We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Mill

Green Mill
Ranked #118 of 223 Restaurants in Bloomington
Price range: $10 - $16
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Italian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our menu has fantastic pizza AND delicious pastas, wings, entrees, burgers, sandwiches, appetizers, delicious drinks, and more.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We ate breakfast here as we were staying in the attached property and were offered coupons as part of the loyalty program. The menu selection was decent and a buffet was also offered. The buffet was selected by 2 of our group who appreciated being able to serve themselves. Those of use who ordered off the menu waited well over 40 minutes for our breakfasts (standard fare - pancakes, eggs, etc.). The restaurant was not busy at all so I'm not sure why everything took as long as it did. As we were near a server station, it was much simpler to get mustard, ketchup, etc. ourselves than to wait to have it brought to us as our server was not very effective, even though it was evident a genuine effort was put forward. The coupons made our breakfast very affordable and worth the wait although without them, I likely would eat elsewhere next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CopRasFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    22
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago metro area
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Incompetent staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Three different servers, three breakfasts, all brought incorrectly. Had to send back twice and waited, literally, 27 minutes for toast that didn't come out at the same time as breakfast. There were a total of 7 patrons in the restaurant at the time...after I walked back to the kitchen to offer to make the toast myself, we left.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milroy, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel connected to the restaurant so we decided to eat here. Big mistake, we had to wait over an hour for our food and it wasn't even that busy. We never even got asked by the waiter/waitress for more drinks or stuff. Plus the food wasn't even that good. Then we decided to make a reservation to see if we could get our food earlier, they told us wait was 30-45 minutes or so. Ok no big deal, we waited for 30 minutes and then they told us it would take another 45 MINUTES! ARE YOU KIDDING. No we left and went to a Denny's nearby.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
162 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Poor wait staff and kitchen on seemingly slow night.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This restaurant is attached to the Holiday Inn and is used for the hotels breakfasts, which can be considered pricey when you see other hotels of lesser quality offer free breakfast. Although it was a Saturday night, we went early and found it to be with few customers. But, unfortunately that didn't seem to help our waitress who seemed completely overwhelmed. We finally received our appetizers, followed by our meals only one minute later. Refills on beverages were not forthcoming without prodding. Pasta sent out from the kitchen was way over cooked and mushy. And to top it all off, after a nearly half hour wait for our bill, we had to hunt down our overwhelmed, completely flustered waitress to get it. Managements attitude towards the whole thing was one of apathy. So, as a restaurant to drive to for dining-no way. But if I was staying in the hotel and it was a blizzard or raining out-I might try it again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TraveLotsnLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lots of choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We received 15% off of our tab and one free beverage by joining the Holiday Inn rewards program. They have a nice variety of food choices and drinks, and it was convenient for us traveling with a large group of basketball tournament families.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kellyboed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Mill also viewed

 

Been to Green Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing