We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your money's worth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West
Ranked #30 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Your money's worth”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel. We were just looking for a place to stay before boarding a flight. We got what we paid for and were satisfied. The staff was nice. The breakfast was good. The room was clean. The price was right. We recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldruggedx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    241
    134
    109
    71
See reviews for
420
158
51
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bancroft, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed here on business. I had a King room on the top floor. The room was clean, but very small. The bathroom was so tiny that only the toilet and shower were in the actual bathroom and the sink/vanity was just outside of the bathroom- also tiny. I couldn't fit my makeup bag and curling iron on the vanity, it kept falling off. The mattress was hard with a down feather padding thrown on top. At first I thought that would be nice to sleep on but it wasn't, the feathers spread out under the weight and I was down to the hard mattress in no time. I tossed and turned all night and was very tired for my meetings the next day and my long drive home. Breakfast the next day as your average powdered scrabbled eggs, cheap sausage, cereal, oatmeal and yogurt. Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Bug_from_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites standards.

We are also sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the “Be Our Guest” Breakfast. Our goal is to ensure we are offering fresh food and that each item is available for all of our guests. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I just stayed here with my family. Nice hotel for the price & very courteous staff. Lots of amenities such as a free breakfast (very good), pool, fitness area, hot tub, shuttle to Mall of America & great happy hour offerings ($3 rail drinks. Can't beat that). It was also very clean. The room had everything you needed. We had two queens and ordered an extra bed. Was only charged $10 for the entire length of our stay for the bed which is very reasonable compared to other hotels.

The reason I gave it a 4 is because it was a little small for us. The bathroom was tiny & the sink was on the outside of the bathroom which really did not make any sense. For two people it would be fine but for a family of 5, we could have used a bigger room. The elevator was very slow with one out of service. I heard a lot of complaints on this but quit honestly that was really the one I heard from other people. Seems like they could use a couple updates but again they had the main things we needed.

Overall, a great value.

Room Tip: 11 minutes from Mall of America (and free shuttle to get there), complimentary breakfast, pool &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gamgirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great hotel!Very nice place to stay!Excellent employees,with great customer service.Good cookies,mints,and a nice breakfast!Also beautiful pool area,and exercise room.Very great nice location to walk in or ride your bike!I love this place!Front desk staff,hskg,and breakfast staff ROCKS!

Room Tip: 1st floor,facing the front of hotel!Close to the pool,and breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level 6 Contributor
654 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

When I booked this hotel I knew that it was a midlevel basic hotel and my minimum expectations are to have a clean and comfortable stay. Also I needed a hotel that had complimentary breakfast and airport shuttle within my budget. This hotel fit my needs.

The hotel is located next to a highway, free parking, close to a trader joes and a target. Not too far driving to a strip mall with whole foods, etc. Hotel was quiet despite being sold out.

This hotel was very busy with a wedding party and many marathon runners, but it seemed to keep up.

I was definitely impressed with the breakfast staff. The Breakfast was packed to the rafters. It seemed all hotel guests came at once. But the ladies were hustling resupplying food and cleaning off tables. I was impressed. Typical continental plus waffle machine, sausage patties, scrambled eggs and potatoes.

I found that the bathroom sink is outside the bathroom. It is disruptive when one wants to sleep and other person is using sink. The sink and vanity area is also small so toiletries barely fit.
My a/c barely kept up. It was a hot and humid summer day so my room was muggy. Everything else in room was functional, clean. Plumbing ok. Room size not too big or small. All ok.
I used the pool and it was great. I use contacts and am very sensitive to chlorinated pools and this pool was fine, finally a pool that is maintained by someone who knows what they are doing. The hot tub was hot! Great!

I did like that the room had a large flat screen tv, microwave and minifridge.

The hotel passed my cleanliness test: lift bed sheet and see bed pad. It was free of stains and hair.

Overall basic hotel, clean, comfortable, quiet. Staff was friendly. Elevators were ok. Internet speed was fine. Complimentary breakfast was edible. Shuttle was fine. Everything ok except a/c.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, on east side to avoid afternoon sun that warms up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ORD-TGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice! Room great, quiet even with a party there. Breakfast great selection! Desk gals very cheerful! Would definitely stay there again!! Close to Target field for baseball game! Not overly priced. Rooms nice and dark when curtains are closed! Could have slept all day!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmr4jb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

There are quite a few similar priced chains in the same area, but I found a pretty good deal here and the reviews were mostly positive, so I decided to stay. It's kind of tricky to find the hotel in the dark, if you're not familiar with the area, so be sure to get good directions.

PROS: The lobby is bright and welcoming. Front desk staff are very courteous and professional. There's a room with a nice selection of snacks at reasonable prices available as well as free chocolate chip cookies at the front desk.
The room was nice and cool with the air conditioning on when I arrived. The bed was comfortable enough and bed linens clean. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom and extra blankets too. The shower had plenty of hot water and good pressure. Nice soap, etc. amenities.
Breakfast in the am was very good and they had several coffee and hot water for tea stations throughout the lobby too. Rooms were sound proofed; couldn't hear hallway noise or adjoining rooms much at all. Extra outlets for phone/computer chargers.

CONS: Unfortunately the carpet was very stained and worn and there was a big wet water puddle in the carpet in front of the sink, which is outside of the bathroom. The lighting wasn't very adequate at the sink. The toilet lid was broken, as was the room's floor lamp. The room has the older, loud air conditioner/heat units and it must stay on or off, no auto switch, and we had to have it running all night, as it was hot that evening. The worn appearance of the room made it seem a little dirty and dingy.

To sum it up, it was a comfortable stay at a good price, but unless they update the rooms, I will probably try a different hotel in the area next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West
Address: 5120 American Blvd W, Bloomington, MN 55437-1235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Bloomington West
Country Inn & Suites Bloomington West Hotel Bloomington
Country Inn Bloomington West
Bloomington Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing