We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better than I expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
winnipeg
2 reviews
“better than I expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

This hotel was one of the best hotels I've stayed in. although it's rated as a 3 and a half star hotel, it's definitely a 4 star in disguise.

The friendly staff and service was above and beyond what I had expected.

The free hourly shuttle to MoA was extremely convenient. The front desk was very kind and respectful. I had a great view from my room on the 11th floor.

The pool and hot tub are large and can accommodate many people so you don't have to feel cramped sitting shoulder to shoulder with a bunch of strangers.

I will definitely be going back there any time I'm in town.

also... you get warm chocolate chip cookies when you check in... yum!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calvin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    463
    334
    165
    94
See reviews for
362
187
67
675
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roland, OK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Pro's: Convenient distance from the mall, downtown and the airport; free wi-fi; free parking; large closets, good bed linens; comfy chair and ottoman; good hdtv.

Con's: Small bathroom; noise from halls and other rooms; finicky a.c.; dated feel.

We can't complain too much because we got this place on the cheap through priceline. They gave us a double room and couldn't / wouldn't accomodate us with a king, but we know the risk with priceline. Had we paid $150 +, this review would not be so nice.

The hotel is showing it's age, but I assume Hilton is going to throw some cash at it. It has a very wierd layout from the moment you pull in. You have to make several turns to get to the lobby door and nearby parking. It almost seems like the front is at the back. I think they are in the process of resurfacing their parking lots and driveways -- at least I hope so because right now there is loose gravel on all the surfaces. Not a big deal on this trip but it could scuff the ladies' shoes or otherwise make a mess in rainy weather. A little insulation, paint and carpet will go a long way. I didn't hang around the lobby too much, but it seemed to be in decent shape. Front desk folks were niether rude or nice, just sort of "there". The wifi was easy to connect to and we had an excellent signal the entire stay. Way too much noise out in the hall and some wierd sounds from the plumbing at the worst times.

We've always had good luck with Doubletree and I look forward to visiting this hotel again. I would bet that Hilton is going to do some major upgrades.

Finally, one for the entire Doubletree brand: how about some milk with those cookies :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OKStateGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

I've stayed at many of the hotels in Bloomington and this was my first time staying at this location. It is just ok, I am surprised that this is a 3.5 star hotel. I stayed up in 1505 and the room looks like it is from the 70's. It was very small, bathroom even smaller. Reminded me of a room in NYC or something. I got this room for really cheap on priceline so I guess I can't complain.

Pros - location is good and around lots places to eat etc, comfy bed

Cons - Rooms are very dry, pool area very crowded with TONS of kids in the whirlpool, no towels when I was down in pool area with hot tub being luke warm and very very strong with chlorine. Walls are paper thin and the room decor is very outdated. Small room.

I really didn't have a bad stay, but I really did not have a great stay and really have no reason to want to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minntwins5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Warm chocolate chip cookies on check-in, coffee pots in the room, comfortable beds, amenities by Crabtree and Evelyn, free internet in room, helpful staff, excellent shuttle service to airport and Mall of America.
A few restaurants within walking distance. One of the restaurants in the hotel is nice and not overpriced.
Negatives: no free breakfast, unappealing looking from the outside.
Conference facilities are excellent. Lots of space with breakout rooms. Nice lunches provided for us (but no dessert, which is great if you want to eat healthy). Wireless network for conference available. High tech ready.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

This was actually our second time staying at the hotel but before it was Sherton. Check-in very smooth and friendly service. We got our warm cookies at check-in which was a nice perk. The room was nice and clean. Pool is a good size with a little play area (out of the water) for the little ones which is a nice feature. We got this hotel through Priceline.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogger22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Me and my boyfriend wanted a night to celebrate our engagement, we should of stayed some where else. Demetre checked us in, wow he was not friendly! When he was checking us in he walked over to the printer and had the nerve to talk about us with the other gentlemen that was working at the front desk. I was recommended to this hotel by a freind and I would never go back or tell anyone to stay here. Our room had shampoo all over the shower curtain and mold in the bath tub, I think the only thing that I enjoyed at the hotel was the comfortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cali1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeBloom, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Hello:

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We sincerely apologize for your recent experience at our hotel. We've sent you a message offline so we can speak with you directly to discuss. Please respond at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Our family recently stayed for two nights in July. Staff at front desk and bell-hop were very friendly. Room was nice and clean but bathroom needed some work. Toilet was the type you would find in a department store and strangely positioned in bathroom and bathtub tiles were somewhat old and moldy. Beds were very comfortable. Pool was very crowded with kids - must have been some teams there. Second night there was very noisy. Kids in room above us jumping on beds and walking and running around until 2:00 a.m. Called front desk and things quieted down shortly thereafter. Nice to have shuttle bus take us to Mall of America and pick us up. That was great because we're not that familiar with city. Don't think I would pay full price for this hotel but we obtained room through Hotwire so was worth price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee6150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Minneapolis Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
Address: 7800 Normandale Blvd, Bloomington, MN 55439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#18 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bloomington/Minneapolis South we put the human touch back into your travel experience. It all starts with the warm welcome of a chocolate chip cookie at check-in. Then the caring keeps coming with everything from luxurious comfort of our Sweet Dreams sleep experience, to our highly-trained staff members who are dedicated to anticipating your needs so your stay at our recently renovated Bloomington, MN hotel is the best it can be. Please join us in our new Crescent Kitchen restaurant and bar featuring over 16 microbrews on tap and over 84 whiskeys,scotch's bourbons. Come see us! We always have a cookie with your name on it ready and waiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South Hotel Bloomington
Sheraton Bloomington
Sheraton Minneapolis
Bloomington Sheraton
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing