We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice whirlpool room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here in one of the whirlpool suites for a night away from the kids. We had tried another whirlpool suite in a different hotel in the Twin Cities area a couple of years ago, and it was really kind of trashy. This room was just a normal hotel room, but the whirlpool is located in the bedroom portion of the suite, as opposed to the front room. I liked that just because it felt a little more private to me. The bedroom is separated by an actual door, not just a wall, and that also felt more private. The bathroom was quite large, but the shower was pretty small and had very little shelf space for shampoo and soap. Really nothing "special" about the room, but the whirlpool tub is a plus. Very relaxing, and large enough for two! And, although this hotel is in the vicinity of the MSP airport, we never heard a plane during our entire stay. In fact, this hotel is just enough off the beaten path that it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AEB_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSPBL, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for the review! We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your in-suite whirlpool and we truly appreciate you sharing you kind comments with us. It is great that you noticed no noise coming from outside as well! We work hard to provide a quiet and comfortable environment for our guests to enjoy while staying with us. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 738 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

I was attending a gift show in Hopkins and decided to save money by staying neither downtown nor right at the show. In fact, the hotel was right across the high way from the temporaries exhibit. What I had forgotten was how difficult it is to cross highways in the Twin Cities. To me, it is one of the most difficult metro areas to navigate in the country--poor signage, streets that turn into freeways without notice, fewer over and underpasses than similar markets. So my first complaint was that I was in a hotel ghetto with few outside eating options and it was exhuausting to try to escape. The hotel was clean and the only problem with my room was that both the bath and shower fixtures needed adjusting--the former was a bit detached from the wall, and the settings on the latter couldn't be adjusted without causing a leak. Housekeeping was fine, front desk service was fine. The pool was a good family amenity but for a single unaquatic person, I didn't want to smell the chlorine in the lobby, and the halls were a bit loud after 10 pm with some frolicking on the weekends from families. At least they were happy! I think it's a good value for the money (I paid about $100) but I probably should have upgraded. Oh, and I couldn't find the mattress setting. Because I had no expectation of getting it, I didn't feel disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSPBL, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and are very happy that you found our rates to be reasonable for your trip to the area for a gift show – how fun! I am sorry that you had difficulties navigating around this area and please know that our front desk associates are well oriented with directions around here and would be more than happy to help you! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you had a fun time attending the gift show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean and the staff is fabulous. Check in was smooth and everyone was very friendly and accommodating. We had a problem with the sleep number mattress - one side of the bed wouldn't stay firm - but they offered to fix the bed, and then when it didn't get fixed, they comped us for a night of our stay. The furnishings aren't as up to date as other HGIs that I've stayed at, but everything was clean and in good condition.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank JenWinnipegCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSPBL, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for such a kind review. All of our guests should feel welcomed and “at home” the minute they walk through our front door and the check-in encounter you described is what we hope all our guests experience. We appreciate your open feedback and truly hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at HGI during a recent trip to Minneapolis. We found our room to be nice, the staff to be pleasant, the location good and the price excellent. With our AAA rate we paid $20 less that the La Quinta across the street. My husband forgot is iPad charger in the room and the hotel shipped it via Fed Ex for free! We were impressed with the hotel and will definitely stay here again. My only complaint was the lack of free breakfast but we saved more money than we spent on breakfast out by staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristiS627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSPBL, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for the great review and sharing your experience with us on your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn of Bloomington, MN. We are pleased that you found our rates to be reasonable and were overall impressed with our property. I am happy you received your iPad charger in the mail. Our team of associates work hard and make every effort to assist our guests in any way possible… I would expect nothing less from them! We appreciate the 5 STAR review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at a very fair AARP charge of $89/n for 2 doubles. An older hotel that has been redone, we had few complaints and slept well in the firm sensor mattresses. It was quiet and roomy and had fast internet, big LCD tv with numerous channels. The shower pressure was weak but the AC allowed you to control without movement sensors. We had excellent made to order breakfast both mornings
Only two complaints... only one public washer/dryer... so major wait for others and there is absolutely no where to walk to dinner. You are stuck with the always mediocre, overpriced Garden Inn to eat or get in traffic and drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPImanager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We are happy you appreciate our rates and like our newly remodeled property! I hope that it was not too much of an inconvenience for you to wash your belongings, but since the average length of stay for majority of our guests is only 1-3 nights, a full laundry room is neither economically or environmentally a good idea. I hope you were aware of our free shuttle service provided on-site which will transport you to the Mall of America at no additional cost. I can assure you there are a few dining options there! Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to host you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great support from reception staff , adequate room , just another typical American chain . Quite a few hotels in the area . Restaurants all needed a drive . No public transport in the area . Looked our over streets and buildings . No different to 1000 others

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilltopOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSPBL, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay and for posting a review! We are pleased that our team of associates stood out in your eyes and provided good support and assistance to you. I will certainly share this with them. Fortunately, with our property being located in the heart of Bloomington, public transportation is very available and affordable for our guests to take advantage of. Along with our free shuttle service offered here at the hotel; there is the public bus, light rail, and we would be more than happy to arrange a taxi to come pick you up right from our lobby. We hope that this clears up some confusion! Thank you again and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Exceptionally courteous staff. Perfect stay. I left an item in the room and received a kind call the very next day. My items were returned at no charge. I was impressed at every turn by the courtesy and kindness of the staff. My husband and I will stay again. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank MO M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSPBL, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experiences! We hold our staff to high moral standards and I would expect nothing else from them. I will certainly share this review with them and they will be so thrilled to have left such a positive impression with you. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Minneapolis Bloomington
6.4 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/St. Paul Airport Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
0.9 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/Bloomington
5.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington

Address: 5140 American Blvd W, Bloomington, MN 55437-1235 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: $98 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis/Bloomington hotel in Minnesota is centrally located at I-494 and Normandale Boulevard, just eight miles from the Minneapolis-Saint Paul International Airport (MSP) and five miles from the world-famous Mall of America, featuring the Nickelodeon Universe theme park and American Girl. Stay in a spacious guest room or suite at this Bloomington, MN hotel and enjoy complimentary WiFi and all the comforts of home, including a large television and separate work desk. Swim in the hotel’s indoor pool or relax in the whirlpool. Maintain your exercise regimen in the fitness center with cardio machines and weights, or check out a Stay Fit Kit® from reception and work out in your room. Enjoy a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast every morning in The Garden Grille & Bar, or simply grab snacks, drinks and light meals from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry®. Work away from the office in the business center, and hold meetings in the hotel’s 1,220 sq. ft. of flexible function space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing