We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filthy hotel and they know it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Muscatine, IA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Filthy hotel and they know it”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I just stayed for three nights at this hotel. We booked a pool side room because of the photos on the Hilton website. The photos show a modern aesthetic. But we got half of an updated room. The bedroom area was updated but the bathroom was terrible. They were very outdated and the wall paper was stained all over. It was disgusting.

The common areas of the hotel are very worn and very dirty. The carpet was just terrible, so much worse than I expected from a DoubleTree. There was trash on some stairs that was there for two days before someone finally decided to clean it up.

I complained twice to the front desk staff. Both times they kind of looked at each other in silent agreement of my assessment of the hotel. Really what could they say, it was obviously a filthy, worn hotel. I spoke to Kevin and Ryan, and I was told someone would get back to me via email. But of course that never happened.

Do yourself a favor and avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zip1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Zip1098,
I'm so sorry you did not enjoy your cabana room, but I appreciate your honest feedback. We strive for continuous improvement and I will certainly share your comments with our Housekeeping department and management team.

If your travels bring you back to Minneapolis, I hope you will give us another try.

All the best,
Lisa Impagliazzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    472
    345
    172
    100
See reviews for
371
193
71
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Western Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

There was some work being done in the lobby so it looks like there is being some attempts at updating this out dated property. In general the hotel has an 80’s look and feel to it. It’s very large with a huge lobby area and large pool and restaurant area. Also the rooms are large although the bathroom in my King room was somewhat average in size. There are certainly signs of wear on the doors and walls so upgrades need to be made. All in all this is an average to slightly above average hotel that if you get a deal and can save some money, it’s worth the stay. It was clean and the King bed was very comfortable. I did leave this hotel with a good impression of the staff. Everyone I came into contact with was professional and friendly including the front desk staff, restaurant staff and housekeeping. The wifi was a bit tricky with multiple passwords depending on where you were on the property...not a problem, just unusual

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candostill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Candostill,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so please you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to Minneapolis!

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Loud and super crowded, convention going on, lots and lots of people in odd costumes running the hotel up and down. It isn't getting any quieter. Not to mention, the ceiling is coming off, and cracking, the complimentry hairdryer overheats and there is a piece missing from the faucet.Oh, and my sheet has a stain i sincerely hope isn't blood on it. Gross. I was told this was an upgraded room in a area away from the convention. They are everywhere,, And parking sucks. I would upgrade for some quiet but i dont think it exists. Terrible experience, Will never stay here again, Epic fail Priceline, Time to use a different service.
hotel
. cant wait for my trip to end.

Room Tip: My room in the north tower is super loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Tina K,
I'm sorry you were disappointed in your experience with us. We did have a large convention in-house and it sounds like we were unable to give you the personal attention you deserved. For that, I apologize.

I do , however, invite you to try us again as I do not believe your stay was indicative of what we truly offer our guests. Please feel free to contact Rachele, our Director of Guest Relations, should you decide to give us another try.

Sincerely,
Lisa Impagliazzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saukville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and a great value for your money. We would not hesitate to stay here again if we ever come back to the St Paul MN area again. This is in a great location in the St Paul/Minneapolis area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Mark H,
Thank you for your review - we are so happy you enjoyed the hotel!
We certainly hope to see you again next time you are in town!

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our grandaughters graduation and it was very close to their house so very convenient. The rooms are redone and nicely done. The room could have been cleaner. Very clean and comfortable bed though. Rooms are small.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reino66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Reino66,

Thank you for your review and "congratulations" to the graduate! We really appreciate your feedback as it only helps to make us better - I will certainly share your comments with our housekeeping department!

We hope to see you again the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

was at this complex for a business meeting. I spent 3 nights and all were great. quiet and clean. easy access to all parts of complex.

Friendly staff and good food. great place to have conferences, staff really takes care of guests. Would definitely use it for retreats or business meetings

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel! We have worked hard to continually improve our service and we appreciate the great comments about our staff. We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Lisa Impagliazzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We are staying here on a impromptu mini vacation while power is restored to our neighborhood. We have a 2nd floor pool room overlooking the odd and spartan banquet area adjacent to the pool.

Pluses:
Big balcony
Good beds
Good tv channel choices

Minuses
Pool area is extremely loud with many many little children playing in it until 11 pm when it closes. The door and windows on these units need better soundproofing.

Carpet in room is very stained.

Room walls painted a depressing grey. My wife calls it business modern. I call it depressing grey and when i travel for business, I like warm happy colors. 1 small odd piece of art on the wall - goes well with the depressing grey....

Bathroom itself is very small, however there is an ante room with closet adjacent. Great potential for remodeling in the future.

Pool side suites are rented out for kid parties, resulting in a very very crowded pool on the Saturday we were there. Whirlpool is huge but mainly filled with 2 - 4 year olds, many with swim diapers and many whose parents are somewhere off doing something else. That is why the chlorine levels are so high. Fairly toxic fumes as the previous reviewer noted. It would be great if they had two whirlpools - one for the kiddies and their parents, and another for adults only (a make that one hotter).

The lobby is modern but also stark and filled with that odd cold fluorescent lighting that makes everyone look pale. Lots of places to sit but very few people actually ha g out there. The restaurant/bar is better but still carries that industrial minimalist motif that I do not personally care for.

Overall, not a bad place, but sad because it could be so much better for not that much of an investment. The hotel needs to add a lot more vegetation to the pool/banquet area, hire a color consultant and do some painting/redecorating, get more comfortable patio furniture for the poolside rooms, get new carpeting in the pool rooms and halls, replace the doors and locks (in bad shape now). Well okay perhaps the investment needed is a bit more. Start with the color change and the plants.

Location for those without a car is okay - there is a TGIFridays next door, along with a DQ, Burger King, Subway, caribou coffee, pizza place and convenience store all in a little strip mall out the back side of the hotel. With a car Southdale mall is a 5 minute drive and. TheCentennial Park shopping and park area is also very close. You can rent paddle boats and play putt putt golf there.

Room Tip: Pool rooms get lots of noise from pool, chlorine smell and are dark due to no outside windows, but h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auroraclubjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear auroraclubjazzz,
Thank you so very much for the specific feedback regarding your stay. It is always helpful to know what our valued guests think of our facilities. Your through review is much appreciated!

Again, thank you!
Lisa Impagliazzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Bloomington Hotel
Sheraton Bloomington Hotel
#21 of 43 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
Address: 7800 Normandale Blvd, Bloomington, MN 55439-3147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#18 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bloomington/Minneapolis South we put the human touch back into your travel experience. It all starts with the warm welcome of a chocolate chip cookie at check-in. Then the caring keeps coming with everything from luxurious comfort of our Sweet Dreams sleep experience, to our highly-trained staff members who are dedicated to anticipating your needs so your stay at our recently renovated Bloomington, MN hotel is the best it can be. Please join us in our new Crescent Kitchen restaurant and bar featuring over 16 microbrews on tap and over 84 whiskeys,scotch's bourbons. Come see us! We always have a cookie with your name on it ready and waiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South Hotel Bloomington
Sheraton Bloomington
Sheraton Minneapolis
Bloomington Sheraton
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing