We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool spot perfectly located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Mall of America
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The property is hip and modern, and we definitely felt that we got lots of value for the room price. We traveled with our teenage children. The staff at this hotel had the kind of service orientation that is hard to find. We checked in very late and the front desk staff couldn't have been more accommodating, including walking us to the elevator. We loved the floral designs in the lobby, the room and the overall vibe. The restaurant was impressive. Again the staff didn't disappoint. The menu offers lots of flavorful, fresh and interesting options and our server had a deep understanding of the preparation of each dish. He welcomed our questions and seemed passionate about the menu. It was a hit with kids and adults alike. This is our new 'go to' place in Minneapolis.

Tips: the connection to MOA makes this easy. There is also free transportation to MSP which is very easy. We got a great rate when we booked in advance and it went way up the second night when we returned unexpectedly due to a flight cancellation. Make sure you ask about rate specials and free airport transportation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LolaLeeLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,509)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Mall of America
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,317 - 3,323 of 3,510 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a lovely and modern hotel, very sparkly and new, situated adjacent to the Mall of America so you never have to leave the building if you're there just for the mall. We stayed 3 nights in September 2013.

Rooms:
Very nice, if a bit small.The queen beds were very comfortable. Everything worked well and suited our needs; nice bathrobes, slippers, and good toiletries were appreciated. We finally figured out that if you keep the wardrobe door open, it partly blocks the bathroom light from the rest of the room where others were sleeping (the door is glass, so it's insufficient at blocking light.)

Service: The staff are young, and some are still learning. But the concierge was very helpful, as were the parking lot and lounge staff.

Parking:
Ugh. This parking lot, shared with the mall, is extremely full on weekends or whenever they are having major events at the hotel which seems often. Parking is complementary, but you might have to search a bit to find a spot, or use the valet if it's impossible. We arrived on a Thursday around mall closing time, so it was easy to get a spot. But we were travelling into the city daily, and the weekend returns were a bit nightmarish. Once (Saturday), the entire mall parking entrance was blocked off near the hotel. We were forced onto the freeway, and finally were able to circle the mall and use a back way to get in. The hotel should negotiate reserved parking for guests, and it would be nice if guests were forewarned about parking issues. One person at the concierge finally told us on Saturday evening that we should not leave the hotel by car if we expected to get a spot on our return due to how busy they were that evening (600 guests for an event or multiple events.)

We stayed on the 13th floor (executive level) so that we could use the business lounge.. It was very nicely appointed with iPads, newspapers, snacks, coffee, tea, etc. It was great being able to pick up some extra bottled water when we ran out in our room. However, the complimentary breakfast is pretty basic. It's basically continental, with some oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and cheese thrown in. It was identical on each of the 3 mornings we were there, though the pastries might have varied just slightly. The fruit was good, however. Just don't go in expecting a lot of choices or variety, as they aren't really going for that.

Overall, it was a great choice for us. We got the third night free on a promotion, and the breakfast such that it was saved us money even with the added cost of the executive level, as we had 4 people in our room. It's very convenient to the mall and entire area, and I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greeny-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hotel was very impressive. Room was nicely appointed. The bathrooms were a nice size but lack counter space and no drawers to put clothes in. Did not use the pool but noticed there was not hot tub. Exercise room was a good size with lots of equipment from treadmills to free weights. The restaurant for breakfast was amazing. The menu has some interesting but tasty items and if you are lucky to get Rick as your waiter, your experience is complete. The prices in the bar are a bit pricey but drinks were good. All the staff that we had contact with were all very friendly and helpful and you got the feeling you were never a bother.

Room Tip: we had a Double Queen room on the 10th floor that over looked Killebrew and found that it was very q...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spatters1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

As an upscale property, the prices are in line with what you would expect.

That being said, the quality and execution of the room service offerings were quite poor.

Additionally I experienced a lack of communication between staffers in addressing a problem at the property that stretched into hours.

Personally, with all of the options around MSP and the MOA, I certainly will not be returning to the property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Mall of America, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. We would like to hear more about your concerns. Please contact the hotel directly and ask for Jay Rankin, General Manager of FireLake to discuss your room service experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had got a great deal on the room so my husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon.

We were greeted by the staff who opened the door and asked if we needed help with our bags. We've never stayed at a hotel this high scale so to not to impose we declined the help with our bags. We regretted not getting the help because of the way you have to get around the hotel. You take an escalator or elevator from the lobby to the second floor and then have to take a different set of elevators a good 20 feet away to get to the floors with the rooms. And we ended up with a room that was further down the hallway so we were kind of tired after dragging our bags with a uncontrollable cart thingy.

I've seen some other reviews where the reviewer claims they were treated differently because they didn't fit in with the rest of the yuppie hipsters and business men who were staying there. That wasn't the case with us. We were probably dressed like we were ready to go to a Metallica show and were a bit disheveled from having driven two and a half hours, but we weren't treated like scum. The staff was very friendly and kind to us.

Our rooms were very nice and decorated in modern furniture. But the bed wasn't all that comfortable for me (not helped with having a somewhat bad back) and I used the unnecessary abundance of pillows they use to decorate the beds to cushion myself the second and third night we were there. Unfortunately, he window view was horrible. I think we were looking at the wall of the parking garage and the view sucked. But I guess that wasn't a huge deal as we were too busy traversing the cities to really care that we didn't have a spectacular view.

The hotel is connected to the Mall of America. We were going to spend one of our days shopping there so this was very convenient. It was nice to shop around on one floor and come back to the room to drop off bags if we had too many to carry around comfortably.

Overall, we loved this hotel and would stay here again if given the chance.

Room Tip: Try to get something closer to the elevator.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamBenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in suite for 1 night. I thought the front desk lacked friendliness. The hotel is decorated nice-modern. We got confused trying to find our room. There are 2 sets of elevators and no signs telling you where the 2nd set are to get up to the guestrooms. The room was nice. There was no minibar. Just an expresso/coffee maker and 2 bottles of water. We went out to a comedy club and came back around 10pm. We were thirsty so we searched for a pop machine. NONE. We called the desk and they said you have to order it from service! That breaks down to nearly $7 for a coke! I forgot my phone charger so i went down to the front desk to see if they had a charging station or like other hotels just let you use a charger. Nope! I could BUY one though! They of course didnt have mine available. Overall its a nice looking, clean hotel, but it lacks friendliness, common neccesities, and is ridicuosly overpriced in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matsun60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Mall of America, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize that you feel you did not receive a positive level of service during your recent stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments and take them into consideration. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We would stay here again. We stayed here to celebrate our daughter's birthday.

The rooms are very contemporary. We booked a king suite plus an extra room with two queen beds. The suite came with access to the lounge which was very nice with a great view of the MSP airport. They have some light things to enjoy for evening and breakfast.

Being attached to the MOA is a huge plus - as well as the parking garage.

The only complaint is the cost. Very expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Minneapolis Mall of America
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Mall of America

Address: 2100 Killebrew Dr, Bloomington, MN 55425-1813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Green Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: $170 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Mall of America 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Mall of America is the only hotel conveniently connected directly to Mall of America, the largest indoor entertainment and shopping mall in the United States. Just a short drive from the state capitol in downtown St. Paul and minutes from downtown Minneapolis via the Metro Transit Light Rail, Radisson Blu offers an ideal location among Twin Cities and Bloomington hotels. Rest well in one of 500 fashionable guest rooms and suites, each including premier amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet access and room service. If you're looking for world-class cuisine, FireLake Grill House & Cocktail Bar is the perfect place to enjoy a scrumptious meal or gather with colleagues for a delicious microbrew. Keep your workout routine on track in the hotel's fitness center, which includes an indoor swimming pool and a fully equipped fitness room and an onsite spa. The hotel's location at Mall of America offers a highly trained team of event planners available to help you host professional meetings, conferences and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Hotwire, Booking.com, Prestigia, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Radisson Blu Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Mall Of America Bloomington, MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing