloomington
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
Address: 7800 Normandale Blvd, Bloomington, MN 55439-3147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#18 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bloomington/Minneapolis South we put the human touch back into your travel experience. It all starts with the warm welcome of a chocolate chip cookie at check-in. Then the caring keeps coming with everything from luxurious comfort of our Sweet Dreams sleep experience, to our highly-trained staff members who are dedicated to anticipating your needs so your stay at our recently renovated Bloomington, MN hotel is the best it can be. Please join us in our new Crescent Kitchen restaurant and bar featuring over 16 microbrews on tap and over 84 whiskeys,scotch's bourbons. Come see us! We always have a cookie with your name on it ready and waiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, JackRabbit Systems, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South Hotel Bloomington
Sheraton Bloomington
Sheraton Minneapolis
Bloomington Sheraton
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing