We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, only the current construction prevents a higher rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed in this hotel during a recent business trip. This is a nice hotel. Some of the staff are very helpful/welcoming, namely John (the bell man/porter, many thanks for your shuttle service and general willingness to always help, above and beyond... a real asset to the hotel) and Tim (the bar tend, very friendly and welcoming when we went in to the bar, in fact probably went in more because of the welcome from Tim). The other staff are not unfriendly but not very helpful at all, to ask about the shuttle for example, seemed like an inconvenience.
The rooms are nice and well kitted out and to a good standard, I was on the tenth floor.
Free in room WiFi was good. Paper at your door every morning. Cleaned daily, no issue.
Pool is of a reasonable size (this was the main reason that I chose this over the nearby Park Plaza which has a very small pool). I had it all to myself at 07:00 which was great.
There was quite a bit of construction work (which a large sign says will be completed by 15 Oct 2012), which meant that a lot of the foyer/reception was wrapped in plastic, a lot of dust a the door due to the works. Short term, but still slightly took the shine of what will probably be a nice hotel.

In summary, a good hotel which I'm sure will be even better when the revamp is completed. Some excellent staff, but some staff let this hotel down.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AO_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,540 - 1,546 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Doubletree this weekend for our annual theater and restaurant extravaganza. The listing for the junior suite was that there was "a small refrigerator and microwave to store and prepare those late night snacks." What they didn't mention was that you would have to ask for them! The room was very clean, but when the whirlpool started up, scummy dirty water came out of the jets polluting our nice warm, clean water. Uggh! The decor was decent but cold looking and dark, nothing but nice lighting to brighten the grey, dark blue and brown, depressing look. We also had o ask fort he bathrobes that are standard with hotels of this quality. The staff was unfailingly helpful, but his hotel was not what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chloesmom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Easy to find with GPS.....well-lit sign at top of hotel...easy to see from freeway; maybe a bit difficult to negotiate to because of all the freeway construction. Our check-in clerk was efficient but somewhat dry. The room was well-appointed although the cleaning staff had missed some spots....cookie crumbs, hair and watermarks on cabinetry. The room had been obviously upgraded (modernized) but the tub surround, tired beige 4x4 tiles, did not match the updated decor. The room heating system's fan was quite noisy. We were on the 17th floor but this was not inconvenient because elevators were fast. Wish they offered free in-room wifi. Beds were super comfy. Buffet breakfast at $13 was excellent...so was the breakfast service.

Room Tip: Avoid joined rooms unless you really want them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winterpegger_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is clean, warm, and dry, but slightly dated. Everything still works, but the carpet is a bit aged for a hotel of this price range, the bathroom fixtures work but there was slight paint peeling and a finicky faucet valve. On the plus side, the room was HUGE. I was in town for a combination of work and family trip.

On the big minus side, there appears to be a lack of discretion on the part of management. The hotel was playing host to a wedding and some sort of zombie convention called Crypticon. There were monsters and zombies of all descriptions everywhere all weekend. That of course isn't a problem by itself, and the Crypticon crowd seems generally friendly. The problem was that hotel management had allowed (yes, scheduled and planned) the zombies to essentially party till 2AM on the night of their "Zombie Prom" - and this included the foyer/atrium area that was attached to our room's hallway. So of course, little sleeping was done by anyone until 2AM in our $100+ rooms. When we called to complain there was no real answer to be given. I spoke to a couple other folks the morning after and they had also called to complain. There was also a 'normal' wedding going on in the hotel. Wonder how that father of the bride felt about paying big bucks to share the wedding day with a bunch of kids dressed up as monsters & zombies.

At the end of the day, it was still clean, warm and dry, but the management makes some VERY interesting decisions. Why would you schedule such a party in a common area of the hotel? With all the choices in the area, I'd look elsewhere if you like quiet.

Room Tip: Get a room way up high so you can't hear the goings on in the atrium, lobby and convention rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel was a decent place to stay. I was on a business trip and had a great stay! Kid friendly, however, If I brought my family/kids I would ask for a poolside room. The staff was very nice and the rooms were very clean! We had a huge group of people staying at this hotel and everyone was happy!
No complaints and I would recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drm02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

In the twin cities for the birth of our granddaughter, we checked in about 4:45 a.m. Our experience couldn't have been better. The desk clerk at that time (I wish that I recorded her name) was phenomenal. First, she treated us with courtesy, friendliness, and professionalism. Then, she gave us a free upgrade to an executive suite. Finally, as she smiled and congratulated us on the birth of our granddaughter, she gave us three warm chocolate chip cookies, an act that was truly appreciated since we hadn't eaten all night. Besides the excellent service, the hotel lobby and the room we were assigned were away above average.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel has some potential - the property has been there for many years and was once a flagship Radisson hotel. However it is currenlty undergoing major renovation that makes a simple task like finding the front door nearly impossible. It's already difficult to get to the hotel, which is on a frontage road with no signs to direct you from either MN-100 or I-494 - but even then there are only small, unlit signs on easles showing where the building entrance is. Not very helpful if you arrive after sunset. Lastly the rooms in the West Tower on the Hilton Honors floor are supposedly the latest design. I must say they have decent furnishings but the color scheme is pretty much what I'd expect to be used in a prison or a 1960s-era Sovient apartment block. Who uses gunmetal gray as the primary pallette for a hotel room? Any excitement from a newly-furnished room is destroyed by the feeling of being institutionalized. Food in the Executive Lounge is below-average and boring.

On the plus side, the staff are all very friendly and accommodating and were apologetic for the problems with finding the front door. But I'd wait until the parking lot construction is done - and even then, perhaps the nearby Sofitel is a better choice. Of course die-hard Hilton or D-tree fans like me might simply take their chances, but you may want to "steel yourself" for the ambiance of your cell (...I mean hotel room)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsondk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
6.6 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/St. Paul Airport Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Bloomington Hotel
Sheraton Bloomington Hotel
#22 of 43 in Bloomington
175 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South

Address: 7800 Normandale Blvd, Bloomington, MN 55439-3147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#18 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: $70 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bloomington/Minneapolis South we put the human touch back into your travel experience. It all starts with the warm welcome of a chocolate chip cookie at check-in. Then the caring keeps coming with everything from luxurious comfort of our Sweet Dreams sleep experience, to our highly-trained staff members who are dedicated to anticipating your needs so your stay at our recently renovated Bloomington, MN hotel is the best it can be. Please join us in our new Crescent Kitchen restaurant and bar featuring over 16 microbrews on tap and over 84 whiskeys,scotch's bourbons. Come see us! We always have a cookie with your name on it ready and waiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South Hotel Bloomington
Sheraton Bloomington
Sheraton Minneapolis
Bloomington Sheraton
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing