We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Manitoba
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“a great little hotel”
Reviewed February 24, 2009

We booked online the day before arrival and they gave our room away - so we received an upgrade to a suite for the two nights we were there, for less than $90. Can't beat that!

It's a little confusing to find it from the MOA, and about 15 minutes away - definitely not "across the street" so don't confuse this one from the other CI&S if that's your point in going to Bloomington.

Front staff was a little rude when we called at 11pm to order room service (ends at 10pm).... also rude to a few children who were shivering from the pool & looking for towels. Yes, they were dripping across the lobby and were disturbing to guests, but the attitude they received was snobby!

Hubby wasn't a fan of the pillows - about half the length of a 'normal' pillow, and rather full - his neck cricked from being too 'propped' for two nights.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamingofgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    236
    130
    105
    62
See reviews for
403
157
51
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

My wife and I stayed here as part of a 16-day train trip around the US. My wife wanted to visit the Mall of America and I booked this hotel (it is just across the road from the MOA - and for people who can't manage to cross the road on their own they run a shuttle bus!).
Our train arrived early morning, and by the time we had got to the hotel (after 22-hour train journey across the Prairies from Montana) and faced with a day shopping, we really needed to freshen up. We knew from the booking information that check-in was from 3pm, so we didn't have any expectations when we arrived at 9.30am. We were just expecting to be able to leave our bags and have to come back later. How wrong we were! Absolutely full marks to the receptionist who made us feel welcome, checked us in there and then with remarkable speed and efficiency and directed us to our room. She even pointed out that breakfast (included in the price of our stay) was still being served and we could avail ourselves. So we had one night, and two breakfasts!
We had an excellent room - a 'Two room King Suite' - which cost $154 + tax. There was a sitting room with big flat screen TV, a bathroom, and beyond a large bedroom with another big flat screen TV. No arguing over what to watch on TV!
Needless to say, with such a nice room, I left my wife in the MOA and hid in the hotel room! Shopping isn't my thing, but I certainly did appreciate a very nice hotel room and good service. Well done Country Inn!

  • Liked — Reception - excellent service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Portia142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We picked this hotel for our 3 night stay because of its location (between MOA and Valleyfair), swimming pool, hot breakfast and price. The location turned out to be a good choice and we even used their MOA shuttle one day (very convenient and a nice break not to have to drive for once). The swimming pool was a little small but it served its purpose for our 6 year old and it was very nicely decorated. The hot breakfast was great and had plenty of choice for everyone (highly recommended). The price could not be beat for what we received ($75 corporate rate for 2 queens).

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with all requests. Check in/out was an absolute breeze and took no time at all.

My only real complaint is that the room itself was a little run down with the usual wear and tear and did not match the excellent quality of the public areas. There were only ice machines on the 1st and 5th floors which could be a hassle. We could only get into a smoking room (serves me right for booking so late) but they ozoned the room for us and it was OK. As others have mentioned, the elevators ar run down and need an overhaul (they make some pretty interesting noises...).

We will definately stay again when next in Minni.

  • Liked — Price, breakfast, location
  • Disliked — elevator, room wear/tear
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CyTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We stayed at Comfort Inn & Suites for three days. The staff was great; the hotel was clean and the complimentary breakfast was a nice gesture. Our problem was with the room. Staying on the first floor next to the parking lot was not a good idea. But since I accepted that assignment, it was (as the kids say) "my bad". Our disappointment was in the room itself because of the torn carpet and a mini-fridge that looked like it had the blankety-blank kicked out of it. On the plus side, we had excellent cleaning service. All in all, if the room had been upgraded, it would have been an above average experience "hands down"!

  • Liked — accessibility to dowtown Minneapolis
  • Disliked — the torn carpet and beat-up mini-fridge
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank northstar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.k.
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2008

We have just returned from 5 days at this hotel and we had a great time. I have been going to minneapolis every year to shop at the MALL of AMERICA and usually stay elsewhere but this time decided to try somewhere new as was not satisfied with old hotel last time. I was so pleased with my choice .
The front desk was really helpful and pleasant and the rooms were very clean and the beds are just out of this world , i have a bad back and usually i'm in a lot of pain in the morning until i take my tablets , i didn;t need to take any during my stay. The complimentory breakfast was second to none. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank mallgall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

great place to stay! We booked their Worry Free Vacation special so we could stay one night and leave our car while on a weeks vacation to Mexico. Great price and LOVE their beds. We found the bar/dining area very cozy and inviting with great drink specials and nice bar snacks. We didn't eat in the dining room but people we talked to said it was wonderful. Friendly, helpful staff - would definitely stay here again!!

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Small Bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIBadgergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2008

On one of the coldest nights in Minnesota, the staff were warm and inviting! We were greeted and checked in to one of the nicest rooms that we have ever stayed in. We loved the luxury bedding, the many fine amenities and it was so very clean. The room on the sixth floor was quiet even when the winds were blowing more than 50 mph and the hotel was almost completely booked. The breakfast room included eggs and sausage, very fresh bakery items, fresh fruit, waffles with strawberries and whipped cream, juice, coffee and much more. The hard working and friendly staff were very helpful. We will definately stay at this wonderful Carlson Country Inn & Suites again and again when we visit Minneapolis.

  • Liked — The pillows and bedding!
  • Disliked — We didn't plan to stay a second night.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank J&JFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West
Address: 5120 American Blvd W, Bloomington, MN 55437-1235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Carlson, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Bloomington West
Country Inn & Suites Bloomington West Hotel Bloomington
Country Inn Bloomington West
Bloomington Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing