We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I have stayed at a lot of hotels in Minn. and this is one of the best. The lobby is large, clean, and tasteful. The executive floor is nice with a lounge for cocktails & breakfast, the rooms are clean, large, and very functional. The excerise room is well appointed, clean, and loaded with machines.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCoupleSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Administrative Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We are honored that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    486
    355
    179
    105
See reviews for
392
199
71
714
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We only spent one evening so I'm not going to qualify myself as an expert.
The location is ideal for freeway access.
The registration was friendly and always includes Doubletree's warm cookie. The hotel is looking its age and needs some major work. Our room door was flimsy and the walls must be thin because noise was a real problem. Our room had a good view but the window was mostly unusable due to faulty thermopane. The bedding and the flat screen TV were the room's best features.
Don't eat the food. We attended a dinner that was mostly cold and inedible.
Overall, an average to below average experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jblck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Administrative Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are truly sorry that your room and dinner experience was less than excellent. We have recently begun a $12.5 million renovation of our property and your feedback will also help us improve on our dinner service. We hope you will give us another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, SC
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here in July 2011 before going to the airport to head home from a wedding. We got a great deal through Priceline. During our stay they had signs up in the lobby explaining a coming renovation, so that may have taken place by now.

POSITIVES:
- Rooms are very comfortable and clean
- Parking is free
- Very convenient to the interstate

NEGATIVES:
- The pool and hot tub area, while clean, looked very old and in need of updates
- Overall the hotel needed updating and "freshening" of the decor

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Administrative Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your room, parking and the location of our hotel. We have, in fact, recently begun our property renovation and hope you will enjoy the refreshed and updated look when you next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

It has been a few years since staying at this hotel due to where my business travel took me. The new Doubletree brand is awesome. (last time here it was a Sheraton) The updates to the rooms in this hotel where great. Tim and John worked hard to meet your needs in the lounge and helped make it a great stay. I look forward to returning to this hotel soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nalsb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Administrative Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your kind words to the lounge staff. We are glad to have you back with us and look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Wow. We stayed at the DoubleTree by Hlton in Bloomington MN the weekend of 1/21/12... I researched places to stay for a week before booking this hotel for our quick trip from WI to Minneapolis with our 3 kids. We had the best stay we have ever had with our kids at a hotel. When we first pulled up to the hotel my husband dropped me and the 3 kids off with our luggage as it was snowing hard and he was going to park the car...I checked in, they gave us 5 warm chocolate chip cookies and the NICE "bell boy" outside the doors took my luggage and showed us to our room while carrying ALL my luggage in and nicely putting it in the room. We got a pool side room (A MUST with kids) I cant say enough about the pool side rooms.....the room was awesome....2 doors a front door and a back door to the room...the backdoor led to a private patio with table and chairs and direct view and access of the pool...kids thought it was awesome and wanted to do to the pool right away. Pool was HUGE...and warm and clean....hot tub could fit 40 people in it...you could swim laps!! And nice bench seating all around...AND a little play area for the kids right in the pool area with little tykes climbing toys for the little ones! They offer free shuttle service to the mall of america and to the airport. Then there is the NICE restaurant they have there....we ate breakfast there 2 of the days....a little pricey...but SOOO worth it! Kids ate free at an awesome breakfast buffet so how could we complain!! All the staff is SO nice, they pride theirselves on customer service thats for sure! The bus boy that walked me to the room, immediately thought we might need some extra pool towels and I said that would be great...he had them there in minutes...and they are awesome full bath sized white plush pool towels!! If you call that care line...they will gladly tell you anythign you need or want to know about the minneapolis area including places to eat and they give you a list or nearest pizza places and restuarants that deliver and dont deliver if you just ask for it. The whole ambiance was beautiful....the bar looked so nice, but obviously with 3 little ones we didnt go there this trip :) We will definately be back to this hotel....in fact I dont think we will stay anywhere else...when traveling to the cities!

Room Tip: If traveling with kids, get a POOL SIDE room...they are amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourbrewcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Administrative Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My husband, daughter and dog stayed here for a couple of days while we went to the Mall of America. This place is pet-friendly (they don't charge for dogs, just make you sign a waiver). I got the room with my points and opted for the Executive Suite to get the free continental breakfast and evening hors d'ouevres and beverages.. Upon check-in we were told that the Club lounge is closed on Saturdays, but they compensated us with two buffet breakfast coupons and two drink coupons for each day we were staying. The breakfast buffet was pretty good...eggs, sausage, bacon, homestyle potatoes, french toast, fruits, yogurt, breads, juices and coffee.

We stayed in the North Tower. You can tell the hotel is dated, but still nice. The room is one big oversized room, which is why I guess it's considered a suite. The king bed was very comfortable. My daughter slept on the sofa sleeper. I fell asleep on it the second night and it was actually very comforatable. While pulling out the couch we noticed a lot of trash underneath and called the careline. They had housekeeping make sure to vacuum when they came through the next day. The bathroom had Crabtree and Evelyn products, which I love! We did't use the pool, but it looked pretty nice. The pool and hot tub were both very large.

The only cons about this place were the size (it's a big hotel). This is a conference hotel and I noticed a lot of airlines employees stay here, as well. There was a conference going on while we were there. We arrived at about 11pm the first night and there were a lot drunk, loud people walking around and slamming doors. We were too tired to really care, but it was annoying to be sleeping and have a door slam every hour or so. The second night it wasn't that bad.

We took the shuttle back and forth from the hotel to the Mall of America and it was right on time. The hotel staff was friendly and accomodating.

All in all, I would stay here again, but it wouldn't be my first choice for the price and the fact that it's a big conference hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at the Doubletree in Bloomington on New Year's Eve night with our two small children. Our room was located in the north tower, with the entrance to the room overlooking the atrium. Since it was New Year's Eve, it was to be expected that there be some noise from the atrium, but I was amazed at just how clearly I could hear every conversation and scream. It was as if the door were paper thin or wide open. I could also hear mumbled conversations from adjoining rooms and noises from the room above us. It was a windy night and the window was not sealed well and rattled and whistled all night.

The decor of the room was nice, the beds comfortable, plenty of pillows, clean modern bathroom. At check-in, we were given warm cookies, which was a nice touch. Beware the thin walls and noisy sleeping environment.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cmw133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Bloomington Hotel
Sheraton Bloomington Hotel
#20 of 42 in Bloomington
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/Bloomington
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
Address: 7800 Normandale Blvd, Bloomington, MN 55439-3147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#18 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bloomington/Minneapolis South we put the human touch back into your travel experience. It all starts with the warm welcome of a chocolate chip cookie at check-in. Then the caring keeps coming with everything from luxurious comfort of our Sweet Dreams sleep experience, to our highly-trained staff members who are dedicated to anticipating your needs so your stay at our recently renovated Bloomington, MN hotel is the best it can be. Please join us in our new Crescent Kitchen restaurant and bar featuring over 16 microbrews on tap and over 84 whiskeys,scotch's bourbons. Come see us! We always have a cookie with your name on it ready and waiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South Hotel Bloomington
Sheraton Bloomington
Sheraton Minneapolis
Bloomington Sheraton
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing