We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel - Good Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago Il
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2007

Stayed in this hotel for business travel then extended my stay to go to the Mall of america. I have to say most Hilton Garden Inns are pretty good but I thought this one was above average. Very comfortable beds with nice clean rooms. Great shower and close to Mall of America. The included breakfast was awesome and I went back for seconds.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    174
    48
    20
    7
See reviews for
209
141
22
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2007

We (two adults, two teens) stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington a few days before Christmas, 2006. We found a great rate at the hotel website, and were extremely pleased with every aspect of our stay. The rate included daily breakfast with fresh ordered omelets and all of the usual breakfast items for this type of business hotel. There are not many restaurants nor attractions in the immediate area, but the Mall of America, Valley Fair, MSP Airport, Downtown Minneapolis, and other southern Twin Cities attractions are 15-25 minutes away by car. I would stay here for business or pleasure.

  • Liked — Central location and value
  • Disliked — Few restaurants in the immediate area
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2006

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. The staff is very helpful and friendly. My bed was very comfortable. Most importantly, this hotel is clean and crisp. I will be back.

  • Liked — Very beautiful rooms!
  • Tips/Secrets — Mall of America is right down the road!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kristenwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2006

Me and my wife and two kids (age 4 and 6) spent four nights here in mid-August. We had a very nice time. The place is clean and roomy. There is a nice desk area for doing computer work. Breakfast featured a buffet with milk, cottage cheese, fruit, yogurt, sausage, bacon, french toast, scrambled eggs, hash browns, biscuits with sausage gravy, bagels, bread, fresh fruit, pastries, etc. etc. and then you can order omelets, waffles and more from the wait staff.

There were only three drawers for our clothes but that is minor nitpick. The pool is a little small but since no one else used it then it was fine. There is a nice hot tub next to it. Breakfast on the weekends is understaffed and no one came around to take orders until we were done eating.

There is a shuttle to the Mall of America but we didn't take it. It runs every 3-4 hours after noon.

The hotel is hard to get to as it is route 100 north of I-465 and another number south of it. You go south and make two lefts to go north and then loop around and make a right to go south again before turning into the hotel. At least you can see it from the highway. It is surrounded by hotels and there is one restaurant/sports bar that was within a short walk. There is an Olive Garden just east of there and other places in the area.

It seems more of a business hotel than a place for kids. That can be good (pool was available) or bad (bor-ing).

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — It was a pain to get there
  • Tips/Secrets — At breakfast, get up and give the waittress your omelet/waffle order. Don't expect to be waited on.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rizzop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2006

We stayed here 2 nights and I really enjoyed our visit. The hotel is very clean and the staff was very nice. We used the shuttle one day to MOA and it was prompt (actually early) and was an enjoyable ride. I would definately stay here again. We also had the breakfast and that too was good. It is about a 10 minute drive to the Mall, My guys played at the Legend Golf Course and loved it. We also went to the Hard Rock Cafe and Gameworks, both were fun. (They are about a 20 minute drive into Minneapolis). Our visit to this area was enjoyable.

  • Liked — The clean and nicely decorated rooms. Actually the hotel as a whole.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dmb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the H.G.I. in Bloomington for 4 days last week. We were very pleased. The beds were like sleeping in butter! The room was very clean. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. We loved the business center, the pool area and the breakfast.
We even changed reservations on our last night of our trip just to stay there again. It was very close to lots of the sites we wanted to see. We have stayed at much more expensive properties and not received such personal care.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
6.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
0.9 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
Address: 5140 American Blvd W, Bloomington, MN 55437-1235 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis/Bloomington hotel in Minnesota is centrally located at I-494 and Normandale Boulevard, just eight miles from the Minneapolis-Saint Paul International Airport (MSP) and five miles from the world-famous Mall of America, featuring the Nickelodeon Universe theme park and American Girl. Stay in a spacious guest room or suite at this Bloomington, MN hotel and enjoy complimentary WiFi and all the comforts of home, including a large television and separate work desk. Swim in the hotel’s indoor pool or relax in the whirlpool. Maintain your exercise regimen in the fitness center with cardio machines and weights, or check out a Stay Fit Kit® from reception and work out in your room. Enjoy a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast every morning in The Garden Grille & Bar, or simply grab snacks, drinks and light meals from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry®. Work away from the office in the business center, and hold meetings in the hotel’s 1,220 sq. ft. of flexible function space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing