We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is NOT a 3.5 star hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I got a good deal on hotwire and after reading reviews I wanted to make sure I got in the newer part of the hotel. Upon arrival I asked the young man checking us in if we could please have a newer room. Now keep in mind this was a Wednesday night and the parking lot was maybe 1/4 full. He told me sure, but the newer rooms are bigger so I would have to pay another $25! I said "forget it". With that said he put us in room 1102. We walked into the horrible smell of smoke and mold! We tried to call down to the desk but the phone didn't work so I called from my cell. We then got room 1406 which didn't smell but had stains on the carpet, peeling paint off walls and not what you would expect from a 3.5 star hotel. There wasn't even extra toilet paper so we had to use kleenex! The only good part was the beds were comfortable BUT walls are paper thin so you can here everything in the halls and other rooms. BEWARE if you use priceline or hotwire because you will get the old crappy rooms!

Room Tip: Don't stay unless you can be in the new part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,625 - 1,631 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is the first Hilton brand hotel that I've stayed in where I thought the cleanliness was poor. Not the same standards as other Hilton brands. Crumbs were over the desk and the shower and toilet area had not been cleaned. The longer I stayed in the room, the more I noticed the below par cleaning. Everything else about the hotel was fine, the staff were friendly and the pool area was large.

Room Tip: stay away from the pool if you want a good night sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warminmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I booked through priceline for 45 a night. Considering the price not bad at all. Standard rooms and a regular lobby...nothing fancy. About 10 min drive from mall of America.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karjanmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night recently. Our 3 rooms are close to the indoor swimming pool - this turned out to be a big problem later. Around 12:30am, we were waken up by very big noise from outside. It seemed that there was a big Halloween party (although Halloween already passed) just in the indoor pool area. Many people kept loudly speaking, singing, screaming and applauding. All my family members in 3 rooms were disturbed very much, and my baby was scared and kept crying. At 1:30am, I called the hotel hotline and complained the noise to the hotel staff. The lady confirmed there was a party in the pool area. She apologized and said the party was supposed to end before midnight and she promised to have the hotel security to stop them soon. However, this promise was never realized and the noise lasted until 5am!!! Then at 7am, early swimmers began using the pool, and new noise appeared again. A sleepless night for all of us! The following morning, my father, mother-in-law and baby were sick due to the bad sleep. We had to cancel our planned incoming trips and returned home early. We have stayed many hotels before but never met a problem like this. This horrible hotel stay just ruined our planned vacation. In short, we have experienced the worst hotel that we have ever experienced. I filed a complaint on the hotel website but received no response.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel, unless you would enjoy a sleepless night with big noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Reserved and prepaid for this room on the Doubletree website for a 1 night stay to visit my fiancee's family and check out a play at the Guthrie Theater and shop at the Mall of America. This hotel was recently converted to a Doubletree and is undergoing renovations. It was until recently a Sheraton. Upon entering the hotel I was greeted promptly and given a free upgrade to a room on the newly renovated 17th floor. Check-in was quick and the famous Doubletree cookie was warm and delicious.

The room had a super comfortable king size bed. I swear I could just live in the beds they have at Doubletree hotels. Also in the room was a large flatscreen television and a spacious desk with a comfortable office chair. The bathroom had a shower with awesome water pressure (especially for being on the 17th floor). The large window in the hotel room let plenty of light in and had a great view of the surrounding area. I especially liked being able to see the downtown Minneapolis skyline in the distance... It was a really cool sight at night as well.

There is a large indoor pool and a 20 person hot tub in the hotel as well. It is in the low-rise part of the hotel and has yet to be renovated. They were both nice, but showing a bit of age. Across from the hot tub there is a fitness center that had what looks like brand new exercise equipment.

There are a couple restaurants in the hotel, as well as a bar. My fiancee and I did not dine in any of them, but I did order breakfast from room service and must say that it was delicious. I recommend the pancakes! If you choose not to dine at the hotel, there is a TGI Friday's across the parking lot and a KFC. Across the street from the hotel there is a Chilis as well.

The location is right off of Interstate 494 about 10 miles from downtown Minneapolis and 5 miles from the Mall of America and Minneapolis-St Paul International Airport.

Overall, this was a great hotel and I will stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Get a room in the high rise tower. The views are nice and the rooms are newly renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtfagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We very much were impressed with this hotel when we walked into the lobby. Very spacious, bright and sparkly clean. Front desk staff very friendly and accommodating. Our room had windows the entire width of the room overlooking the city - lovely. We kept the curtains open as long as we could so we could enjoy the view. The room was cozy, bed was fabulously comfy, lovely king size with squishy pillows (a ton) and bright white bedding. Towels were large and heavy. Everything was very clean and enjoyable, including the pool and large hot tub. Even the plumbing was extra quiet with no clanking or cold water spurt surprises sometimes experienced in our stays in other hotels. Overall we loved this place and will definitely return. Hope to snag another deal on Priceline! The only negative comment I could have, which is minor compared with all that we enjoyed, is a free continental breakfast or grab-n-go would put this on the top of the hotel pile. Traveling with a family this would be a cost saver we would enjoy. However, there is a very nice restaurant on site and a TGI Fridays and DQ next door. Convenient location and very nice sleep. Thank you, Doubletree! Love the cookies!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenskiMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This hotel has a pool in the indoor courtyard. It was so loud it was ridiculous. Envision small children screaming until 11:00 pm. And I had three of my own small children with me! It was like torture the noise level from the pool. I'll never stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jraineygibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/Bloomington
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Bloomington Hotel
Sheraton Bloomington Hotel
#22 of 43 in Bloomington
176 reviews
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South

Address: 7800 Normandale Blvd, Bloomington, MN 55439-3147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#18 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: $76 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bloomington/Minneapolis South we put the human touch back into your travel experience. It all starts with the warm welcome of a chocolate chip cookie at check-in. Then the caring keeps coming with everything from luxurious comfort of our Sweet Dreams sleep experience, to our highly-trained staff members who are dedicated to anticipating your needs so your stay at our recently renovated Bloomington, MN hotel is the best it can be. Please join us in our new Crescent Kitchen restaurant and bar featuring over 16 microbrews on tap and over 84 whiskeys,scotch's bourbons. Come see us! We always have a cookie with your name on it ready and waiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South Hotel Bloomington
Sheraton Bloomington
Sheraton Minneapolis
Bloomington Sheraton
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing