We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed there for two nights in a double queen room.

The room itself was clean, had enough space and looked modern. Our window was facing a wall. A little disappointing, but luckily we did not come for the view, so we didn't care. The bed was comfortable and the TV had a good selection of channels. Everything was functioning properly.The wifi is rather expensive. However, there was an option to try it out for one day for free.

I did have a bad experience with the air conditioner in the room. It was located by my bed and the air flow was directed right to me the whole time. There was no way to direct the air flow sideways or upward and even on the lowest fan speed it was still freezing to lie next to it. Without air conditioning, however, it got super hot. So, I had an uncomfortable sleep with this air conditioner constantly blowing cold air on me.

We did check out to the pool and hot tub. They were both nice. I found that on a weekend night, the place was swarming with kids who were running all over the place. I felt bad for the people who had a pool side room. First of all, people were constantly passing in front of their windows. Secondly, it must have been very noisy. The second night (Sunday night) was more calm and relaxing.

A good thing about the location is the abundance of food options right next to the hotel. There is a TGIF, Subway, Caribou Coffee, DQ, Burger King and Chilli's.

Overall, we had a lovely stay at the hotel at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Don't get a pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SillyMidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,351 - 1,357 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

They recently remodeled portions of this hotel, but seem to stop just short of making you say, "Wow, they did a great job remodeling." Case in point, popcorn ceilings, old bathtups with new fixtures... I am a diamond member so I stay at lots of different places. The day we stayed here they had a convention for developmentally disabled children who scream and cry. Not really conducive to a quiet stay. One elevator was working in the area they placed my wife and I. We took the stairs which was faster. They do have an executive lounge. The food was cold and the beer was warm. Unlike some places where an executive lounge, they allow members to select a beer yourself, not here. They have a server bring you a nice warm one. I drank half of my beer and told the server it was warm. She brought out a warm cup and had me put it in a bucket of ice. Yeah.. Breakfast was offered in a couple pans in the executive lounge. Awful. We didn't have any coupons for anything in the restaurant (despite being diamond members) so we left the hotel for breakfast. We wouldn't go back here.

Room Tip: Choose one away from screaming crying children.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank savvytravelers40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great staff and generally good amenities. Only question is that of the entrance... it's around the corner in the back, and it's not clear whether the main entrance is where you go to check in or where deliveries are made. There are a couple of side entrances that look like they're pretty convenient for conferences. It's a Hilton, with the expected level of service and quality overall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Steve C,
Thanks for the feedback regarding your stay. I really appreciate your comments about the entrance - very insightful! And I'm glad you enjoyed the staff and our amenities. As a business traveler we know you have high expectations and I'm happy to know we lived up to them!

We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area!
Lisa impagliazzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Rooms not ready at check-in. Rooms not cleaned as well as they should have been: stains found in bedding, crumbs found in the pull out. Concierge said they would send someone when we asked, but no one came. Staff did seem friendly, though. I've had better at County Inn and Suites, Prairie Inn's, and Super 8's. It was a busy weekend, and this is just my experience, but regardless, a luxury hotel's cleanliness and service should never slack.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Josephine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Josephine C,

I'm glad our team was friendly but I am disappointed by the rest of your experience. Please feel free to contact me directly so we can discuss this further and make it right.

I look forward to hearing from you soon,
Lisa Impagliazzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was directed here by Delta Airlines along with numerous other passengers who missed connecitng flights for various reasons. The hotel has a shuttle that takes passengers to and from the airport, but it only runs hourly and could not accomodate the number of guests Delta was directing to it. If Delta and the hotel have an arrangement for passengers to stay there, I would hope for transportation to cover all guests in a timely fashion, not hourly until all are picked up. I did not want to wait, and took a cab.

The hotel appeared clean and reaosnably quiet for the short time I was there. Nothing stood out, good or bad. it does not appear to be near much of anything, and was a 15 minute cab ride from the airport. I suspect it is a good hotel for business travelers who need to be int he area or those passing through.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timlowe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel was very clean from the parking lot to the bathrooms. Staff was very professional and polite. Room was well kept, clean, and quiet. Beds were very comfortable and climate control worked well. Rooms seemed to be priced very competitive with other hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Stuart S,
I appreciate you comments regarding the staff and the hotel - I will definitely pass them along to our team. They work very hard and we love it when our guests leave happy!

Thanks for taking the time to share!
Lisa Impagliazzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I always enjoy this hotel. They have recently upgraded the lobby. We enjoy the large pool area to gather as a group. I will stay there in the future when possible. I used priceline to book and the process online and at the hotel was seemless.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Steven B,
Thanks for the great review and thanks for being a great return guest...please feel free to stop in and say HI, anytime!

Sincerely,
Lisa Impagliazzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
1.2 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Bloomington Hotel
Sheraton Bloomington Hotel
#21 of 42 in Bloomington
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
GuestHouse Inn-Bloomington
GuestHouse Inn-Bloomington
#37 of 42 in Bloomington
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South

Address: 7800 Normandale Blvd, Bloomington, MN 55439-3147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#18 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: $83 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bloomington/Minneapolis South we put the human touch back into your travel experience. It all starts with the warm welcome of a chocolate chip cookie at check-in. Then the caring keeps coming with everything from luxurious comfort of our Sweet Dreams sleep experience, to our highly-trained staff members who are dedicated to anticipating your needs so your stay at our recently renovated Bloomington, MN hotel is the best it can be. Please join us in our new Crescent Kitchen restaurant and bar featuring over 16 microbrews on tap and over 84 whiskeys,scotch's bourbons. Come see us! We always have a cookie with your name on it ready and waiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South Hotel Bloomington
Sheraton Bloomington
Sheraton Minneapolis
Bloomington Sheraton
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing